The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   TO but shot clock shows 24 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99211-but-shot-clock-shows-24-a.html)

luvhoops Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:50pm

TO but shot clock shows 24
 
NCAA Mens

In backcourt, Trail is officiating heavily guarded/pressured ball handler A1. Team A coach requests a timeout. Trail official acknowledges/grants timeout called and stops the clock. Officials look at shot clock which reads 24. Center official claims that the shot clock had started 2 seconds early, although he did not rectify it when it actually happened. No official had any direct knowledge (count in head, etc) of actual elapsed time. No monitor or other help from anywhere/anyone.

Would you grant the timeout and leave the shot clock at 24?

Would you grant the timeout and put the shot clock at 26?

Would you call the 10-second violation, give the ball to Team B, but still grant the timeout?

Would you call the 10-second violation, give the ball to Team B, and not grant the timeout?

Would you do something else?

With answers, please provide a brief explanation.

Nevadaref Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by luvhoops (Post 953256)
NCAA Mens

In backcourt, Trail is officiating heavily guarded/pressured ball handler A1. Team A coach requests a timeout. Trail official acknowledges/grants timeout called and stops the clock. Officials look at shot clock which reads 24. Center official claims that the shot clock had started 2 seconds early, although he did not rectify it when it actually happened. No official had any direct knowledge (count in head, etc) of actual elapsed time. No monitor or other help from anywhere/anyone.

Would you grant the timeout and leave the shot clock at 24?

Would you grant the timeout and put the shot clock at 26?

Would you call the 10-second violation, give the ball to Team B, but still grant the timeout?

Would you call the 10-second violation, give the ball to Team B, and not grant the timeout?

Would you do something else?

With answers, please provide a brief explanation.

Because of what is in red the answer is to grant the TO and reset the shot clock to 26. During the time-out you kick the Center in the backside and tell him to fix clock errors when he sees them, unless a scoring play is in progress.

AremRed Mon Feb 02, 2015 03:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by luvhoops (Post 953256)
With answers, please provide a brief explanation.

What is this, a test? Feels like I'm back in grade school.

crosscountry55 Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:51am

With the new mechanic for using the shot clock vice a visible count, this actually makes a great case play. The NCAA should adopt it.

So what if the official doesn't have knowledge of a lapse. TO is called, you look up and see "24." Do you call the violation and give the coach the option to take the timeout back?

Probably not. I'm guessing not calling the violation is simply a non-reviewable official's error?

In the NBA the count is not reset following a timeout, correct? Or is this moot because the ball is advanced to the division line? :confused: I stink at NBA rules.

luvhoops Mon Feb 02, 2015 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 953302)
What is this, a test? Feels like I'm back in grade school.

Sorry, I did that to prevent some people from only responding with a yes or no. I was looking also for rule/case reference.

luvhoops Mon Feb 02, 2015 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 953260)
Because of what is in red the answer is to grant the TO and reset the shot clock to 26. During the time-out you kick the Center in the backside and tell him to fix clock errors when he sees them, unless a scoring play is in progress.

Yes, now pretend the information in red is absent. No official had any direct knowledge of any timing errors/issues. What is the best way to handle this situation?

(I also agree it would make a great NCAA play for case book)

so cal lurker Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 953329)
In the NBA the count is not reset following a timeout, correct? Or is this moot because the ball is advanced to the division line? :confused: I stink at NBA rules.

NBA does not reset the 8 second count.

I believe the NBA only advances for a TO called (1) before the ball is inbounded after a basket, or (2) called immediately upon gaining possession in the backcourt [most commonly on a FT rebound at end game].

bob jenkins Mon Feb 02, 2015 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 953329)
With the new mechanic for using the shot clock vice a visible count, this actually makes a great case play. The NCAA should adopt it.

So what if the official doesn't have knowledge of a lapse. TO is called, you look up and see "24." Do you call the violation and give the coach the option to take the timeout back?

Probably not. I'm guessing not calling the violation is simply a non-reviewable official's error?

In the NBA the count is not reset following a timeout, correct? Or is this moot because the ball is advanced to the division line? :confused: I stink at NBA rules.

I think it is a case play (or interp) in NCAAW. Either the TO request came in time, so reset the shot clock to 21, or it's late and a violation. Must be decided immediately.

Raymond Mon Feb 02, 2015 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 953302)
What is this, a test? Feels like I'm back in grade school.

It's actually a great situational question.

Raymond Mon Feb 02, 2015 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 953329)
With the new mechanic for using the shot clock vice a visible count, this actually makes a great case play. The NCAA should adopt it.

So what if the official doesn't have knowledge of a lapse. TO is called, you look up and see "24." Do you call the violation and give the coach the option to take the timeout back?

Probably not. I'm guessing not calling the violation is simply a non-reviewable official's error?
....

Without the information provided by the slot, by rule a 10 second violation would be called, 1 second added back to the game clock, and Team A would have a choice to rescind the timeout.

And there is a relevant case play on the Men's side, A.R. 208.

AremRed Mon Feb 02, 2015 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by luvhoops (Post 953331)
Sorry, I did that to prevent some people from only responding with a yes or no. I was looking also for rule/case reference.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 953359)
It's actually a great situational question.

I know, I was just ragging on luvhoops for the very official sounding post. :D It is a very good situational question.

luvhoops Mon Feb 02, 2015 03:43pm

Yes, A.R. 208 applies somewhat however 207 is more applicable I believe. Thanks for pointing it out as clearly, it was not previously discovered and thus, the original post was made.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1