The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Alley Oop & Rim Grab (video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98676-alley-oop-rim-grab-video.html)

JRutledge Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:13am

Alley Oop & Rim Grab (video)
 
Legal rim grab?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/TQ39Ng_VZAo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

PG_Ref Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:36am

From the angle shown, it appears as though the ring was grabbed with the right hand before the ball arrived. I can see a "T".

reffish Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:36am

No, technical on player for hanging on rim to gain an advantage.

Raymond Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:08am

Technically we could have a technical for hanging on the rim to gain an advantage once he made a play on the ball. But I'm fine with the no-call.

BryanV21 Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:18am

If the fact he grabbed the rim had any bearing on what happened during or afterwards, then I'd be on the side of t-ing him up. But since nothing happened I'm cool with a no-call.

Camron Rust Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:49am

He didn't grab the rim for safety, IMO. It was close, however. I think he grabbed it for an advantage. This could be called a T but it is close.

AremRed Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:07pm

Not for safety. Technical.

Sharpshooternes Fri Nov 21, 2014 01:12pm

I think we can all agree this is not BI or GT as the coach wants.

BryanV21 Fri Nov 21, 2014 01:15pm

I'm surprised nobody pointed out the error of my ways...

I shouldn't "no-call" it because of the lack of advantage or effect on the play, as I don't believe the rule takes either into account. The player grabbed the rim illegally, and should be t'd up for it.

If a player on the other team grabbed the rim illegally, but for a bit longer, and got t'd up I could have a bad situation on my hands. Where the coach could get upset because I let a player on the other team get away with it, and an explanation of "well you're guy grabbed it longer" will not fly at all.

I tech should be called.

BigCat Fri Nov 21, 2014 02:03pm

i think it is close just because that other player is backing in. i can't tell how close he actually got. I'm ok with a T and be ok without one.

let me ask you this… suppose the player is close, say under him. he grabs the rim with right hand because of that and holds on. the pass is wide left so he catches ball with his left hand. defense still under him. flips it with his left hand up toward basket and before ball enters cylinder lets go of the rim. ball goes in.

what are you going to do? assume there's a danger still because player is present under him. does the offensive player have to stop competing while he is holding the rim to prevent possible injury…

just another ref Fri Nov 21, 2014 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 944346)
what are you going to do? assume there's a danger still because player is present under him. does the offensive player have to stop competing while he is holding the rim to prevent possible injury…

Grabbing the rim to gain an advantage is the T. Did he gain an advantage?

Adam Fri Nov 21, 2014 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 944349)
Grabbing the rim to gain an advantage is the T. Did he gain an advantage?

Is an actual advantage required to be in violation of the rule?

BigCat Fri Nov 21, 2014 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 944349)
Grabbing the rim to gain an advantage is the T. Did he gain an advantage?

He didn't "grab it to gain an advantage." he grabbed it to "prevent injury." :) while grabbing to prevent injury he also caught a pass…
with one hand. I'm not sure that's an advantage…better using two hands and have better balance etc…

the play i describe is extreme but the play in the video made me think…(which is always dangerous.).. what if the player kept going under him and hit his legs, he grabs rim for safety and the ball is right there. just like it was in the video. he grabs it, the ball out of reflex etc. are you going to whack him for it...

Camron Rust Fri Nov 21, 2014 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 944352)
Is an actual advantage required to be in violation of the rule?

No. It is the attempt to gain and advantage that is the infraction.

BigCat Fri Nov 21, 2014 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 944352)
Is an actual advantage required to be in violation of the rule?

one part of the rule says may not "grasp" or grab basket. except to prevent injury. just below another section says you can't place a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.

JRutledge Fri Nov 21, 2014 03:24pm

I think you could make a case that he is grabbing the rim not to go flying and get hurt. But if he tries to grab the ball and grabbing the rim at the same time, you could make a case this is a T. The question I have is does he really even make a play on the ball. He might have tried to do just that, but I would not likely make this call without some clear evidence he actually made a play on the ball.

Peace

Raymond Fri Nov 21, 2014 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 944361)
I think you could make a case that he is grabbing the rim not to go flying and get hurt. But if he tries to grab the ball and grabbing the rim at the same time, you could make a case this is a T. The question I have is does he really even make a play on the ball. He might have tried to do just that, but I would not likely make this call without some clear evidence he actually made a play on the ball.

Peace

Plus, sometimes no whistle and continued action is not the worst result.

JRutledge Fri Nov 21, 2014 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 944366)
Plus, sometimes no whistle and continued action is not the worst result.

Agreed.

I know I had two of these plays take place last year where the ball was grabbed as well and I called a T in both cases. This looks more like a "miss" attempt and there was a player under him on some level.

Peace

BryanV21 Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:09pm

While a tech on that player may not be in play, what about a tech on the team or coach for taking advantage of the situation?

JRutledge Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 944401)
While a tech on that player may not be in play, what about a tech on the team or coach for taking advantage of the situation?

You either are going to call a T on the play or not do anything. You cannot just call a T because of what is coached.

Peace

Raymond Sat Nov 22, 2014 12:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 944401)
While a tech on that player may not be in play, what about a tech on the team or coach for taking advantage of the situation?

how so, what did he do?

RefCT Sat Nov 22, 2014 08:35am

Which official?
 
In 3-person, who would be responsible for making the T call in this video?

bob jenkins Sat Nov 22, 2014 09:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefCT (Post 944415)
In 3-person, who would be responsible for making the T call in this video?

Not L

AremRed Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefCT (Post 944415)
In 3-person, who would be responsible for making the T call in this video?

Trail or C, I'd like to see Trail get this one.

twocentsworth Sun Nov 23, 2014 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 944286)
Legal rim grab?

Nope....not close to being legal...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1