The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 28, 2015, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes View Post
Can anyone tell me if there's a casebook play addressing the following situation:

Player a one attempt to three-point shot. While the shot is in the air, B1 pushes 82 while jogging for rebounding position. As the try goes through the hoop, the official blows his whistle for the file on B1. Both teams are in the double bonus.

My partner who had made the call, got a little bit confused and couldn't explain to the coach. So I did. I told the coach that because we were in bonus, that the shot counted, and then the player who got pushed would be shooting two free throws for the double bonus. The coach believed that the other team should just be given the ball back from Outabounds throw in underneath the basket.

Can anyone site for me if there's a kids book play addressing this.?
I'm sure you meant ". . . B1 pushes A2 . . ."
The applicable rule is 4-12-6 . . . Neither team control nor player control exists during a dead ball, a jump ball or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal." (italics added)
Case Book 4.12 COMMENT reiterates that statement.
The only Case Book play I found, that addresses a similar play is 10.6.1 SITUATION B. That SIT. addresses a violation and a foul while the ball is in flight during a shot attempt, and includes the bonus being in effect.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA 2009 Casebook Play Confusion SergioJ Softball 14 Thu Mar 12, 2009 05:09pm
Difference in ruling on same casebook play? ronny mulkey Basketball 24 Mon Mar 02, 2009 01:03pm
Lead call over the back foul(pushing) buildere8 Basketball 23 Sat Jan 17, 2009 12:33am
Hit By Rebounded Pitch (Fed Only) Blue37 Baseball 3 Fri May 06, 2005 10:13am
Pushing foul or traveling violation. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 32 Thu Apr 04, 2002 05:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1