![]() |
Substitutes Following Technical Foul
Does anyone have a rule (or case book) reference for allowing substitutes in following a technical foul? 3-3-1C specifically mentions when subs are allowed for PERSONAL FOULS.
Since a substitute may enter to shoot FT's for a T, would it follow that ANY subs should be beckoned prior to the first, prior to the second, or prior to the throw in at mid-court? It would make sense to allow ANY subs prior to the first FT as that would be a good time for a coach to get a hot-head off the court following an unsporting T. Had this come up in a Boys V game last night and I don't think we handled it properly. We didn't allow subs until AFTER the second FT because none of them were coming in to shoot FT's and none were replacing a hot-head. |
I was looking up the rules on this just a couple of weeks ago. I don't think there's actually anything preventing bringing in subs at any time the ball is dead during technical FTs.
|
Quote:
"When a player is required by rule to be replaced prior to administering the free throw(s), then all other substitutes who have legally reported may also enter the game." By rule, a player is required to be replaced when a legal sub properly reports to enter a one of the five allowed to shoot the second throw. This rule is, after all, a measure to efficiently utilize time. No time is wasted on the other subs if the necessary sub is brought in to shoot the second throw. Right? |
Quote:
The only rule that says subs have to wait until before or after the final free throw is 3-3-1C. As you point out, that rule says for PERSONAL foul free throws. If you are shooting TECHNICAL foul free throws a sub can be brought in before the first free throw and before the second free throw. no restrictions except if the player had been replaced the clock would need to run etc. ordinary rules. Freddy is citing the exception to the substitution rule dealing with PERSONAL fouls. If A1 has reported and is at the table, A2 is fouled on the shot and awarded 2 shots but unable to shoot because of injury a sub has to come in to shoot them. Since A1 is already at the table and has already reported before A2 needed to be replaced you can let him in. If A2 doesn't need to be replaced then A1 has to wait until prior to the last free throw or after if made etc. thx |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Further, my crew last night made two subs wait until after the second FT for the T because neither was coming in to shoot. I contend that we should have let them in as soon as they reported properly. |
Quote:
Technical fouls aren't personal fouls. 4-19. that should take care of it. good luck. |
By rule, subs should be allowed in anytime they have properly reported and the ball is dead with the clock stopped. The only exceptions are during multiple personal foul free throws (as discussed) and timeouts (reporting after the warning horn).
So, the coach could have subs come in after you report the foul, after the first free throw, and after the last free throw. |
In the big scheme of things this isn't that huge of a mix up. I wouldn't say anything to my partner until a TO or between quarters in this case. Not like I'm going to change his mind either way.
|
BTW
NCAAM says for technicals and flagrant you can bring them in before the first or after the last. |
Quote:
We didn't handle it correctly last night but it was a minor gaffe. I raised the issue after the game. We talked it through and realized we probably erred. No biggie, but we won't make that mistake again. Thanks guys. |
Did Me a Faber: "Knowledge is Good"
It is good day because I have learned something new. :)
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46pm. |