The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Free throw violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99063-free-throw-violation.html)

David B Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:25am

Free throw violation?
 
Saw a crazy play the other night and have discussed with several other officials and we can't seem to come to a consensus. Thought I'd ask here to see what you guys might have ruled.

Play A1 shooting second of two free throws and is holding the ball when player A2 who is behind the three point line shoves B2 who is beside him and falls into the area which would be a violation.

The referee calls a foul on A2 for pushing B2 but the question is how to administer the play.

In the game I was watching they cleared the lane and let A1 shoot his free throw and then went to the other end and let B2 shoot his free throw since they were in the bonus.

My question is this a violation, should A1 should be able to shoot his second FT?

Also since the ball is live is this a team control foul and there should be no shots by B2 and team B simply gets the ball?

We have discussed other possible rulings what say you guys?

Thanks
David

deecee Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by David B (Post 950434)
Saw a crazy play the other night and have discussed with several other officials and we can't seem to come to a consensus. Thought I'd ask here to see what you guys might have ruled.

Play A1 shooting second of two free throws and is holding the ball when player A2 who is behind the three point line shoves B2 who is beside him and falls into the area which would be a violation.

The referee calls a foul on A2 for pushing B2 but the question is how to administer the play.

In the game I was watching they cleared the lane and let A1 shoot his free throw and then went to the other end and let B2 shoot his free throw since they were in the bonus.

My question is this a violation, should A1 should be able to shoot his second FT?

Also since the ball is live is this a team control foul and there should be no shots by B2 and team B simply gets the ball?

We have discussed other possible rulings what say you guys?

Thanks
David

This sound like an intentional foul to me. I would have A shoot their second FT with the lane cleared, then B shoot 2 and get the ball at the spot nearest the foul.

I could be swayed on not allowing A to shoot their second FT but I can't think of what I would apply to do that.

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:53am

There is no basis for calling the violation on A2 and canceling the FT. There's precedent for ignoring the violation (say B2 had pushed A2 across the 3 pt line after A1's shooting motion had begun) when it's caused by a foul, but there's no precedent for charging the fouling player for a violation here.

You are correct, this should have been a TC foul, thus no FTs.

Players jockey for position all the time by pushing each other around, so I see nothing that indicates this should have been an intentional foul.

OKREF Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:59am

Can you have a TC foul on a free throw? I don't think there is team control on a free throw is there?

I think I would most likely have an intentional foul. However with an intentional foul the resumption of play is point of interruption. Since that was at the second free throw wouldn't you shoot the intentional fouls first, then resume play with A's second free throw?

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:00pm

Player Control exists, thus team control.

BigCat Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 950442)
Can you have a TC foul on a free throw? I don't think there is team control on a free throw is there?

I think I would most likely have an intentional foul. However with an intentional foul the resumption of play is point of interruption. Since that was at the second free throw wouldn't you shoot the intentional fouls first, then resume play with A's second free throw?

the player is holding a "live" ball--player and team control

Valley Man Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 950442)
I think I would most likely have an intentional foul. However with an intentional foul the resumption of play is point of interruption. Since that was at the second free throw wouldn't you shoot the intentional fouls first, then resume play with A's second free throw?

Intentional foul is spot nearest the foul (not POI) and it is possession of the ball.

OKREF Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 950444)
Player Control exists, thus team control.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 950447)
Intentional foul is spot nearest the foul (not POI) and it is possession of the ball.

Yeah, you guys are right.

johnny d Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 950444)
Player Control exists, thus team control.


A free throw is the exception to this rule. It is actually described in rule 11. During a free throw, the officiating crew is in control of the ball at all times.

deecee Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 950442)
Can you have a TC foul on a free throw? I don't think there is team control on a free throw is there?

I think I would most likely have an intentional foul. However with an intentional foul the resumption of play is point of interruption. Since that was at the second free throw wouldn't you shoot the intentional fouls first, then resume play with A's second free throw?

POI would apply to say double unsporting T here. So A shoots the second FT with the lanes occupied.

johnny d Thu Jan 15, 2015 12:45pm

For those who don't know, rule 11 is the rule that allows officials that don't know what the hell they are doing to continue making shit up as they go along. It is also the rule that allows officials to be convinced that they should call a violation on the shooting team, and disallow the second free throw for A1.

frezer11 Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by David B (Post 950434)

Play A1 shooting second of two free throws and is holding the ball when player A2 who is behind the three point line shoves B2 who is beside him and falls into the area which would be a violation.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 950438)
You are correct, this should have been a TC foul, thus no FTs.

Players jockey for position all the time by pushing each other around, so I see nothing that indicates this should have been an intentional foul.

While I understand on the lane, I don't think there's much jockeying for position on the 3 point line. Plus if it was a shove, maybe you HTBT, but this sounds like an intentional, not TC. I think I shoot the FT lanes cleared, then shoot the intentional at the other end lanes cleared, and finally inbound on the sideline closest to where the foul occurred.

Raymond Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by David B (Post 950434)
Saw a crazy play the other night and have discussed with several other officials and we can't seem to come to a consensus. Thought I'd ask here to see what you guys might have ruled.

Play A1 shooting second of two free throws and is holding the ball when player A2 who is behind the three point line shoves B2 who is beside him and falls into the area which would be a violation.

The referee calls a foul on A2 for pushing B2 but the question is how to administer the play.

In the game I was watching they cleared the lane and let A1 shoot his free throw and then went to the other end and let B2 shoot his free throw since they were in the bonus.

My question is this a violation, should A1 should be able to shoot his second FT?

Also since the ball is live is this a team control foul and there should be no shots by B2 and team B simply gets the ball?

We have discussed other possible rulings what say you guys?

Thanks
David

A foul is not a violation, so the free throw for A1 is not eliminated. Yes, there is TC on a free throw. But, for 2 people standing behind the 3-pt line though, hard to imagine it not being intentional.

HawkeyeCubP Thu Jan 15, 2015 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 950445)
the player is holding a "live" ball-...

If that's the case. If the free throw try has been released (the OP says "...is shooting...", so there's some ambiguity, there), then, just to be totally clear, this would no longer be a team control foul, and free throws could be shot for it.

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 950462)
While I understand on the lane, I don't think there's much jockeying for position on the 3 point line. Plus if it was a shove, maybe you HTBT, but this sounds like an intentional, not TC. I think I shoot the FT lanes cleared, then shoot the intentional at the other end lanes cleared, and finally inbound on the sideline closest to where the foul occurred.

Not common, but certainly possible without an IF. If both players are leaning in waiting for the ball to hit, it may not take much force to knock the opponent across the lane.

I'm just saying it's not automatic, and there's nothing in the OP that makes me think it's more than what he said. The officials there didn't deem it an intentional foul.

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 950477)
If that's the case. If the free throw try has been released (the OP says "...is shooting...", so there's some ambiguity, there), then, just to be totally clear, this would no longer be a team control foul, and free throws could be shot for it.

Read it again. :)
"Is holding" follows "is shooting".

BigCat Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 950482)
Read it again. :)
"Is holding" follows "is shooting".

thank you Adam. Hawkeye take a lap...:D

David B Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:33pm

Thanks for the info - I don't think intentional is in order either as to me its no different than two guys jockeying for position on the lane and we aren't going to call that an intentional foul without it being something very obvious.

So basically we do have team control thus we clear the lane, administer the second FT for A1 and then give B the ball for the team control foul.

Thanks so much
David

HawkeyeCubP Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 950486)
thank you Adam. Hawkeye take a lap...:D

Welp. Derp. I'll do some mental push-ups instead. I save running for games.

Raymond Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by David B (Post 950494)
Thanks for the info - I don't think intentional is in order either as to me its no different than two guys jockeying for position on the lane and we aren't going to call that an intentional foul without it being something very obvious.

So basically we do have team control thus we clear the lane, administer the second FT for A1 and then give B the ball for the team control foul.

Thanks so much
David

2 players jockeying for position behind the 3-point line are going to get a "knock it off" from me.

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 950497)
Welp. Derp. I'll do some mental push-ups instead. I save running for games.

Wise man. It's like you're from Iowa or something.

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 950501)
2 players jockeying for position behind the 3-point line are going to get a "knock it off" from me.

Me too, until one pushes the other into a FT violation.

HawkeyeCubP Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by David B (Post 950494)
So basically we do have team control thus we clear the lane, administer the second FT for A1 ...

Pump the brakes. Don't disregard what BNR said:
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 950473)
A foul is not a violation, so the free throw for A1 is not eliminated.

You still shoot both of A1's free throws if the first free throw hasn't been released.

Adam Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 950505)
Pump the brakes. Don't disregard what BNR said: You still shoot both of A1's free throws if the first free throw hasn't been released.

Yep, and if it had been released at the time of the foul, then the shot would count.

But check out the OP again, we're already on the 2nd FT. :)

HawkeyeCubP Thu Jan 15, 2015 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 950506)
Yep, and if it had been released at the time of the foul, then the shot would count.

But check out the OP again, we're already on the 2nd FT. :)

Oh for frick's sake. I'm going to go refuel. Apologies, David B.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1