The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double Dribble or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98871-double-dribble-not.html)

Camron Rust Thu Dec 18, 2014 08:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 947416)
No, Billy. A dribble deflecting off a teammate is not a pass or fumble.
The OP is a violation.

Yet there are those (not me) who argue that a ball that is touched by teammate is automatcially a pass when considering whether a released ball is a pass or dribble in the context of releasing the ball after the pivot is lifted regardless of how the ball was actually released.

BillyMac Fri Dec 19, 2014 07:33am

Fumble, Pass, Or Whatever ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 947416)
A dribble deflecting off a teammate is not a pass or fumble. The OP is a violation.

4.15.4 SITUATION E: While A1 is dribbling in A’s backcourt, the ball legally
touches B1’s leg, causing it to bounce away from A1. A1 quickly recovers the ball
with two hands and then starts another dribble. RULING: Legal. The touch by B1
ended the original dribble and A1 could then recover and dribble again. However,
the touch by B1 did not end team control and the 10-second backcourt count
continues. (9-5-2)

So if the ball hits A2 (instead of B1), then A1 can't legally start another dribble? It may be true, but I'm not sure that I'm calling it that way.

It's definitely not a fumble:

A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally
drops or slips from a player’s grasp.

Could it be a pass?

A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the
ball to another player.

That's it. It's a pass. Legal dribble. Play on.

Adam Sat Dec 20, 2014 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 947459)
4.15.4 SITUATION E: While A1 is dribbling in A’s backcourt, the ball legally
touches B1’s leg, causing it to bounce away from A1. A1 quickly recovers the ball
with two hands and then starts another dribble. RULING: Legal. The touch by B1
ended the original dribble and A1 could then recover and dribble again. However,
the touch by B1 did not end team control and the 10-second backcourt count
continues. (9-5-2)

So if the ball hits A2 (instead of B1), then A1 can't legally start another dribble? It may be true, but I'm not sure that I'm calling it that way.

It's definitely not a fumble:

A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally
drops or slips from a player’s grasp.

Could it be a pass?

A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the
ball to another player.

That's it. It's a pass. Legal dribble. Play on.

I'm with you, Billy. I see no logical distinction between A2 and B1 here, within the rules, to say one is a violation and the other is not.

Oddly, to me anyway, if A1 were to have ended his dribble and then fumbled into A2's leg, he'd be able to dribble again under the more restrictive interpretation offered here.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1