The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Northeastern vs Notre Dame (2/2 Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99540-northeastern-vs-notre-dame-2-2-video.html)

hbk314 Thu Mar 19, 2015 08:59pm

First play I'd have a charge, but I could see a no-call.

Second play I have a foul on the steal. He knocked the ball free by hitting his opponent's hand.

AremRed Thu Mar 19, 2015 09:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hbk314 (Post 958289)
Second play I have a foul on the steal. He knocked the ball free by hitting his opponent's hand.

Your description is legal by rule:

NCAA 4-18-2

It shall be legal for a defender to accidentally hit the hand of a ball-handler when reaching to block or slap the ball when there is player control with that player’s hand in contact with the ball and when that player is:

a. A dribbler;
b. Attempting a try for field goal; or
c. Holding the ball.

AND

NCAA 10-1-2

A player shall not contact an opponent with his hand unless such contact is only with the opponent’s hand while it is on the ball and is incidental to an attempt to play the ball.

SCalScoreKeeper Thu Mar 19, 2015 09:31pm

In play 1 if the L gets to the defender earlier does it change his ability to get the call right? Watching it live I thought it was a charge. Play 2 I thought it was a clean steal.APG thanks for clipping all of these videos.

jpgc99 Thu Mar 19, 2015 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper (Post 958296)
In play 1 if the L gets to the defender earlier does it change his ability to get the call right? Watching it live I thought it was a charge. Play 2 I thought it was a clean steal.APG thanks for clipping all of these videos.

Yes, if he picks up the defender earlier he has a much better chance of getting it right. The defender does nothing illegal so it cannot be a block.

The ncaa videos all year have said only call a charge If you are absolutely certain. He wasn't certain because he picked up the defender late and defaulted to a block.

AremRed Thu Mar 19, 2015 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper (Post 958296)
In play 1 if the L gets to the defender earlier does it change his ability to get the call right? Watching it live I thought it was a charge. Play 2 I thought it was a clean steal.APG thanks for clipping all of these videos.

I think if Lead is already strong side and has more distance between him and the play I think he makes a no call. I know I am more likely to call something small a foul when I am closer to play. When I am rotating across like that and there is a block/charge in the lane it's harder for me to no call because it's right in my lap and looks so big, if that makes sense.

Camron Rust Thu Mar 19, 2015 09:52pm

#1. Not a block, that much is certain.

#2. They called the foul on the player passing the ball...presumably for hitting the defender in the face. That is incidental contact to me.

OKREF Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:44pm

Thanks for getting the clips.

zm1283 Fri Mar 20, 2015 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 958310)
#1. Not a block, that much is certain.

#2. They called the foul on the player passing the ball...presumably for hitting the defender in the face. That is incidental contact to me.

I'm with you on both. The defender did nothing wrong in the first clip. Second play was incidental.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1