![]() |
Jump Ball Violation
A1 and B1 jumpers...B1 violates by catching jump ball.. throw in awarded to A and coach states that Team A should get the AP arrow too.
6.4.1 E...Team A gain possession establishes arrow..so Team B gets arrow. Right application of rule? P.S. Coach is also a local basketball offical..I hope that she did not know the rule versus trying to bait me into a mistake on purpose by knowing the rule:confused: |
You got it right.
|
Quote:
|
Double Jeopardy ???
Quote:
Quote:
Now stand back, and watch the Forum "light up with this next statement. If the timekeeper starts the game clock in error, then reset the game clock to 8:00. And, get ready for it, ... boom goes the dynamite. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Legally Touched ...
Quote:
6-3-7-C: Neither jumper shall: Catch the jump ball. I predicted that the dynamite would go boom. Anybody have any better citations? Anybody have any less "confusing" citations? |
From A Retired Thirty Plus Year Teacher ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
First Touch Violation ...
Quote:
However, if the first touch is an illegal catch, and if the clock did mistakenly run down to 7:59, then the game clock should reset to 8:00. After all, the umpire (or nontossing official) should have never dropped their hand to chop in time, the hand should have remained up due to the first touch (catch) signaling the violation. |
BillyMac Nye The Science Guy ...
Quote:
Find Cool, Red Stars in the Night Sky This Thanksgiving Or, teaching my students that the symbol for Argon is Ar, and the symbol for Arsenic is As, and that these are often confused by students. So remember that Arsenic is one of the few common elements that gets its symbol from the first, and third letter, of its name, it's more of an exception than the rule. |
Quote:
|
Boom Goes The Dynamite ...
Quote:
How about touching the ball on the way up? Reset 7:59 to 8:00? |
A1 makes a throw-in pass to A2 from a spot on the sideline. The pass is on the outside of the imaginary boundary plane as it travels down the court parallel to the sideline. A2 catches the ball with his feet inbounds, but his arms extended over the out of bounds area.
Do you start the clock or not? A3's throw-in pass is in the imaginary cylinder above the basket when B2 is the first player to touch it. Start the clock or not? |
Why The "Or" ...
Quote:
My interpretations, based on the rules: Start the clock in both situations. 5-9-4: If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower. I'm not quite sure why the NFHS states "touches, or is legally touched". To me, this seems like overkill, and it should be just "touches", or just "legally touches", based on the intent (I'm not even going to try to guess intent here) of the NFHS in this timing rule. "Touches" should take care of both legal, and illegal, touches, whereas, "legally touched" just takes care of legal touches. Why does the NFHS offer a choice here with the word "or"? If they wanted both legal, and illegal, touches to start the clock then they should have just gone with just he word "touches". If they wanted only legal touches to start the clock then they should have gone with just "legally touched". Again, why the choice? Why the "or? That being said, let's go back to jump balls, where the rules specifically state "legally touched", and only "legally touched". To paraphrase my ninth grade Geometry teacher, Mr. Fiore, "if, and only if, legally touched". No if, ands, or buts; ors, nors, or fors. 5-9-2: If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched. Your move. |
Quote:
|
Illegal Throwin
Quote:
Dueling rules: 5-8-1-C:Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official: Signals: A violation. 5-9-4: If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower. I would actually prefer that 5-9-4 have the words, "touches, or" deleted, so that it reads, "If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball is legally touched by a player on the court after it is released by the thrower". The we could treat the throwin violations (as discussed above) the same as the jumpball violations (as discussed above) and reset the clock back to the original time if it was started in error. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
this provision we are talking about says start the clock when the ball touches or is legally touched by a player on the COURT. i take this to mean that the clock should start when the ball hits a player, inbounds or out of bounds, or when a player goes after and touches the ball, inbounds or out of bounds, legally. we know touching the ball while standing with foot on line, out of bounds, is a violation. so if a violation could not be considered a legal touching it would not say this. i think technically, the clock is supposed to start when contact with ball is made by a player unless he kicks it or fists it. i dont think other violations equal an illegal touch... in the real world if you are T at half court and the ball is thrown at basket you might chop time moment ball is touched, your partner at C then may realize that is BI and blow his whistle. if a second ran off the clock i dont think you put it back on. on the other hand, if you see and recognize immediatey that the touch is BI and dont chop time then clock shouldnt start. you did not signal so if timer did take it off i think you could put it back on. i think ultimately your arm is in charge...if you chop, clock should run, if you dont, it shouldnt... but as i think a bit longer, i see why billy says they want you to always chop and then call violation. if you dont you could have a score with no time running off the clock... my thoughts.. |
Stupid NFHS Start The Clock On A Throwin Violation Rule ...
Quote:
One thing that I do know, is that if the first touch on a jump ball is an illegal touch (catch, or on the way up), and if the clock mistakenly starts, then I'm setting it back to the original time. |
Quote:
So? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Either way true ruling on this eventually comes down, the NFHS needs to issue a clear directive on these timing matters. The committee did that recently with a throw-in being kicked (It said, "don't start the clock."), but it did not address other scenarios in which a violation occurs when the clock is supposed to start, by rule, such as A2 catching the throw-in pass while standing on a boundary line or BI during a throw-in. The NFHS could have addressed these situaions, but didn't. So does that tell us the "no time off" ruling only applies to a kick/fist being the initial touch? A solid argument can be made in support of that, but I can't say definitively that that is what the NFHS desires. Btw BillyMac and I were part an extensive thread on this topic a couple of seasons ago. Since nothing new has been published by the NFHS there isn't any reason to revisit this now, other than to entertain a few new forum members. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
That's Entertainment! (1974) ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
LEGAL? |
Quote:
Quote:
Was B1's touch legal? No. |
Quote:
This play happened in a game last night and I did not call a violation and Coach was on me..:rolleyes: |
Quote:
Quote:
Does it? Answer that, and you'll have your answer. |
Quote:
Learned something new:confused: |
Jump Ball Restrictions End ...
Quote:
ball contacts one of the eight nonjumpers, an official, the floor, a basket or backboard. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23am. |