The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What do you have? (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99048-what-do-you-have-video.html)

bainsey Wed Jan 14, 2015 01:23am

Any video with the title "Best/Worst (X) Ever" needs to be taken with the entire salt mine.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 14, 2015 02:29am

It was difficult from the video to really tell if Gold was fouled by White. If there really was contact between Gold and White then it would have been a Charge by White.

BUT!! What in the Sam Hill was the L doing in the middle of the FT Lane Extended directly under the Basket. That is a major NO NO!

MTD, Sr.

AremRed Wed Jan 14, 2015 02:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by biggravy (Post 950194)
What Facebook group btw... I have been looking for a good officiating group on there.

'Good' might be debatable.

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra (Post 950196)
There was a major carry at the division line.

Yes I am sure that is what the coach is screaming about after this play.

griblets Wed Jan 14, 2015 08:03am

Flop? Really?
 
I don't see how this is anything but a PC foul. Defense establishes LGP, feet are still as can be, maybe leans back a little before contact but doesn't move forward, and takes the contact in the torso. Maybe he tried to sell it a little (or a lot), which may be why he didn't get the call.

If you aren't sold that there was contact, watch the video again and focus on the offensive player. His momentum and direction change as he tries to go around the defense. He bounces backward, proving there was contact, which was initiated by the offensive player.

L may have had a tough view to make the call... 1) because it is 2-man, and 2) because he's directly under the basket!

IAUMP Wed Jan 14, 2015 08:20am

I agree with the thought that this was a player control foul. However, if you are in the group that says it is nothing, how do you not call the travel before the shot? The offensive player jumped into the defensive player and then his right foot lands before he shoots.

Raymond Wed Jan 14, 2015 08:28am

I have a PC foul. The Lead has pinched way too much, to the point that he is a couple steps into the paint and has straight-lined himself to the contact.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:47am

PC foul, most likely. The defender does flop and the angle makes it difficult to tell just how much the offensive player got him vs. how much of it was a flop. One thing is for sure, however, it was NOT a block.

HokiePaul Wed Jan 14, 2015 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 950199)
Any video with the title "Best/Worst (X) Ever" needs to be taken with the entire salt mine.

This!

It looks to me like there is enough contact for a PC call, but it's hard to tell from that angle. I've got no problem with a no call here either as the defender clearly exaggerated contact. Lead would have had a better angle than in the video to tell how much contact there really was and how much was the defender exaggerating the contact.

I don't think the defender did anything to lose LGP so I would not agree with a block and certainly not a T for faking. There is a difference between faking being fouled and exaggerating contact.

AremRed Wed Jan 14, 2015 11:45am

Player control. Defender establishes and maintains LGP and I think the offensive player initiates the contact and goes through the defenders space. Exaggeration ≠ no foul.

VaTerp Wed Jan 14, 2015 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by griblets (Post 950231)
If you aren't sold that there was contact, watch the video again and focus on the offensive player.

I don't see anyone suggesting there was no contact. But contact, in and of itself, does not mean there was a foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by IAUMP (Post 950232)
I agree with the thought that this was a player control foul. However, if you are in the group that says it is nothing, how do you not call the travel before the shot? The offensive player jumped into the defensive player and then his right foot lands before he shoots.

Please explain how you determined there was a travel here. What you described has nothing to do with the elements of a traveling violation.

As for the play, my initial reaction was nothing. After several replays I could be convinced it was a PC but its really difficult to judge by the camera angle.

walt Wed Jan 14, 2015 05:24pm

PC if anything.

RedKillian Wed Jan 14, 2015 05:53pm

PC all the way! Not a flop by the defender, he embellished the contact but there was still enough contact to displace him. The offensive player's balance was disrupted by the contact he initiated. Punch it!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1