![]() |
Another wrong team question
A/P throw in for Team A. Official mistakenly allows B1 to step out for the throw-in and he completes the throw-in to B2. Anything preventing switching the arrow to B?
|
If the officials recognize that the error occurred after the throw-in ended, then it's too late to make a correction. The arrow should remain with Team A and it should have the next opportunity to make an AP throw-in.
See case 6.4.1 Situation D(a), which isn't exactly the same but uses the same logic sequence. |
Three In A Row ??? No Way ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
First, we want to apply: NHFS Casebook Play 6.4.1 Situation D(a): It is Team B's turn for the next throw-in under the alternation possession procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. Team A commits a throw-in violation. RULING: Once the throw-in ends it is too late to change anything. The throw-in ends when Team A violates and results in a throw-in for Team B as well as the arrow for the next alternating possession. Therefore, in the OP, the AP Throw-in ended when it was legally touched by B2. But Team A will retain the AP Arrow. And you can tell Team A's HC that his team is going to get two of the next three AP Arrows. And Billy is probably correct. LOL! There is something to be said to putting the Ball back into play with a Jump Ball, :p. MTD, Sr. P.S. The Caseball Play had Teams A and B reversed from the OP and I switched them around in my mind while composing my OP. |
mark, the case play you cited does not support the ruling you typed below it.
|
Quote:
DOH!! I was watching TV and eating dinner with the Better Half and didn't pay attention to the fact the Teams A and B were the opposite in the Casebook Play from the OP. I corrected my OP. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Read my correction and my response to BadNewsRef. MTD, Sr. |
When the ball is legally touched inbounds isn't the arrow required to be switched? I agree it is logical that a team is not allowed consecutive A/P throws in, but where may I find that reference?
|
Quote:
you can get that from reading the actual play. |
Quote:
Do not overthink this. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I also don't see where it specifically says that you give the ball to the team whose basket the arrow points to. Some things you just have to figure out. It does say that the arrow is reversed when an alternating possession throw-in ends. I submit that if the throw-in is made by the team not favored by the arrow, it is not an alternating possession throw-in. It is simply a mistake. Therefore the arrow will not be reversed.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
team Bs TURN for next AP throw in under the procedure. by mistake, team A is given that throw in. Team A (a) commits throw in violation. Ruling --once the throw in ends-it is too late to change anything. In (a), the throw in ends when team A violates and results in a throw in for team B AS WELL AS THE ARROW FOR THE NEXT ALTERNATING POSSESSION. (arrow remains with B) |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
See my OP in this thread (Post #4), I give the NFHS Casebook Play and it is applicable to NCAA Men's and Women's and I would guess since FIBA has gone to AP it would be a good guide line for FIBA. MTD, Sr. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44pm. |