The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Violation or nuttin? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99219-violation-nuttin.html)

Mark Padgett Mon Feb 02, 2015 03:00pm

Violation or nuttin?
 
I was talking with a guy here at the assisted living center where I now reside and he asked me a question about something that happened in a men's wreck game he was in about 15 years ago. It was played in a MS gym. After a basket by team A, B1 went to take the ball OOB along the endline. B2 broke down the court and B1 attempted to throw him a long pass to try to get a breakaway layup. However, the inbound pass hit the rim of the faraway basket, bounced upward and then it came down, bounced onto the court inbounds where B2 grabbed it and put it into the basket.

He said he knew it was a violation an inbound pass hits the rim right above you, but he didn't know if the rule also applied to the inbound pass hitting the rim on the basket down court.

I asked him what the officials ruled and he said he didn't remember - not that unusual for those of us here. ;)

What's your call? Rule reference please. Oh yeah - they use NF rules in that organization.

AremRed Mon Feb 02, 2015 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 953401)
I was talking with a guy here at the assisted living center where I now reside and he asked me a question about something that happened in a men's wreck game he was in about 15 years ago. It was played in a MS gym. After a basket by team A, B1 went to take the ball OOB along the endline. B2 broke down the court and B1 attempted to throw him a long pass to try to get a breakaway layup. However, the inbound pass hit the rim of the faraway basket, bounced upward and then it came down, bounced onto the court inbounds where B2 grabbed it and put it into the basket.

He said he knew it was a violation an inbound pass hits the rim right above you, but he didn't know if the rule also applied to the inbound pass hitting the rim on the basket down court.

I asked him what the officials ruled and he said he didn't remember - not that unusual for those of us here. ;)

What's your call? Rule reference please. Oh yeah - they use NF rules in that organization.

Nothing.

deecee Mon Feb 02, 2015 03:17pm

what is the violation for the inbounds ball hitting the rim?

bob jenkins Mon Feb 02, 2015 03:37pm

It's not a violation no matter which rim it hits.

Camron Rust Mon Feb 02, 2015 03:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 953411)
It's not a violation no matter which rim it hits.

(I know you know this, but someone else out there may not)

As long it is one of the two that should be used for the game. Other rims that may be hanging over the court, as is the case in many small middle school gyms, are OOB.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1