![]() |
Missed technical
A delay of game warning was given at the beginning of the first half on Team A.
Towards the end of the third quarter there was another delay of game on Team A. A mistake was made and the table reported that Team B was warned the first time. The 4th quarter begins and the crew realizes the mistake. Can the technical foul be administered? Is this a bookkeeping error or a crew screw up? |
I don't know what you mean by "the table reported that B team was warned the first time". Reported to who? If the officials warned Team A early in the game, wouldn't they remember that and know that Team A's DoG warning in the 3rd quarter was their second? If I knew that I told the table to record a warning for Team A and then they get another one, I'm giving the technical no matter what the table "reported".
|
Quote:
|
I don't believe that a DOG warning has to have been recorded in the book before giving a team a tech for a second DOG offense.
If the official book fails to record a time out for Team A, and officials know it, does Team A get a 6th timeout? |
Quote:
It needs to be penalized when it occurs, so I think it's too late. Note that this is different from an excess TO which is penalized when it's discovered (see the interps, I think, for some case play on this) |
How are 10-1-5 and 2-10 reconciled in this case?
|
Quote:
|
Whenever I gave a DOG warning, I would put up this sign on the scorer's table.
http://thumbs4.picclick.com/d/l400/p...olystyrene.jpg |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I have never had to depend on the book to tell me its a second warning - its not that hard to remember. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
The scorer shall: Record the number of warnings in the official scorebook, as in Rule 4-47. And 4-47-1: A warning to a team for delay is an administrative procedure by an official which is recorded in the scorebook by the scorer and reported to the coach: For throw-in plane violations, as in 9-2-10, 10-1-5c. |
While we are on the subject... How strict are you guys on DOG warnings on a throw in? My personal line is if they step over the line, they get a warning. I still haven't decided what I will call when players reach across the plane. It seems like lately a lot of defensive players are breaking the plane, and it sure feels like a game interupter when I call it. Doesn't seem like anyohne in these parts ever calls it. Opinions on both HS and NCAA women's would be appreciated.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If he gets elbow deep, I'll call it. It is a game interrupter (every call is), but it beats letting the defense gain an advantage by crowding the thrower. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30am. |