![]() |
|
|
|||
I have the same question. Who was charged with the direct T which resulted in the first indirect to the coach? You cannot just charge an indirect T by itself to bench personnel. You need a specific offender. If it is a collective action such as multiple substitutes standing when not permitted, there is still a TEAM technical foul which is assessed resulting in the indirect to the coach. Indirects never exist totally on their own under high school rules.
Last edited by Nevadaref; Thu Jan 22, 2015 at 06:34pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Yes, you need a specific offender. All indirects MUST have a direct called somewhere. You can not have an indirect without a direct. The two are tied together. That offender, however, can be identified as the "TEAM".
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I'm not sure who the recieved the original bench tech whether it was a player or assistant.
Thanks for all the feedback. When report got written it did mention the last two on the head coach were indirects. Won't impact though unless there is further investitgaion by league. Ejection results in automatic 1 game suspension for players or coaches.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
Quote:
It could have been a team member though. ![]() |
|
|||
Sorry I meant I wasn't aware which of the bench personnel was responsible as I didn't make the call. FIBA it is simply recorded as T to bench which = Indirect to coach.
Bench's in most of our gyms are on opposite side from fans. So any comments or actions can only have come from bench as you pass them.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
Quote:
We've had this discussion before on the forum and if the official has properly observed the infraction, then a specific individual is charged with the offense. This is 98% of the time. For the 2% situations in which the official is certain that the remark came from the bench, but for some reason doesn't know exactly who said it, a team tech may be assessed. That isn't the preferred sanction, but in a pinch it will have to suffice. It is always best to have a specific offender identified, except for the collective team acts such as those noted in the Case Book plays. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|