The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is the coach ejected? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98919-coach-ejected.html)

kstiles99 Fri Dec 26, 2014 06:46pm

Is the coach ejected?
 
NFHS Ruleset

This happened about two weeks ago...
I am R in a freshman girls game and I'm getting ready to give the home team the ball to start the 4th quarter. The inbounder along with 2 of her teammates start bellyaching very sarcastically to me about how much they've been fouled with no calls. I tell the three of them I'll take a closer look but I've already heard complaining from their coach and I don't want to hear it from them. They keep on with it and I jokingly say "I've never given out a triple technical."

Well.. This got me thinking. If the three of them kept on and on and I decided to call a T on each.. (And no Ts were called earlier in the game) would the coach be ejected because of 3 indirect Ts? And isn't this a false multiple foul? Wouldn't the penalty be like any other technical except 6 shots and the ball at the division line opposite table with no change in the possession arrow?

(And no.. I didn't and wouldn't call three technical fouls just like that. I'd think of a better way to handle the situation)

Adam Fri Dec 26, 2014 07:04pm

Let's see, three Ts on players during an intermission. Ouch. Might want to hand the ball to the thrower before you call the Ts. :)

just another ref Fri Dec 26, 2014 07:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 947895)
Let's see, three Ts on players during an intermission.

It's on my bucket list.

crosscountry55 Fri Dec 26, 2014 07:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kstiles99 (Post 947894)
NFHS Ruleset

This happened about two weeks ago...
I am R in a freshman girls game and I'm getting ready to give the home team the ball to start the 4th quarter. The inbounder along with 2 of her teammates start bellyaching very sarcastically to me about how much they've been fouled with no calls. I tell the three of them I'll take a closer look but I've already heard complaining from their coach and I don't want to hear it from them. They keep on with it and I jokingly say "I've never given out a triple technical."

Well.. This got me thinking. If the three of them kept on and on and I decided to call a T on each.. (And no Ts were called earlier in the game) would the coach be ejected because of 3 indirect Ts? And isn't this a false multiple foul? Wouldn't the penalty be like any other technical except 6 shots and the ball at the division line opposite table with no change in the possession arrow?

(And no.. I didn't and wouldn't call three technical fouls just like that. I'd think of a better way to handle the situation)

Technically (no pun intended), the coach would indeed be ejected for three indirect Ts because the unsporting acts were on bench personnel (because this was during intermission). And then you'd get a phone call from your assigner later that evening that you probably wouldn't like.

The better way you mentioned, in my opinion, would be to select the most boisterous/aggressive of the three and issue the T to that person. Hopefully that sends the message. If not, then you (and hopefully your partners, too) can assess additional Ts as necessary.

The fourth quarter begins by administering the appropriate number of free throws followed by a throw-in at the division line opposite the table to the offended team. The offending team retains the AP arrow and will have the next opportunity to make an AP throw-in.

Nevadaref Fri Dec 26, 2014 07:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 947895)
Let's see, three Ts on players during an intermission.

There are no players during an intermission nor is there such a thing as a bench player. Try to clean up the precision of your terminology.

Use "team members" for these situations.

BillyMac Fri Dec 26, 2014 07:56pm

Precise Terminology ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 947899)
There are no players during an intermission nor is there such a thing as a bench player. Try to clean up the precision of your terminology. Use "team members" for these situations.

Wouldn't "bench personnel" be an even better term for these situations?

4-34:
ART. 1 A player is one of five team members who are legally on the court
at any given time, except intermission.
ART. 2 Bench personnel are all individuals who are part of or affiliated with
a team, including, but not limited to: substitutes, coaches, manager(s) and
statistician(s). During an intermission, all team members are bench personnel for
the purpose of penalizing unsporting behavior.

ART. 3 A substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court.
If entry is not legal, the substitute becomes a player when the ball becomes live.
A player becomes bench personnel after his/her substitute becomes a player or
after notification of the coach following his/her disqualification.
ART. 4 A team member is a member of bench personnel who is in uniform
and is eligible to become a player.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Dec 26, 2014 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kstiles99 (Post 947894)
NFHS Ruleset

This happened about two weeks ago...
I am R in a freshman girls game and I'm getting ready to give the home team the ball to start the 4th quarter. The inbounder along with 2 of her teammates start bellyaching very sarcastically to me about how much they've been fouled with no calls. I tell the three of them I'll take a closer look but I've already heard complaining from their coach and I don't want to hear it from them. They keep on with it and I jokingly say "I've never given out a triple technical."

Well.. This got me thinking. If the three of them kept on and on and I decided to call a T on each.. (And no Ts were called earlier in the game) would the coach be ejected because of 3 indirect Ts? And isn't this a false multiple foul? Wouldn't the penalty be like any other technical except 6 shots and the ball at the division line opposite table with no change in the possession arrow?

(And no.. I didn't and wouldn't call three technical fouls just like that. I'd think of a better way to handle the situation)

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 947900)
Wouldn't "bench personnel" be an even better term for these situations?

4-34:
ART. 1 A player is one of five team members who are legally on the court
at any given time, except intermission.
ART. 2 Bench personnel are all individuals who are part of or affiliated with
a team, including, but not limited to: substitutes, coaches, manager(s) and
statistician(s). During an intermission, all team members are bench personnel for
the purpose of penalizing unsporting behavior.

ART. 3 A substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court.
If entry is not legal, the substitute becomes a player when the ball becomes live.
A player becomes bench personnel after his/her substitute becomes a player or
after notification of the coach following his/her disqualification.
ART. 4 A team member is a member of bench personnel who is in uniform
and is eligible to become a player.


The Intermission between the Third and Fourth quarters is sixty seconds in length. There is a First (Warning) Signal 45 seconds after the Intermission starts and the Intermission ends when the Second Signal sounds sixty seconds after the Start of the Intermission.

Therefore, it is logical that the Intermission has to have ended before the Throw-in to start the Fourth Quarter can begin. That means that you could charge all three players with TFs and their HC is not charged three IDTFs.

MTD, Sr.

crosscountry55 Fri Dec 26, 2014 08:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 947902)
...the Intermission ends when the Second Signal sounds sixty seconds after the Start of the Intermission.

Therefore, it is logical that the Intermission has to have ended before the Throw-in to start the Fourth Quarter can begin. That means that you could charge all three players with TFs and their HC is not charged three IDTFs.

I respectfully disagree. The fourth quarter begins when the ball first becomes live to start the period. If the intermission by definition ended at the 60-second horn, what would you call the interval between that and when the ball becomes live? It would be neither intermission nor fourth quarter.

I don't believe it works this way. I believe the intermission ends when the ball becomes live to begin the quarter.

bballref3966 Fri Dec 26, 2014 08:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 947903)
I respectfully disagree. The fourth quarter begins when the ball first becomes live to start the period. If the intermission by definition ended at the 60-second horn, what would you call the interval between that and when the ball becomes live? It would be neither intermission nor fourth quarter.

I don't believe it works this way. I believe the intermission ends when the ball becomes live to begin the quarter.

Nowhere in the rules does it say the intermission ends when the ball becomes live to begin the quarter.

Rule 2-12-4: "The timer shall sound a warning signal 15 seconds before the expiration of an intermission or a time-out, immediately after which the players shall prepare to resume play, and signal again at the end of the intermission or time-out."

The end of the intermission and the ball becoming live to start the period are not necessarily simultaneous events.

crosscountry55 Fri Dec 26, 2014 09:05pm

Humiliation is what one receives when not checking the book before posting.

Well said. I stand corrected.

BigCat Fri Dec 26, 2014 09:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 947902)
The Intermission between the Third and Fourth quarters is sixty seconds in length. There is a First (Warning) Signal 45 seconds after the Intermission starts and the Intermission ends when the Second Signal sounds sixty seconds after the Start of the Intermission.

Therefore, it is logical that the Intermission has to have ended before the Throw-in to start the Fourth Quarter can begin. That means that you could charge all three players with TFs and their HC is not charged three IDTFs.

MTD, Sr.

I agree. when the second horn blows the intermission is over. the team members who reported in or were reported in by coach before first horn blew are the players after the second horn. (note also--substitutes become players when they legally enter court. ball becoming live isnt required to make a team member a player--unless he/she entered illegal. ) when the 5 players are out on floor after horn and before ball handed to thrower in i believe they are players. Ts on them are not charged to coach.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Dec 26, 2014 09:33pm

With apologies to The King of Rock and Roll:

"Thank you. Thank you very much."


MTD, Sr.

BigCat Fri Dec 26, 2014 09:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 947913)
With apologies to The King of Rock and Roll:

"Thank you. Thank you very much."


MTD, Sr.

Yes, that was a good catch...

kstiles99 Fri Dec 26, 2014 09:58pm

Well said, fellows. Also Crosscountry, thanks for helping out in my threads.

Nevadaref Fri Dec 26, 2014 11:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 947903)
If the intermission by definition ended at the 60-second horn, what would you call the interval between that and when the ball becomes live? It would be neither intermission nor fourth quarter.

Just to answer this question for completeness--covered by a phrase in 2-2-3: "...periods when the game may be momentarily stopped..."

La Rikardo Sat Dec 27, 2014 02:06am

I don't think the rules support charging the HC with one or several indirect Ts in OP's situation. It would seem that the intermission ends when the second horn sounds (as implied by 2-12-4) and so after that we have five team members who are players and not bench personnel (by 4-34-1 and 4-34-2). If the official in OP's scenario decided to punish the dissent from the three team members, the fouls would have to be unsporting player technical fouls.

La Rikardo Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:57am

How about one T right before the horn and two more right after the horn? Sit down, coach! :D

AremRed Sun Dec 28, 2014 02:21am

Anyone ever had a simultaneous tech on teammates? I've had one after another but not 2 or more at the same time.

Adam Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 947899)
There are no players during an intermission nor is there such a thing as a bench player. Try to clean up the precision of your terminology.

Use "team members" for these situations.

Yep, I was wrong about it being an intermission, so "players" is accurate, but "during an intermission" is not (for the OP).

Either way, the terms were wrong on some level.

Adam Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:08pm

And just to complete the rule references, because I don't think anyone listed it.

Rule 5-5-1 defines the length of intermissions for us.
"Playing time for high school age shall be four quarters of eight minutes each with intermissions of one minute after the first and third quarters...."

La Rikardo Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 947988)
Anyone ever had a simultaneous tech on teammates? I've had one after another but not 2 or more at the same time.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but two teammates committing technical fouls at approximately the same time would be a false multiple foul situation, not a simultaneous foul situation. Simultaneous technical fouls would be A1 committing a technical foul at approximately the same time as B1 and the fouls are not committed against each other.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 28, 2014 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by La Rikardo (Post 948017)
Correct me if I'm wrong, but two teammates committing technical fouls at approximately the same time would be a false multiple foul situation, not a simultaneous foul situation. Simultaneous technical fouls would be A1 committing a technical foul at approximately the same time as B1 and the fouls are not committed against each other.

Incorrect. False multiples happen at the same "clock" time but don't happen at the same time.

Quote:

A false multiple foul is a situation in which there are two or more fouls by the same team and the last foul is committed before the clock is started following the first, and at least one of the attributes of a multiple foul is absent.
Example: B1 fouls A1. During the throwin or free throw for A (before the clock is started), B3 fouls A3. That is a false multiple....same "game time" but different "time".

It appears that two teammates committing technical fouls at approximately the same time doesn't have a special name. It is just two fouls that occur at approximately the same time. It doesn't really need a name since the administration would be the same no matter how it is labeled.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1