The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NC State -- Notre Dame end of regulation (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99156-nc-state-notre-dame-end-regulation-video.html)

JMUplayer Mon Jan 26, 2015 09:17am

NC State -- Notre Dame end of regulation (Video)
 
Tie game
Nc State has to go the length of the floor.

They throw a baseball pass all the way to the other end.... While Ball is in flight NC State guy who was going to catch is pushes off clearly and foul is called on him.

The officials ran time off the clock... -- no idea why because foul clearly happended before the ball was touched.

Anyone have video of this? Very interesting play.

NDno1fan Mon Jan 26, 2015 05:36pm

I asked the same question. Pretty sure they missed that one. Should have been treated as a "dead ball" foul. In that case 2 other questions arise.
Not so sure but also wondering:

1) why did ND not get the ball under their own basket instead of under NCSt basket since NCSt never established control of the ball over half court at all?

2) Is it really an offensive foul or should that be considered a loose ball foul since it's up for grabs? In the case of loose ball foul ND would be shooting...

Finally - If ND had lost and we're right about either or both of the the first two questions, could they protest the game and get the last 1.8 seconds replayed?

bballref3966 Mon Jan 26, 2015 05:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NDno1fan (Post 952278)
I asked the same question. Pretty sure they missed that one. Should have been treated as a "dead ball" foul. In that case 2 other questions arise.
Not so sure but also wondering:

1) why did ND not get the ball under their own basket instead of under NCSt basket since NCSt never established control of the ball over half court at all?

2) Is it really an offensive foul or should that be considered a loose ball foul since it's up for grabs? In the case of loose ball foul ND would be shooting...

Finally - If ND had lost and we're right about either or both of the the first two questions, could they protest the game and get the last 1.8 seconds replayed?

Look up the definition of a live ball.

1) Throw-ins following a personal foul are nearest where the foul occurred.

2) There is no such thing as a loose ball foul. NC State had control at the time the foul occurred (look up the definition of team control). You do not shoot free throws for a team control foul.

And no, there are no protests in basketball.

so cal lurker Mon Jan 26, 2015 06:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 952282)
[COLOR="Red"]
And no, there are no protests in basketball.

NBA permits some -- very rare -- protests.

I may misrecall the details slightly, but I think it was a team Shaq was on protested because the referees didn't let them sub Shaq into the game in the final seconds. Between the time the game was played and the protest was granted on that ground, Shaq had been traded -- but they still got to replay the final seconds.

APG Mon Jan 26, 2015 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 952282)
2) There is no such thing as a loose ball foul. NC State had control at the time the foul occurred (look up the definition of team control). You do not shoot free throws for a team control foul.

And no, there are no protests in basketball.

On your second point, the NBA has a category of fouls called a loose ball foul. It's a foul committed when neither team is in control of the ball. Now just going off the the description of the OP and without seeing the play yet, it doesn't sound as it would be a LBF.

APG Mon Jan 26, 2015 08:34pm

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/dQsIYdBOmbk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

bballref3966 Mon Jan 26, 2015 08:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 952293)
On your second point, the NBA has a category of fouls called a loose ball foul. It's a foul committed when neither team is in control of the ball. Now just going off the the description of the OP and without seeing the play yet, it doesn't sound as it would be a LBF.

Yes, however this is NCAA rules being discussed. :p

APG Mon Jan 26, 2015 08:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 952303)
Yes, however this is NCAA rules being discussed. :p

Just pointing out where the confusion may come from as it appears the person you were replying to isn't an official but a fan. :)

Camron Rust Tue Jan 27, 2015 02:58am

I the official got hoodwinked on that one.

Yes, the offensive player had his hand in contact with the defender but I don't see anywhere near enough force to cause the reaction that followed. The defender jumped away from the contact creating the appearance of a foul.

The view from behind makes it most apparent. It shows that the offensive player's arm really wasn't even in the back of the defender at all but maybe to on his side. A push form that point wouldn't have caused the movement seen from the defender.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...ard_trophy.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1