![]() |
Double Dribble or Not?
I had a scenario in my game where my partner called a 'double dribble' and we spoke about it after the game and I am inclined to say that the play was 'good'?
Looking for some commentary.... Scenario: A1 is dribbling up the court on a 'fast break' and the ball momentarily is bounced off of one of his teammates legs - A2 as he's dribbling and rolls forward. A1 then picks up the ball and starts a new dribble. Did the contact w/A2 constitute a 'loss of possession' or simply an interrupted dribble - no player control. Any assistance is appreciated. |
What are the instances that cause a dribble to end?
|
Quote:
Dribble ends when '..the ball touches or is touched by an 'opponent' and causes the dribbler to lose control....' If that is the case if the ball touching a teammate would not qualify as 'ending' the dribble, then the situation would be considered a 'double-dribble' ? |
Quote:
(When the ball acidentally bounces off a teammate, it's the same as an interrupted dribble. If the ball is then controlled in two hands, that ends the dribble.) |
Quote:
Yes, next time I see my partner, I do owe him a beer ! Thanks and Happy Holidays. Cheers ! |
Quote:
|
https://forum.officiating.com/basket...tml#post944100
but you can INTENTIONALLY throw it off your teammate .. catch it .. and dribble without penalty:eek: who would figure |
Why was I thinking an interrupted dribble that touched a teammate ended the dribble?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Agreed
Quote:
Quote:
|
9-5 Illegal Dribble ...
A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended,
unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: ART. 1 A try for field goal. ART. 2 A touch by an opponent. ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. "Another player" can be a teammate, or an opponent. Is dribbling the ball off a teammate's foot a pass, or a fumble? I think so, but I'm open to constructive criticism. No violation, also open to constructive criticism. |
Quote:
|
Not My Cup Of Tea ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
The OP is a violation. |
Quote:
|
Fumble, Pass, Or Whatever ???
Quote:
touches B1’s leg, causing it to bounce away from A1. A1 quickly recovers the ball with two hands and then starts another dribble. RULING: Legal. The touch by B1 ended the original dribble and A1 could then recover and dribble again. However, the touch by B1 did not end team control and the 10-second backcourt count continues. (9-5-2) So if the ball hits A2 (instead of B1), then A1 can't legally start another dribble? It may be true, but I'm not sure that I'm calling it that way. It's definitely not a fumble: A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player’s grasp. Could it be a pass? A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player. That's it. It's a pass. Legal dribble. Play on. |
Quote:
Oddly, to me anyway, if A1 were to have ended his dribble and then fumbled into A2's leg, he'd be able to dribble again under the more restrictive interpretation offered here. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54am. |