The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable error - wrong way jump (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99216-correctable-error-wrong-way-jump.html)

ballgame99 Mon Feb 02, 2015 01:11pm

Correctable error - wrong way jump
 
OT jump got lined up the wrong direction, we complete the tip and A gains possession in their back court. Whistle blows before the ball comes into the front court because the error is discovered. Now what? I said give the ball to A on the sideline and correct the direction. Give the arrow to B. Easy peasy. Partner says no, we have to rejump and is adamant. He is the R so we go with it. Rejump goes to B and of course the A crowd and coach is livid. Please tell me my partner is wrong here.

AremRed Mon Feb 02, 2015 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 953350)
OT jump got lined up the wrong direction, we complete the tip and A gains possession in their back court. Whistle blows before the ball comes into the front court because the error is discovered. Now what? I said give the ball to A on the sideline and correct the direction. Give the arrow to B. Easy peasy. Partner says no, we have to rejump and is adamant. He is the R so we go with it. Rejump goes to B and of course the A crowd and coach is livid. Please tell me my partner is wrong here.

Your partner is wrong here. Switch directions, give eam who had possession the ball at POI, point arrow other way.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Feb 02, 2015 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 953350)
OT jump got lined up the wrong direction, we complete the tip and A gains possession in their back court. Whistle blows before the ball comes into the front court because the error is discovered. Now what? I said give the ball to A on the sideline and correct the direction. Give the arrow to B. Easy peasy. Partner says no, we have to rejump and is adamant. He is the R so we go with it. Rejump goes to B and of course the A crowd and coach is livid. Please tell me my partner is wrong here.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 953355)
Your partner is wrong here. Switch directions, give eam who had possession the ball at POI, point arrow other way.


Since you guys are from Missouri did your partner ask you to show him in the rule book why he is wrong, :p.

MTD, Sr.

AremRed Mon Feb 02, 2015 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 953372)
Since you guys are from Missouri

I resent the insinuation that I am from Missouri!

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Feb 02, 2015 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 953377)
I resent the insinuation that I am from Missouri!


I didn't mean you. I meant BallGame. His location is Missouri.

MTD, Sr.

Adam Mon Feb 02, 2015 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 953350)
OT jump got lined up the wrong direction, we complete the tip and A gains possession in their back court. Whistle blows before the ball comes into the front court because the error is discovered. Now what? I said give the ball to A on the sideline and correct the direction. Give the arrow to B. Easy peasy. Partner says no, we have to rejump and is adamant. He is the R so we go with it. Rejump goes to B and of course the A crowd and coach is livid. Please tell me my partner is wrong here.

1. Your partner got it wrong.
2. The coach needs to relax. The crowd will likely follow his lead.

walt Mon Feb 02, 2015 02:49pm

What Adam said. Not a big deal (except to maybe your assigner/supervisor/observer).

griblets Mon Feb 02, 2015 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 953388)
2. The coach needs to relax. The crowd will likely follow his lead.

I would expect the coach to be more than a little upset if a mis-applied rule cost him the first possession of OT.

bob jenkins Mon Feb 02, 2015 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by griblets (Post 953420)
I would expect the coach to be more than a little upset if a mis-applied rule cost him the first possession of OT.

sure -- but it didn't.

griblets Mon Feb 02, 2015 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 953423)
sure -- but it didn't.

:confused: In the first jump, A got the ball. After the re-jump, B got the ball. I would expect coach A to be livid.

bob jenkins Mon Feb 02, 2015 04:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by griblets (Post 953426)
:confused: In the first jump, A got the ball. After the re-jump, B got the ball. I would expect coach A to be livid.

My mistake. I forgot the play (I had it that they kept the ball and just switched to go the right way).

JeffM Mon Feb 02, 2015 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by griblets (Post 953426)
:confused: In the first jump, A got the ball. After the re-jump, B got the ball. I would expect coach A to be livid.

I agree that coach A would be livid. However, several people - including coach A and all of Team A's players - could have recognized that the jumpers were lined up the wrong way.

I don't know it there is anything the U can do if the R won't change his/her mind. (We always keep our rule books in the locker room, but they don't usually do us much good there except to discuss what we might have done right or wrong earlier in the game.)

Suppose Coach A produced a rule book and a case book play, would the R have looked at it? Would most officials look at the rule book or just go by what they know to be true? I would look at it and hope to resolve it quickly.

MD Longhorn Mon Feb 02, 2015 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JeffM (Post 953429)
Suppose Coach A produced a rule book and a case book play, would the R have looked at it? Would most officials look at the rule book or just go by what they know to be true? I would look at it and hope to resolve it quickly.

Then it wouldn't matter. Technical Foul on Coach A; Ball on the sidelines for Team B after the free throws. Arrow to Team A.

Adam Mon Feb 02, 2015 05:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 953431)
Then it wouldn't matter. Technical Foul on Coach A; Ball on the sidelines for Team B after the free throws. Arrow to Team A.

Yep, we're not going to go through a rule book and verify rules during the game. If he thinks I got it wrong, he can email my assigner later.

Note: Missouri may be an exception, but I don't now, nor have I ever, worked in Missouri.

ballgame99 Tue Feb 03, 2015 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 953372)
Since you guys are from Missouri did your partner ask you to show him in the rule book why he is wrong, :p.

MTD, Sr.

I see what you did there.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1