The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Quick on the T? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99418-quick-t.html)

CoachP Mon Mar 02, 2015 07:01am

Quick on the T?
 
Orange #5 defending the inbounder.
#51 white blows the layup and fouls #5 orange as #5 orange gets the rebound. After the whistle, #5 orange is T'd up for throwing an elbow by the foul calling official.
Clean game overall, nothing chippy before or after.

Not trying to be biased because I coach orange. But I didn't see anything T worthy. But because I respect the forum members here, I will change my mind if you guys think otherwise!

The video operator cut off the camera after the initial foul whistle.

6 second video link below

http://youtu.be/FOZRszGANzY

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/FOZRszGANzY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

ballgame99 Mon Mar 02, 2015 08:38am

that elbow looks like it has some intent to it. You had a clean game up until that point, and I would imagine it stayed that way. If that elbow connects, you are going to have big problems. Its hard to say when its not in full context, and I'm not saying I would have called it, but it looks like a T can be justified there.

Raymond Mon Mar 02, 2015 08:58am

Looks like he is just snatching the ball away. Not T-worthy in and of itself, but I do not know what the game was like or what had happened previously.

dabard Mon Mar 02, 2015 09:08am

I'm with ballgame99. There certainly appeared to be justification for the call. Not sure what I would have called, but the official closest to the action would have had a better feel for the situation and the player's demeanor.

jTheUmp Mon Mar 02, 2015 09:47am

Out of curiosity, was it the L or the C who called the T?

CoachP Mon Mar 02, 2015 09:50am

C called the foul and kept moving in and issued the T.

deecee Mon Mar 02, 2015 09:56am

just from that clip i dont see it. but it's tough to comment with such little context.

jTheUmp Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:01am

Fair enough... from the C's angle, it certainly looks like one of those "oh sh-t, I better get this before there's a retaliation" moments.

A very similar situation happened to me in my game on Friday night... about 45 seconds left, 18-point game. Push in the back by B5 on a rebound, ball ends up being rebounded by B11. After my whistle for B5's push, B11 makes a very similar move as was in your video, and makes some very slight forearm-to-chin contact with A34 (I don't think it was intentional in the sense of "B11 meant to do it"). A34 then gives B11 a shove.

Had I not gotten the double-technical there, the end of the game would've been significantly worse. As it was, I reported three fouls, I talked to both coaches, we shot two free throws for B5's foul (A was in the bonus), and the game ended without further incident.

twocentsworth Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:30am

That's not even a "T" during "play time" in a kindergarten class!

HokiePaul Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 956633)
Looks like he is just snatching the ball away. Not T-worthy in and of itself, but I do not know what the game was like or what had happened previously.

Agree with this. Elbows aren't really extended or directed at anyone in my opinion.

Adam Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 956633)
Looks like he is just snatching the ball away. Not T-worthy in and of itself, but I do not know what the game was like or what had happened previously.

This is what I see as well. Seems to me the lead is in a better position to get anything extracurricular here.

There's no need for the snatch-and-grab here, though, so it's not the worst T I've ever seen.

Camron Rust Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:43pm

I do not have a T here.

just another ref Mon Mar 02, 2015 03:13pm

No T. His elbow is not extended, but rather his arms are wrapped around the ball. Elbow has to be somewhere.

frezer11 Mon Mar 02, 2015 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 956627)
that elbow looks like it has some intent to it. You had a clean game up until that point, and I would imagine it stayed that way. If that elbow connects, you are going to have big problems. Its hard to say when its not in full context, and I'm not saying I would have called it, but it looks like a T can be justified there.

I was originally thinking "then call a violation for excessive swinging if you don't call a T," but I guess this happens dead ball, so it's either a T or nothing. Tough to give an absolute answer from this angle, but if I'm the C who made the call? I'm passing and if my partner picks it up, great.

Pantherdreams Mon Mar 02, 2015 04:25pm

I think this is really a perspective thing. If you think that this rip was part of the play and began or exists because of a natural basketball play then you could have an excessive swinging or even nothing.

Now if you see it as the player, heard the whistle and once the play was dead chooses to rip and swing un necessarily . . . if you are going to call something it has to a be a T.

In a game with nothing else I would be most likely to respond with an "easy fellas" and talk to players involved then watch for anything else hoping its a blip.

crosscountry55 Mon Mar 02, 2015 09:25pm

I've been thinking about this and I'm 70/30 leaning in favor of the T here.

On one hand, I think #5 was thinking "rebound and secure," probably processed the whistle a little slow, and started thinking, "I don't need to be aggressive here" a fraction of a second after he'd already committed to being aggressive. Probably no intent to strike or anything like that.

On the other hand, elbows get noticed whether they're high or low, or whether they connect or not. So it's the kind of act that can cause tensions to flare later in the game. This needs to be taken care of quickly. Furthermore, in this age of concussion awareness and the elbows that often cause them, we simply can't usually take intent for granted. The responsibility for coaching players not to raise their elbows is a higher priority then the responsibility of officials to judge intent and contact. Think of it like helmet to helmet contact in the NFL; if it's close, it's going to get called, because that's the stance of the league. So, too, are elbow calls the stance of the NFHS and NCAA.

Also, some have been critical that this call didn't come from the L. That would have been nice, but C is already focused on the fouling player (probably while getting his number), so I'm ok that he also notices the elbow. Makes sense to me.

APG Mon Mar 02, 2015 09:38pm

Just judging on the merits of the play alone, that's not close to anything.

RobbyinTN Tue Mar 03, 2015 01:07pm

I watched the video about 6-7 times. As I watched more intently I "might" have called a T BUT the fact I had to watch it as many tiems as I did before making a determination tells me that I probably would not have called it in real time.

Rob

Adam Tue Mar 03, 2015 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobbyinTN (Post 956821)
I watched the video about 6-7 times. As I watched more intently I "might" have called a T BUT the fact I had to watch it as many tiems as I did before making a determination tells me that I probably would not have called it in real time.

Rob

Watching it repeatedly, the most I could come up with was to say "easy, 5." I don't even think I'd do that on this, though. I'd love to see the L's angle on it, and hear his thoughts.

For that matter, I'd like to know what the calling official thought. He may have had a very good reason for calling it, or he may want it back. Hard to say.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1