The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Northeastern vs Notre Dame (2/2 Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99540-northeastern-vs-notre-dame-2-2-video.html)

SCalScoreKeeper Thu Mar 19, 2015 12:41pm

Northeastern vs Notre Dame (2/2 Video)
 
Can someone pull the block/charge at 13:45 2nd half in the ND/Northeastern game? Thanks

OKREF Thu Mar 19, 2015 01:11pm

Video Request. Northeastern-ND
 
Please. 2:43 2nd half. Foul on Northeastern as player is trying to pass the ball.

Just don't see this as a foul on the NE player.

SCalScoreKeeper Thu Mar 19, 2015 02:09pm

I didn't either.

AremRed Thu Mar 19, 2015 02:37pm

The strip by the ND player was clean and the Northeastern player did hit him in the face. Accidental for sure but I'm ok with the foul. Tough to call any contact to the face like that incidental.

AremRed Thu Mar 19, 2015 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper (Post 958174)
Can someone pull the block/charge at 13:45 2nd half in the ND/Northeastern game? Thanks

Defender was legal but not enough for a charge. No call for me.

griblets Thu Mar 19, 2015 03:21pm

I'm not so sure the strip was clean. Would like to see the replay again.

griblets Thu Mar 19, 2015 03:22pm

There was also another one late in the game (just under 1:00?) on the end line as ND player was driving. The call was block. I'd like to see it again.

OKREF Thu Mar 19, 2015 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958184)
The strip by the ND player was clean and the Northeastern player did hit him in the face. Accidental for sure but I'm ok with the foul. Tough to call any contact to the face like that incidental.

That was totally incidental.

AremRed Thu Mar 19, 2015 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by griblets (Post 958207)
There was also another one late in the game (just under 1:00?) on the end line as ND player was driving. The call was block. I'd like to see it again.

You're going to be more specific, I just watched the last 4:00 of this game on DVR and there are no block/charge plays.

AremRed Thu Mar 19, 2015 03:52pm

If you want a laugh go check out Ed Corbett's foul call and mechanics at 18:35 first half, it's hilarious!

griblets Thu Mar 19, 2015 05:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 958211)
You're going to be more specific, I just watched the last 4:00 of this game on DVR and there are no block/charge plays.

Maybe I mixed up the games. Maybe it was the UAB game. I watched several while work was getting in the way.

APG Thu Mar 19, 2015 06:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper (Post 958174)
Can someone pull the block/charge at 13:45 2nd half in the ND/Northeastern game? Thanks

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/OenRNSC95h0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

MechanicGuy Thu Mar 19, 2015 07:15pm

Nothing. Play on.

APG Thu Mar 19, 2015 08:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 958177)
Please. 2:43 2nd half. Foul on Northeastern as player is trying to pass the ball.

Just don't see this as a foul on the NE player.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/y2UQluvIrp8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

jpgc99 Thu Mar 19, 2015 08:52pm

In play 1 the L picked up the defender extremely late. Watch his head from the baseline camera. He's not looking at the defender until the offensive player is already airborn.

hbk314 Thu Mar 19, 2015 08:59pm

First play I'd have a charge, but I could see a no-call.

Second play I have a foul on the steal. He knocked the ball free by hitting his opponent's hand.

AremRed Thu Mar 19, 2015 09:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hbk314 (Post 958289)
Second play I have a foul on the steal. He knocked the ball free by hitting his opponent's hand.

Your description is legal by rule:

NCAA 4-18-2

It shall be legal for a defender to accidentally hit the hand of a ball-handler when reaching to block or slap the ball when there is player control with that player’s hand in contact with the ball and when that player is:

a. A dribbler;
b. Attempting a try for field goal; or
c. Holding the ball.

AND

NCAA 10-1-2

A player shall not contact an opponent with his hand unless such contact is only with the opponent’s hand while it is on the ball and is incidental to an attempt to play the ball.

SCalScoreKeeper Thu Mar 19, 2015 09:31pm

In play 1 if the L gets to the defender earlier does it change his ability to get the call right? Watching it live I thought it was a charge. Play 2 I thought it was a clean steal.APG thanks for clipping all of these videos.

jpgc99 Thu Mar 19, 2015 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper (Post 958296)
In play 1 if the L gets to the defender earlier does it change his ability to get the call right? Watching it live I thought it was a charge. Play 2 I thought it was a clean steal.APG thanks for clipping all of these videos.

Yes, if he picks up the defender earlier he has a much better chance of getting it right. The defender does nothing illegal so it cannot be a block.

The ncaa videos all year have said only call a charge If you are absolutely certain. He wasn't certain because he picked up the defender late and defaulted to a block.

AremRed Thu Mar 19, 2015 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper (Post 958296)
In play 1 if the L gets to the defender earlier does it change his ability to get the call right? Watching it live I thought it was a charge. Play 2 I thought it was a clean steal.APG thanks for clipping all of these videos.

I think if Lead is already strong side and has more distance between him and the play I think he makes a no call. I know I am more likely to call something small a foul when I am closer to play. When I am rotating across like that and there is a block/charge in the lane it's harder for me to no call because it's right in my lap and looks so big, if that makes sense.

Camron Rust Thu Mar 19, 2015 09:52pm

#1. Not a block, that much is certain.

#2. They called the foul on the player passing the ball...presumably for hitting the defender in the face. That is incidental contact to me.

OKREF Thu Mar 19, 2015 10:44pm

Thanks for getting the clips.

zm1283 Fri Mar 20, 2015 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 958310)
#1. Not a block, that much is certain.

#2. They called the foul on the player passing the ball...presumably for hitting the defender in the face. That is incidental contact to me.

I'm with you on both. The defender did nothing wrong in the first clip. Second play was incidental.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1