The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Should We Have Fixed It? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99139-should-we-have-fixed.html)

Rob1968 Sun Jan 25, 2015 01:06am

I've had occasion to correct the player number I had reported to the scorer, when I realized that I'd given it incorrectly. And over all the years and games I've officiated, I've had two inadvertent whistles. And I'm glad that I did the right thing by admitting and correcting my error(s).
I agree with those who've said that it has to be okay to do so, even though we consider the OP to be of greater import than an inadvertent whistle, or a case of reporting a foul on the wrong player of the same team.

Adam Sun Jan 25, 2015 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 951979)
Put me in the camp of putting the foul on the correct player. I would think this is a 2-3 application...I don't think I could eat putting a foul on the wrong player...much less the WRONG TEAM.

If my assignor says I'm wrong (and feel like most wouldn't), then it's one I'd be willing to "bite."

For the one time in a career that this might happen, I'd be willing to take the hit for getting this fixed. If it happens more than that, then my assigner is going to have other concerns.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 25, 2015 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 951999)
Just to be clear... I would like nothing more than to be able to fix this error. But we have to do things by the book. So I'm just looking for solid reasoning for being able to fix things.

That is the proper way to think about this.

Here is your rule support for fixing this.

2-11-11 "A bookkeeping mistake may be corrected at anytime until the referee approves the final score."

Now you must understanding that an official telling the scorer what to record is part of the recordkeeping process. If the official mistakenly says "blue 32" instead of "white 32", the wrong team is not stuck with a foul for the rest of the game. If the official mistakenly says "red 41" instead of red "14", the wrong player isn't stuck with the foul for the rest of the game. Furthermore, what if an official says "green 34" while indicating the numbers "3" and then "5" with his hand(s)? These are all simple mistakes that humans make. There is no intent under the rules to improperly penalize a team when an official says something wrong.

Your situation is no different. You correctly observed the foul and made the decision on the court regarding which player to penalize. You just got confused and messed up during the reporting process (and didn't the needed help from your partner). There is no rule which mandates that the reporting process is binding. You may fix the bookkeeping aspect of the game whenever necessary.

BryanV21 Mon Jan 26, 2015 03:21pm

Thank you, guys. I really appreciate the help.

walt Mon Jan 26, 2015 05:23pm

+1 with Nevada

billyu2 Mon Jan 26, 2015 07:46pm

Prescribed mechanics
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 952249)
Thank you, guys. I really appreciate the help.

Bryan, I have a question about your mechanics at the spot of the foul. Did you move in toward the offender, state the jersey color and number and perhaps give a preliminary signal, or did you just go up with the fist and start to leave the area to report the foul?

BryanV21 Mon Jan 26, 2015 08:01pm

Normally it goes whistle, first, wait and make sure the number of the players and that things are cool. , then go report the foul.

Camron Rust Mon Jan 26, 2015 08:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 952292)
Normally it goes whistle, first, wait and make sure the number of the players and that things are cool. , then go report the foul.

If you actually state the number at the spot, it can help avoid similar situations.

BryanV21 Mon Jan 26, 2015 08:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 952298)
If you actually state the number at the spot, it can help avoid similar situations.

I'll give it a try... Thanks

billyu2 Mon Jan 26, 2015 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 952299)
I'll give it a try... Thanks

Bryan, it is part of a definite procedure in officiating mechanics to be used when a foul occurs. It can never hurt and can only help. It is an important part of communication. Even so, I would say 90% of officials I observe here in my part of Ohio choose to skip it, setting themselves up for rare but potential embarrassing situations that are bound to happen eventually. Yours just did. Don't settle on just giving it a try. Make it a standard in your mechanics.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1