The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Using teammates to foul? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99087-using-teammates-foul.html)

potato Sun Jan 18, 2015 07:12am

Using teammates to foul?
 
How would you call the foul when a teammate uses his teammate to foul the opposing team player, whether it's offensive or defensive, for example pushing his teammate bumping into the opponent, would you call it some unsportsmanship technical on the player pushing or the teammate whom got pushed into a foul?

For example B1 pushes B2 into contact with ball handler A1 to stop him from making a shot.

For example Ball handler A1 pushes A2 into B1 who is guarding A1.

For example A1 grabs A2 and pulls him in to block defender B1's path for a not so legal screen (insufficient space or moving screen).

APG Sun Jan 18, 2015 07:17am

Foul on the player that ultimately ends up making contact on the opponent.

Rob1968 Sun Jan 18, 2015 10:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 950821)
Foul on the player that ultimately ends up making contact on the opponent.

I agree. And I recently made such a call. When the offender told me that he got pushed, I told him it was his teammate that had pushed him - he hadn't realized that it was his teammate.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:09pm

Officials only penalize illegal actions.
Pushing or pulling a teammate is nothing. If that teammate makes illegal contact with an opponent, that is what gets whistled. The player who made the contact with the opponent gets charged with the foul. If he doesn't like it, he can complain to the teammate who pushed him.

Hugh Refner Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:18pm

Too bad we can't also consider the pusher an "accessory" and give him half a foul. :rolleyes:

potato Mon Jan 19, 2015 01:49am

would you also give a flagrant & eject the player if the contact was too dangerous even though he didn't walk his way into the contact but pushed by the player, or will you just call a normal foul?

so in no way the pushing teammate will get called for a foul even if it's unsportsmanlike such as this?

just another ref Mon Jan 19, 2015 01:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 951042)
would you also give a flagrant & eject the player if the contact was too dangerous even though he didn't walk his way into the contact but pushed by the player, or will you just call a normal foul?

so in no way the pushing teammate will get called for a foul even if it's unsportsmanlike such as this?


You're suggesting that a player might shove his own teammate with enough force to call a flagrant foul for the resulting contact with an opponent. All I can say is, when that happens, you post the video and we'll give it all the attention it deserves.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 19, 2015 02:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 951042)
would you also give a flagrant & eject the player if the contact was too dangerous even though he didn't walk his way into the contact but pushed by the player, or will you just call a normal foul?

so in no way the pushing teammate will get called for a foul even if it's unsportsmanlike such as this?

If A1 is airborne for a dunk or layup and B1 shoves B2 into A1 such that the contact takes out A1's legs and causes him to crash to the floor, I certainly would consider an intentional or flagrant foul on B2. Yes, the real fault lies with B1, but there is no rule permitting the official to penalize him for such an act.

Teammates may be penalized for committing unsporting behavior or acts of violence (fighting) against each other, but I don't see that as applying in the cases posited.

La Rikardo Mon Jan 19, 2015 02:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 951057)
If A1 is airborne for a dunk or layup and B1 shoves B2 into A1 such that the contact takes out A1's legs and causes him to crash to the floor, I certainly would consider an intentional or flagrant foul on B2. Yes, the real fault lies with B1, but there is no rule permitting the official to penalize him for such an act.

Teammates may be penalized for committing unsporting behavior or acts of violence (fighting) against each other, but I don't see that as applying in the cases posited.

While the contact personal foul can only be charged to B2, I think the act of pushing a teammate into an opponent could be construed by the officials to be an unsporting technical foul the push is seen to be with clear intent to harm A1.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 19, 2015 02:49am

What if B1 pushes an official into A1 while he is attempting a jumpshot? :D

Nevadaref Mon Jan 19, 2015 02:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by La Rikardo (Post 951061)
While the contact personal foul can only be charged to B2, I think the act of pushing a teammate into an opponent could be construed by the officials to be an unsporting technical foul the push is seen to be with clear intent to harm A1.

Consider the definition in 4-19-14. Is the context appropriate?

La Rikardo Mon Jan 19, 2015 03:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 951064)
What if B1 pushes an official into A1 while he is attempting a jumpshot? :D

B1 is charged with a flagrant unsporting technical foul for disrespectfully contacting an official. If A1 is in the act of shooting when the foul occurs, continuous motion will apply and the ball will not become dead until the try ends. A goal may be scored in this circumstance. Team A will shoot two free throws and will be awarded a division-line throw-in. B1 will be disqualified.

La Rikardo Mon Jan 19, 2015 03:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 951066)
Consider the definition in 4-19-14. Is the context appropriate?

Yes. Pushing a teammate in an effort to foul an opponent is an example of "...any behavior not in accordance with the spirit of fair play."

Nevadaref Mon Jan 19, 2015 04:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by La Rikardo (Post 951070)
Yes. Pushing a teammate in an effort to foul an opponent is an example of "...any behavior not in accordance with the spirit of fair play."

That's not the part of the rule to which I was referring. Try "is a noncontact technical foul..."

Altor Mon Jan 19, 2015 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 951081)
That's not the part of the rule to which I was referring. Try "is a noncontact technical foul..."

And as was pointed out as the reason you cannot call a personal foul on B1...he didn't contact A1.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1