The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   UCLA vs. SMU (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99545-ucla-vs-smu-video.html)

bballref3966 Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by todd66 (Post 958404)
BI. If it fits the definition of GT then it has to be BI by the offense.

GT and BI are not the same thing. BI restrictions are only in effect when the ball is on or within the basket, or in the cylinder.

ballgame99 Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 958407)
So why they hell does the defender need to hit it?

Because it was such a horrible shot and had no chance to go in, he was rebounding it.

hbk314 Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 958343)
You didn't answer my question. What are you looking for by your constant complaints about this play. You've been provided answers by officials, and you are not satisfied. So what do you want?



Sounds just like a fan complaining about a rule he doesn't like.

And this is where you lose credibility. Dismissing people as merely "fans," like that somehow makes someone an idiot. I'm reading the text of the rule posted in this thread and I don't believe the conditions were met. It's as simple as that.

hbk314 Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 958391)
Please just stop. You convey your extreme ignorance every time you post.

A ball that grazes the outer edge of the rim has no possibility of going in. According the rule as written, goaltending couldn't be called. According to the interpretation talked about in this thread, it could be. There's a narrow window where the two don't agree.

AremRed Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 958370)
Look at it from the other side.

If the GT was not called, UCLA could very well have a beef of their own, and we'd be giving the officials a hard time about it. Or some of us may be giving the officials a hard time. And the fact is their beef would be justified. Maybe not right, but justified.

Everybody tends to see things from the victim's angle, but rarely sees things the other way. And doing so can help you see things clearly.

I actually think that if nothing had been called there would not have been any outcry that it was goaltending.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 958401)
What if, on this exact play, UCLA catches the ball at the same point where the SMU player actually did, and jams it home? BI, or is the "try" suddenly a "pass"?

No BI because the ball was not in the cylinder. It's pretty obvious it was a try, if it was tipped in or jammed in then I guess you could call it a "pass".

Camron Rust Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hbk314 (Post 958416)
And this is where you lose credibility. Dismissing people as merely "fans," like that somehow makes someone an idiot. I'm reading the text of the rule posted in this thread and I don't believe the conditions were met. It's as simple as that.


You've got dozens of officials telling you that you're reading the rule wrong and you won't listen.

You're proving him right.

hbk314 Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 958419)
You've got dozens of officials telling you that you're reading the rule wrong and you won't listen.

You're proving him right.

Not at all. I just explained it in my last post.

Camron Rust Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hbk314 (Post 958417)
A ball that grazes the outer edge of the rim has no possibility of going in. According the rule as written, goaltending couldn't be called. According to the interpretation talked about in this thread, it could be. There's a narrow window where the two don't agree.

Until it bounces off the rim, you can't really tell with 100% certainty that it is not going in....that is what you're missing. I have seem some very unlikely shots go in.

Officials don't get stop frame views from over the basket. They have to call it from the court in real time. As such, the applicable criteria will be that it is still a try in flight until it has clearly MISSED the rim or has bounced off.

hbk314 Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 958421)
Until it bounces off the rim, you can't really tell with 100% certainty that it is not going in....that is what you're missing. I have seem some very unlikely shots go in.

Officials don't get stop frame views from over the basket. They have to call it from the court in real time. As such, the applicable criteria will be that it is still a try in flight until it has clearly MISSED the rim or has bounced off.

Which is why I've acknowledged that I can see how it was made in real-time. I just don't feel like the replays support the call.

dahoopref Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:05pm

Actually Happened In My Game
 
This exact situation occurred to me in a college tournament in December.:(

I was the L (table side), 3 pt shot came from C area and the ball barely passed over on the way down when the defender grabbed the ball even with the rim. The C & I knew the ball did not have a chance to go in but the T called goaltending :eek: because (according to him) his angle justified his call at the time. :rolleyes:

I gathered the crew after the whistle and asked them what they saw. We explained to the T what we saw and he knew he made a mistake.

We rectified the call by ruling "inadvertent whistle" and resumed play at the POI when the defender had the ball to keep possession.;)

Our conference commissioner and supervisor were in the stands and supported our ruling. :)

The entire crew ended up working the conference tournament a few weeks ago.:D

Adam Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:43pm

Too bad we can't officiate games by still shots and replays.

deecee Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hbk314 (Post 958422)
Which is why I've acknowledged that I can see how it was made in real-time. I just don't feel like the replays support the call.

The replays support the call.

Shot in downward path (CHECK)
Shot above rim (CHECK)
Shot have a chance to go in (can't say for certainty yes or no so CHECK)

All conditions met. Goaltending. No matter how many times you keep saying the same thing over and over again it won't make it true. Just like your lack of knowledge of rules and application of rules.

You are a fanboy and are acting like that. Until someone says what you want to hear you wont hear anything except that you know it all and are right.

We don't have the luxury of making calls based on what may be the best expected outcome.

so cal lurker Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 958412)
Because it was such a horrible shot and had no chance to go in, he was rebounding it.

From US Today, Yankcik Moriera's take on the play:
"It's all my fault," the SMU center said. "I should have let the ball hit the rim. I take the blame on myself. I shouldn't have made that mistake. As a senior" — his voice cracked— "you can't make those mistakes at the end of the game."
gotta respect the maturity

jpgc99 Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 958424)
This exact situation occurred to me in a college tournament in December.:(

I was the L (table side), 3 pt shot came from C area and the ball barely passed over on the way down when the defender grabbed the ball even with the rim. The C & I knew the ball did not have a chance to go in but the T called goaltending :eek: because (according to him) his angle justified his call at the time. :rolleyes:

I gathered the crew after the whistle and asked them what they saw. We explained to the T what we saw and he knew he made a mistake.

We rectified the call by ruling "inadvertent whistle" and resumed play at the POI when the defender had the ball to keep possession.;)

Our conference commissioner and supervisor were in the stands and supported our ruling. :)

The entire crew ended up working the conference tournament a few weeks ago.:D

Why are you - as Lead - looking above the rim on a try?

AremRed Fri Mar 20, 2015 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 958424)
We rectified the call by ruling "inadvertent whistle" and resumed play at the POI when the defender had the ball to keep possession.;)

Wouldn't the POI be rebounding action which would go to the arrow? Or are you saying the guy who "goaltended" ended up with possession?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1