The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   backcourt or not (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98712-backcourt-not.html)

timeout Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:35am

backcourt or not
 
A1 in-bounding in frontcourt near halfcourt. A2, in the frontcourt, has inbounded pass touch off his fingertips and go into backcourt where he is the first to gain possession.
Backcourt violation or not?

Thanks

BigCat Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by timeout (Post 944764)
A1 in-bounding in frontcourt near halfcourt. A2, in the frontcourt, has inbounded pass touch off his fingertips and go into backcourt where he is the first to gain possession.
Backcourt violation or not?

Thanks

Not a violation. has to be team control IN the front court. The ball touching the players fingers as you describe is not control. When ball goes to backcourt A2 can pick it up. Thx

AremRed Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by timeout (Post 944764)
A1 in-bounding in frontcourt near halfcourt. A2, in the frontcourt, has inbounded pass touch off his fingertips and go into backcourt where he is the first to gain possession.
Backcourt violation or not?

Thanks

Not a violation due to no team control in frontcourt.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 26, 2014 06:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by timeout (Post 944764)
A1 in-bounding in frontcourt near halfcourt. A2, in the frontcourt, has inbounded pass touch off his fingertips and go into backcourt where he is the first to gain possession.
Backcourt violation or not?

Thanks

Straight off the NFHS test. :(

timeout Wed Nov 26, 2014 07:43am

Thank you,
I do not have the nfhs test. Is there a case play I can read, I can't find one.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 26, 2014 07:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 944766)
Not a violation due to no team control in frontcourt.

Close, but not specifically correct.
There is TC under NFHS rules during a throw-in. So when A2 touches the ball, it now has frontcourt status and there is TC by team A.

The real reason that this is not a violation is that certain violations can only occur after PLAYER control is established INBOUNDS. A backcourt violation is one of those. 3-second and 10-second violations are two others.

billyu2 Wed Nov 26, 2014 07:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by timeout (Post 944785)
Thank you,
I do not have the nfhs test. Is there a case play I can read, I can't find one.

Similar play in Casebook 4.12.2 SITUATION B of the PLAYER/TEAM CONTROL section.

so cal lurker Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 944786)
Close, but not specifically correct.
There is TC under NFHS rules during a throw-in. So when A2 touches the ball, it now has frontcourt status and there is TC by team A.

The real reason that this is not a violation is that certain violations can only occur after PLAYER control is established INBOUNDS. A backcourt violation is one of those. 3-second and 10-second violations are two others.

Going a bit off topic with what I gather is an easy question I just didn't know . . . 12 seconds left in game with clock stopped, A inbounding in backcourt. A1 throws a bad pass to A2, who defelcts ball and chases it, no one on team B touches the ball, but it takes three seconds for a player on A to grab the ball. So, there would be no 10 second violation, even though they ate up the final 12 seconds run off the clock all in the back court?

Raymond Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 944817)
Going a bit off topic with what I gather is an easy question I just didn't know . . . 12 seconds left in game with clock stopped, A inbounding in backcourt. A1 throws a bad pass to A2, who defelcts ball and chases it, no one on team B touches the ball, but it takes three seconds for a player on A to grab the ball. So, there would be no 10 second violation, even though they ate up the final 12 seconds run off the clock all in the back court?

In HS yes, in NCAA no.

BigCat Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 944786)
Close, but not specifically correct.
There is TC under NFHS rules during a throw-in. So when A2 touches the ball, it now has frontcourt status and there is TC by team A.

The real reason that this is not a violation is that certain violations can only occur after PLAYER control is established INBOUNDS. A backcourt violation is one of those. 3-second and 10-second violations are two others.


There is team control during a throwin however, the throw in ended when the ball was touched by A2. The rule says however that team control continues until the ball is secured. the rule was created ONLY to avoid shooting free throws when the throw in team fouls (other than intentional/flagrant) before the ball is secured after a throw in.

I recommend you keep team control during throwin etc completely separate from team control IN bounds. Just remember, after you hand the ball to the thrower in, any foul, other than intentional or flagrant, committed by the throw in team before the ball is secured will result in ball out of bounds, no free throws.
once the ball is secured, you have player and team control and now it is time to think about other violations as mentioned by Nevada. this is nfhs.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 26, 2014 06:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 944821)
There is team control during a throwin however, the throw in ended when the ball was touched by A2. The rule says however that team control continues until the ball is secured.

BC and I are basically saying the same thing. I should have written that TC begins once the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower instead of saying there is TC during a throw-in. That would have made it clear that while an inbounds touch or deflection ends the throw-in, it doesn't end TC.

The rest of what I wrote is from the NFHS POE #4 on page 70 of this season's rules book. The NFHS tells us that the guiding principle is that until PC is obtained inbounds certain violations aren't applicable and the TC status only matters for fouls.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1