The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Sub after timeout (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99175-sub-after-timeout.html)

just another ref Wed Jan 28, 2015 01:31am

Sub after timeout
 
My small association has been absorbed this year by a larger association so I find myself in the role of "new guy" for the first time in quite a while, which is not what I do best. But with that in mind, I err on the side of caution when dealing with a veteran official who I am working with for the first time. We are shooting two free throws and home team calls timeout. After the warning horn at 15 seconds, sub reports for home and he properly says she must wait. I'm C. After the first free throw I look expectantly toward the table and.......nothing. I blow the whistle and point. Partner at T shakes his head. I walked over and asked what the problem is. He says after a timeout a sub who reported after the horn can't come in until after the clock has run. I tell him no, that the timeout is over and the sub can enter before the last free throw. He was adamant, he was the R, and it was his sub so I backed off. Between games he rooted through the rule and case books but "couldn't find what he was looking for." He promised to finish checking it out and get back to me. He said "I may be 100% wrong but I've been doing it that way for a loooong time." (I don't think he believed he was wrong) I told him he was confusing this with the player returning who had been subbed out.

I'm also 100% sure that I'm right but there's comfort in numbers. So, go ahead guys. Back me up and share your thoughts on a veteran official making this kind of mistake.

referee99 Wed Jan 28, 2015 01:35am

Here's a virtual hug.
 
You were right.

APG Wed Jan 28, 2015 01:40am

Your interpretation is correct.

WhistlesAndStripes Wed Jan 28, 2015 02:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 952535)
You were right.

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 952536)
You're interpretation is correct.

Agreed.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 28, 2015 06:33am

That sub is able to enter after the ball becomes live and then dead again even if the clock did not run. Another possibility is that if a second TO were taken before the ball is made live the sub may enter then too.

Maineac Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:14am

You'd be right here, too.

bainsey Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:25am

Correcto, seņor.

Adam Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:46am

I believe the rule says subs who report after the first horn must wait for "the next opportunity", not "until the clock runs."

BigCat Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 952581)
I believe the rule says subs who report after the first horn must wait for "the next opportunity", not "until the clock runs."

That phrase is used for players that are replaced/subbed or directed to leave game. Replaced player or directed to leave game cannot come in until next opportunity and clock has started…after his replacement. rule 3 something.



Rule 3 warning horn section says if player reports late the same players in game have to "resume play." rule 6 says you resume play when ball becomes live on a jump ball, free throw, and/or throw in. We just "resumed play" when we bounced free thrower the ball. Rule satisfied. now we need to let this player in. (this is what I would tell your partner)

UpperValley Wed Jan 28, 2015 01:27pm

I see the ball coming live on the first throw of a 1 & 1. Is it live on the first (or first two) throws of shooting 2 or 3 free throws?

deecee Wed Jan 28, 2015 01:46pm

That's absurd. So what happens when a team, after the first FT, sends a sub to the table? Does he make them wait too?

In this case each team has 3 opportunities to get subs into the game.

1. The TO
2. After the first FT attempt
3. After the second attempt if good.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 28, 2015 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UpperValley (Post 952597)
I see the ball coming live on the first throw of a 1 & 1. Is it live on the first (or first two) throws of shooting 2 or 3 free throws?

Yes. Otherwise, you couldn't score (amongst other examples)

BigCat Wed Jan 28, 2015 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UpperValley (Post 952597)
I see the ball coming live on the first throw of a 1 & 1. Is it live on the first (or first two) throws of shooting 2 or 3 free throws?

Yes. The ball becomes live every time it is bounced/received to/by the free thrower. If 3 free throws are being shot, ---on the first and second the ball becomes live on receipt, becomes dead when it goes in or it is certain to be missed. On the third FT it is dead if it goes in but remains live if it is missed.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1