![]() |
|
|
|||
A ball which strikes the edge or a corner of the backboard can rebound at an unusual angle sometimes, especially when considering the spin of the moving ball.
I'm not calling the ball out of bounds unless I see it contact the back of the board. I won't be conducting a physics class on the court and making a call based upon retrograde analysis. |
|
|||
It's long been accepted that if an inbounder throws the ball and the ball rebounds back towards the endline, it hit the back of the backboard. If the ball rebounds farther out onto the playing court, the ball hit the side (or bottom) of the backboard.
So, if I was sure the player was behind (closer to the endline than) the backboard, I'd have OOB on the OP. Benefit of the doubt, though, goes to the player NOT being closer to the endline. |
|
|||
Had a kids game with a friend and I was trail, I called it out as simple geometry dictates that at that angle it would have had to hit corner for that trajectory. Partner disagreed more to the point it was his call. Our discussion became is corner out.
Any shot directly hitting flat surface on side straight on would come straight back I feel its an easier call when ball takes an odd angle and heads towards OB. Of course you could let ball continue OB and it's a moot point, but there could be rebounding possibilities. Ironically after we had a our spirited discussion, the next period, as I was lead, it hit side of backboard and came straight back, followed by another try with same results. We both had a good laugh. Couldn't find any rule supporting either side. In the 'if it walks like a duck' file. |
|
|||
Had this same thing happened last night, we played on. Nobody said a word.
If someone had asked, I would have told them, it looked like it the side to me. ![]() I think you can over analyze and officiate these situations.....Catch the big stuff. But it does make for good entertainment over my lunch hour. |
|
|||
I say it's out. If the ball hits the corner, forget about any spin thereafter, it's still hitting both in bounds and out of bounds simultaneously. Wouldn't that be the same as a ball that touches a piece of the boundary line and in bounds simultaneously?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|