The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Whacking your partner? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99162-whacking-your-partner.html)

WhistlesAndStripes Mon Jan 26, 2015 06:27pm

Whacking your partner?
 
This is a pretty damn funny situation I heard about that happened in our area this past Friday night.

A1 drives the lane and is called for a player control foul. After the call is made, he makes a comment to the calling official, who then assess a techincal foul to A1. Calling official then hears a comment from behind, "That was a good call!", so he blows his whistle for a technical on B1, who was the player that took the charge on the play.

R1 reports the PC foul and both technical fouls to the table, then he turns around to find one of his partners standing right there to tell him something:
U2: "Um, R1, that was me that made that comment."
R1: "What?"
U2: "That was me that said, 'That was a good call!'"
R1: (turning towards table): "Erase the technical foul on B1."

U2 then got to explain to B Head Coach why the technical foul against the visitors was being erased.

You can't make this stuff up!!

Camron Rust Mon Jan 26, 2015 08:10pm

The only thing that would make that better would be for coach B to complain after having the technical foul erased.

Different setup, but I had that happen once after I elected, after blowing the whistle and consulting with my partner but before reporting, to not call the T. I explained it to both coaches. The one who would have been shooting for the T was fine with it but the one who was saved a T found something to complain about.

My only response to the coach was "Are you really complaining about not calling a T on your own player?" and I walked away with that...SMH.

Referee24.7 Mon Jan 26, 2015 11:59pm

Back in the day when I was officiating HS, I had a boys varsity game where its a 4-pt game with like 2:30 to play in the 4th qtr. . .

Visiting team (green) is on defense and one of their players gets the rebound, but for some reason, decides to shoot at the opponent's basket. . .

Home team (white) has a player who decides not to let him shoot and clobbers him, but the ball goes in. . .

My partner at lead, blows his whistle super-loud runs up and scores it as an "And 1!"

Green player is all pumped up like "Yeah, yeah, yeah" and meanwhile his team and coach are screaming at him, like "What are you doing?"

So, I'm a trail and I cut my partner off, and he's like "What's wrong?"

I'm like, "You just gave an and-1 to a player who shot at the wrong basket"

He's like, "Oh" (now really confused) - "What do we do now"

To wrap this up, we counted the foul and the bucket, but green is in bonus on their end for 1&1 (8 team fouls). . .

So now, here's where the circus and calamity starts. . .

The white team head coach is now upset because he's not getting what he feels is a merited FT because my partner called a foul.

I explain to him that by rule, they don't get awarded a free throw for a player scoring a basket for them.

Now, he's livid, and he's giving me the business. . .

Move on to the green team. . .

So, we go to green's end where we are going to shoot 1 and 1, and now the green team head coach is screaming that his player should be shooting 2 shots because it was an attempted shot. . .

Again, I go over there and repeatedly explain that by rule, there's no such thing as an attempted shot at the wrong basket so therefore, his player doesn't get awarded for a shooting foul.

Meanwhile, my partner (who looked great in calling the foul, very dramatic and all), but who took this all sideways is now asking me why isn't the player shooting 2 shots because he took a shot down there. . .

I explain to him.

Long story short, we get it all done and both coaches are screaming at me at the end of the game because they felt I screwed it all up and my partner got all the accolades.

Both coaches called the HS assignor together and it was a fascinating explanation that my HS assignor couldn't believe that this play actually happened. . .

The joys of officiating.

just another ref Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 952338)
Back in the day when I was officiating HS, I had a boys varsity game where its a 4-pt game with like 2:30 to play in the 4th qtr. . .

Visiting team (green) is on defense and one of their players gets the rebound, but for some reason, decides to shoot at the opponent's basket. . .

Home team (white) has a player who decides not to let him shoot and clobbers him, but the ball goes in. . .

My partner at lead, blows his whistle super-loud runs up and scores it as an "And 1!"

Green player is all pumped up like "Yeah, yeah, yeah" and meanwhile his team and coach are screaming at him, like "What are you doing?"

So, I'm a trail and I cut my partner off, and he's like "What's wrong?"

I'm like, "You just gave an and-1 to a player who shot at the wrong basket"

He's like, "Oh" (now really confused) - "What do we do now"

To wrap this up, we counted the foul and the bucket, but green is in bonus on their end for 1&1 (8 team fouls). . .

So now, here's where the circus and calamity starts. . .

The white team head coach is now upset because he's not getting what he feels is a merited FT because my partner called a foul.

I explain to him that by rule, they don't get awarded a free throw for a player scoring a basket for them.

Now, he's livid, and he's giving me the business. . .

Move on to the green team. . .

So, we go to green's end where we are going to shoot 1 and 1, and now the green team head coach is screaming that his player should be shooting 2 shots because it was an attempted shot. . .

Again, I go over there and repeatedly explain that by rule, there's no such thing as an attempted shot at the wrong basket so therefore, his player doesn't get awarded for a shooting foul.

Meanwhile, my partner (who looked great in calling the foul, very dramatic and all), but who took this all sideways is now asking me why isn't the player shooting 2 shots because he took a shot down there. . .

I explain to him.

Long story short, we get it all done and both coaches are screaming at me at the end of the game because they felt I screwed it all up and my partner got all the accolades.

Both coaches called the HS assignor together and it was a fascinating explanation that my HS assignor couldn't believe that this play actually happened. . .

The joys of officiating.

You counted the bucket?

Referee24.7 Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:16am

Yes, are you saying that should've been a violation and we wipe it because you can't have an attempted shot at the wrong basket?

just another ref Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 952342)
Yes, are you saying that should've been a violation and we wipe it because you can't have an attempted shot at the wrong basket?

A shot at the opponents basket is not a try. Ball is dead on the foul.

SC Official Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 952342)
Yes, are you saying that should've been a violation and we wipe it because you can't have an attempted shot at the wrong basket?

That's your mistake right there. You can't count the bucket.

Referee24.7 Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:21am

I know its not a try, because there's no such thing as an attempted shot at the wrong basket, but you've opened up a little discussion here so. . .

Player A gets the ball and just does a routine lay-up at the opponent's basket, unbeknownst to him/her that's not their basket and it goes in - no foul, no anything.

You're wiping it and calling it a violation because you can't have a try at the wrong basket?

AremRed Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 952343)
A shot at the opponents basket is not a try. Ball is dead on the foul.

Yep. Wipe the bucket, go to correct end and shoot bonus. Get both coaches together and explain what happened at the same time so you're not going to each separately.

Referee24.7 Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28am

I know we scored it, so that's on us. . .

I know that in college, its a violation for a try at shooting at the wrong basket. . .

But, so even if there's no foul, the moment that a player goes for a try at the wrong basket, you just blow it dead?

just another ref Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 952346)
I know its not a try, because there's no such thing as an attempted shot at the wrong basket, but you've opened up a little discussion here so. . .

Player A gets the ball and just does a routine lay-up at the opponent's basket, unbeknownst to him/her that's not their basket and it goes in - no foul, no anything.

You're wiping it and calling it a violation because you can't have a try at the wrong basket?

That's not it. It doesn't have to be a try to score. But a foul does not cause the ball to become dead if a try is in flight. In your situation, the foul causes the ball to be dead immediately.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 27, 2015 01:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 952348)
I know we scored it, so that's on us. . .

I know that in college, its a violation for a try at shooting at the wrong basket. . .

But, so even if there's no foul, the moment that a player goes for a try at the wrong basket, you just blow it dead?

Still wrong. It is a violation to shoot at the wrong basket in the NBA.

Also, the impression that your first post gives is that you are a teenager because of the heavy usage of "like."

AremRed Tue Jan 27, 2015 01:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 952351)
Still wrong. It is a violation to shoot at the wrong basket in the NBA.

Also, the impression that your first post gives is that you are a teenager because of the heavy usage of "like."

If it is true that Referee24.7 is indeed still a teenager that would mean that he would have had to join The Forum no older than 12 years, 1 month old. :eek:

Nevadaref Tue Jan 27, 2015 07:08am

I don't think that he is, but his diction comes across that way. I've learned that speaking and writing in an immature manner doesn't create a positive impression in the professional world.

Smitty Tue Jan 27, 2015 07:47am

And then there's this...

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7
Back in the day when I was officiating HS


deecee Tue Jan 27, 2015 08:16am

Your only mistake was counting the bucket. The ball becomes dead at the time of the infraction unless it's in flight on a try.

By rule a try is a legal attempt at one's own basket so this isn't a try. Ball is dead at the time of the infraction so no points scored. Also the max anyone can score on an opponents basket is 2 points.

Other than that you were right to shoot 1&1. In my old association, in a televised game, with an official that moved up way faster than he was ready to (plus his partner is also to blame) had a game winning shot at the buzzer on the wrong basket.

bob jenkins Tue Jan 27, 2015 08:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 952371)
Your only mistake was counting the bucket. The ball becomes dead at the time of the infraction unless it's in flight on a try.

Option B (although less likely) is that the ball was through the basket at the time of the contact. In this instance, count the basket, but ignore the contact unless it was Intentional or Flagrant.

AremRed Tue Jan 27, 2015 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 952367)
I don't think that he is, but his diction comes across that way. I've learned that speaking and writing in an immature manner doesn't create a positive impression in the professional world.

So what? Does his diction make his points any less valid? And FYI we're not in the professional world here Nevada.

BryanV21 Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:16pm

Since the shot by green was at the wrong basket, it is not... by rule... a shot attempt. Therefore the foul does indeed kill the play, meaning that anything that happens after that doesn't count. The basket happened after the foul, so the basket does not count.

However, in this case, the foul would lead to a bonus free throw. Basically, it's treated just like any other common foul. The fact that green was in the shooting motion means nothing.

BTW, if it wasn't for the foul by white, the not-actually-a-shot by green would lead to two points for white (no player would get credit for the points, just a footnote on how white got those two extra points).

Adam Tue Jan 27, 2015 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 952346)
I know its not a try, because there's no such thing as an attempted shot at the wrong basket, but you've opened up a little discussion here so. . .

Player A gets the ball and just does a routine lay-up at the opponent's basket, unbeknownst to him/her that's not their basket and it goes in - no foul, no anything.

You're wiping it and calling it a violation because you can't have a try at the wrong basket?

No, we're saying that the ball becomes dead on a foul. The exception that allows an "and one" is when the shooting motion has been started. In this case, that doesn't apply, so all you have is a dead ball going through the basket.

Scratch85 Tue Jan 27, 2015 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 952346)
Player A gets the ball and just does a routine lay-up at the opponent's basket, unbeknownst to him/her that's not their basket and it goes in - no foul, no anything.

I'm sure this has been discussed before but is the above scenario considered a double dribble? Assuming the routine layup is from the dribble and banked in.

Edit: and therefore the basket is not counted.

bob jenkins Tue Jan 27, 2015 11:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 952481)
I'm sure this has been discussed before but is the above scenario considered a double dribble? Assuming the routine layup is from the dribble and banked in.

Edit: and therefore the basket is not counted.

Only if the "shot" is missed and A1 is the first to touch the ball.

Rich1 Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Referee24.7 (Post 952348)
But, so even if there's no foul, the moment that a player goes for a try at the wrong basket, you just blow it dead?

If a player "throws" the ball and it goes in the opponents basket the two points count. This could be from an errant/tipped pass or if they accidentally shoot at the wrong basket.

As already pointed out, even if said throw by Team A was from beyond the 3 point line it would only count as two. Even if it was tipped by a Team B player its just two points since this is still not a try.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:37am

I know that there have been times over the years that I have wanted to whack my partner, but that would have meant me having to drag his body out to the van, driving out into the desert, and digging a deep and large hole. :eek: I am sorry, you meant the other kind of whack.

MTD, Sr.

HokiePaul Wed Jan 28, 2015 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 952286)
A1 drives the lane and is called for a player control foul. After the call is made, he makes a comment to the calling official, who then assess a techincal foul to A1. Calling official then hears a comment from behind, "That was a good call!", so he blows his whistle for a technical on B1, who was the player that took the charge on the play.

Late to this thread, but why would this be a technical foul on B1? Does anyone else issue a technical foul for positive comments from players? Hardly seems unsporting to me, and the whole situation in the OP would have been avoided had the official not been so anxious to whack people.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 28, 2015 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 952544)
Late to this thread, but why would this be a technical foul on B1? Does anyone else issue a technical foul for positive comments from players? Hardly seems unsporting to me, and the whole situation in the OP would have been avoided had the official not been so anxious to whack people.


If it is dripping with sarcasim the comment might get a TF.

MTD, Sr.

frezer11 Wed Jan 28, 2015 09:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 952544)
Late to this thread, but why would this be a technical foul on B1? Does anyone else issue a technical foul for positive comments from players? Hardly seems unsporting to me, and the whole situation in the OP would have been avoided had the official not been so anxious to whack people.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 952545)
If it is dripping with sarcasim the comment might get a TF.

MTD, Sr.

I would also strongly consider it if it was pretty sarcastic. That said, even if he didn't recognize the voice, you'd think he could tell that his partner's words were NOT sarcastic!! Another reason to not guess!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1