The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2014, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
This is how I think about it with a little bit of logical sense: if you use the OP scenario and
1) A rebounds no change in possession. Blow it dead, a shoots the last free throw and play resumes.
2) a rebounds and makes another bucket( now we have change in possession), blow it dead. A shoots FT with lane cleared and then b1 can make a throw in from anywhere along the end line.
3) B rebounds ( change in possession), blow it dead. A shoots second free throw with lane cleared. B gets the ball back at spot closest to where it was recognized.
4) b rebounds (change in possession) goes down and is fouled on a shot by A that goes. Bucket counts, a shots merited free throw with lanes cleared and then b shots and 1 with lanes occupied and play resumes from here.

I think the biggest take away for me is that it is unfair to take away the clear advantage of one team because crew/table made a mistake. B earned the rebound and the bucket. Now we just go back and give A what it was due. And then pick up where we left off.
For those of us who have been around since before this incorrect case play was issued, I will tell you that the above is the correct way to handle such situations.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2014, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Note that NCAAW has just issued an interp that (correctly, imo) contradicts FED 2.10.1A:

QUESTION:

A1 is fouled and entitled to two free throws but the officials indicate a one-and-one bonus situation. The first attempt is unsuccessful and B1 rebounds the ball and passes it up to B2 near the 28ft mark heading down the court. The clock operator sounds the horn and the error is discovered with B2 in possession of the ball near mid-court.

I've been debating with several other officials on how this correctable error should be properly handled/administered.

How do we properly correct this error? Do we line players up in the lane line spaces and resume play after meriting A1 her 2nd shot or do we clear the lane line spaces and award Team B the ball near mid-court (where they were last in possession)?

ANSWER:

In your play, because the error is recognized before the first dead ball after the error, the officials are still within the time frame to correct the error. A1 will shoot her remaining free throw with no players in marked lane spaces, after which play will resume at the point of interruption (a throw-in to Team B at the out of bounds spot nearest to where play was stopped) (Rule 2-12.1.a, 2-12.2, 2-12.5).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2014, 06:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Excellent! Now someone please send that to the NFHS and instruct them to correct their case play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2014, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Excellent! Now someone please send that to the NFHS and instruct them to correct their case play.
Well -- what if it's the NCAAW who is "wrong" (as in the other case play you mentioned regarding timing of fouls)?

And, sometimes there's just a difference between the codes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable error question jTheUmp Basketball 13 Mon Jan 24, 2011 07:23pm
Question regarding Correctable Error ccsalmon Basketball 2 Sun Feb 07, 2010 03:24am
Correctable Error Question PIAA REF Basketball 17 Fri Nov 20, 2009 09:58pm
Correctable Error question artmoe Basketball 11 Sun Jan 11, 2009 11:19pm
Correctable Error Question orangeump Basketball 4 Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1