The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Uconn Stanford women's vid requestx3 (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98663-uconn-stanford-womens-vid-requestx3-video.html)

Sharpshooternes Tue Nov 18, 2014 05:32pm

Uconn Stanford women's vid requestx3 (Video)
 
First overtime starting at 1:25, discussion about leads positioning and the non foul call at 1:09. I think if she had rotated over and had a sense of urgency, she gets that call correct and then probably has a better angle for the subsequent OOB call.
Then after the OOB is reversed after monitor review, there is a five second call that in my opinion is pretty quick. Didn't time it but my count was about 4.5
I think there is a lot of good learning points in this sequence. Thanks in advance.

RefCT Tue Nov 18, 2014 05:56pm

+1
 
I'd be interesting in hearing the thoughts and seeing this replay too. I figured I used my request up for this game on the RA thread earlier. :D

In real-time, I though the UConn player was hit in the arm on her shot. During the relay for the OOB determination, I still thought she was hit in the arm. Hoping someone can post it to see if it really was the case or not.

APG Wed Nov 19, 2014 05:42am

Positioning/Rotation:

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/WCH2AskWJVQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Five Second:

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/58zVAGrMHq0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

SNIPERBBB Wed Nov 19, 2014 06:28am

Looks like an easy foul to get if the L was ball side.

Still cant figure out the OOB reverse without applying quantum physics. Just can't seem see that ball being touched by white.

5-second call, I get 5.2-5.4 seconds from when the player catches the ball till the whistle.

JetMetFan Wed Nov 19, 2014 06:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 944000)
First overtime starting at 1:25, discussion about leads positioning and the non foul call at 1:09. I think if she had rotated over and had a sense of urgency, she gets that call correct and then probably has a better angle for the subsequent OOB call.

Check the shot-clock. It was in single digits when the ball went opposite the L and settled. They probably discussed in their pregame that they wouldn't rotate when the shot-clock is under a certain number so she stayed.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 944000)
Then after the OOB is reversed after monitor review, there is a five second call that in my opinion is pretty quick. Didn't time it but my count was about 4.5
I think there is a lot of good learning points in this sequence. Thanks in advance.

Looks fine to me. Thrower has it at her disposal at 0:08 on the clip and still has it at 0:13.

AremRed Wed Nov 19, 2014 07:43am

Play 1: Lead should have rotated, but C could have got this foul if she stepped into the court to get the angle. Neither Lead nor C showed any sense of urgency on this play, they're kinda just lounging around. I don't really care about the missed OOB, Lead knew they were going to the monitor but had to point some direction. She's immediately signalling to review so it doesn't matter anyway.

Play 2: 5 second violation.

JetMetFan Wed Nov 19, 2014 09:55am

Just to add to the comments regarding the L rotating: The Women's CCA Manual says we should lock down when the game or shot-clock is near five seconds. There was no reason for her to go until there was about seven on the shot-clock and at that point it doesn't make sense to move.

JRutledge Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:07am

If that is the mechanic, it is not a good mechanic. She should have gotten over to the other side of the lane IMO, a lot long before that time frame.

And I think this might have been a foul. The angle was not great, but it would have been a better look for the Lead if they had rotated to the other side of the floor.

Peace

SWMOzebra Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:50am

JMF is right: we're not supposed to be rotating at the end of a shot clock sequence (5 sec or less). My comment would be that the L is working too wide to effectively officiate the paint. She's standing at or just outside the LDB line on the floor.

I know they want us working wider as L this year and it's something I'm struggling to adjust to ... but if she would have closed down or even pinched the paint a bit she may have been more inclined to put a whistle on this play, even if it was a late one.

Then again, maybe not. As I watch the replay, the shooter and defender are clearly on C's side of the lane ... it may be she's simply trusting her partner to work her primary.

bob jenkins Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SWMOzebra (Post 944082)
JMF is right: we're not supposed to be rotating at the end of a shot clock sequence (5 sec or less). My comment would be that the L is working too wide to effectively officiate the paint. She's standing at or just outside the LDB line on the floor.

I know they want us working wider as L this year and it's something I'm struggling to adjust to ... but if she would have closed down or even pinched the paint a bit she may have been more inclined to put a whistle on this play, even if it was a late one.

Then again, maybe not. As I watch the replay, the shooter and defender are clearly on C's side of the lane ... it may be she's simply trusting her partner to work her primary.

And, even if she rotates, she might not be looking up high enough to see the contact on the outside arm.

Sharpshooternes Wed Nov 19, 2014 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 944085)
And, even if she rotates, she might not be looking up high enough to see the contact on the outside arm.

On that particular play, and any play that has a shot like that we should be looking at feet for 2 or 3, then shift to point of contact which on these jump shots is going to be elbow to wrist, and then focus our attention to feet again to make sure the shooter has a spot to land.
I think if the lead is on the strong side on this play, that should be the only thing they should be looking at.

Sharpshooternes Wed Nov 19, 2014 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SWMOzebra (Post 944082)
JMF is right: we're not supposed to be rotating at the end of a shot clock sequence (5 sec or less). My comment would be that the L is working too wide to effectively officiate the paint. She's standing at or just outside the LDB line on the floor.

I know they want us working wider as L this year and it's something I'm struggling to adjust to ... but if she would have closed down or even pinched the paint a bit she may have been more inclined to put a whistle on this play, even if it was a late one.

Then again, maybe not. As I watch the replay, the shooter and defender are clearly on C's side of the lane ... it may be she's simply trusting her partner to work her primary.

What is the Men's mechanic for low shot clock rotations? I don't really like the mechanic. I think you need to get to the best spot for the best angle, regardless of the time on the clock. And actually in this case at this point of the game, you HAVE to get this call right. I think this was a game changer that got missed because they lost possession and instead should have been shooting two.

RefCT Wed Nov 19, 2014 05:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 944126)
What is the Men's mechanic for low shot clock rotations? I don't really like the mechanic. I think you need to get to the best spot for the best angle, regardless of the time on the clock. And actually in this case at this point of the game, you HAVE to get this call right. I think this was a game changer that got missed because they lost possession and instead should have been shooting two.

They didn't lose possession because of the no-call. The got the ball back for a throw-in after the video replay. They then lost possession after a 5 second count.

Granted, I agree that no-call and the charge call were big plays for Stanford. UConn didn't lose because of these 2 calls though.

JetMetFan Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:41pm

One thing I will say -- there was probably no reason for the L to be on that side of the court in the first place.

The sequence starts with a throw-in in front of UConn's bench with 1:31 remaining after a time-out, meaning the L would have been doubling the table side sideline with the T. The clip picks up with UConn #4 dribbling between the circles. During the entire sequence the ball never settles beyond the FT lane line extended opposite the table but the L began rotating literally two seconds after the ball came inbounds. If she held her position she's right in front of everything when the shot takes place.

biggravy Thu Nov 20, 2014 01:49am

If C would have had the illegal screen at 1:15 game time, 0:13 video time none of the rest would have mattered.

jeremy341a Thu Nov 20, 2014 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by biggravy (Post 944166)
If C would have had the illegal screen at 1:15 game time, 0:13 video time none of the rest would have mattered.

The only screen I see then is the one at the top of the key and there isn't any contact on that one. Is this the one you are referring too?

rockyroad Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by biggravy (Post 944166)
If C would have had the illegal screen at 1:15 game time, 0:13 video time none of the rest would have mattered.

What???

You want an illegal screen call on a play where there is no contact at all? The Stanford defender ran around the screen.

reffish Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:18am

The lead may or may not have put the crew in the best position for this play, however, the C is responsible for the call on the shot, it is her primary. She takes a step down when the player gathers the ball and turns away from the C to shoot. I believe she would have a more open look if she had stepped to her right.

LSCoach Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:20am

I think the screen being referenced happened before the screen you guys are talking about. The screen #23 set after passing the ball. Looks like she slides at the last minute to set it.

Sco53 Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LSCoach (Post 944179)
I think the screen being referenced happened before the screen you guys are talking about. The screen #23 set after passing the ball. Looks like she slides at the last minute to set it.

+1 illegal screen by #23

rockyroad Thu Nov 20, 2014 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LSCoach (Post 944179)
I think the screen being referenced happened before the screen you guys are talking about. The screen #23 set after passing the ball. Looks like she slides at the last minute to set it.

I can buy that...except it happened at 0:11 in the video and 1:18 on the game clock - which is not the screen that was pointed out.

Camron Rust Thu Nov 20, 2014 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 944195)
I can buy that...except it happened at 0:11 in the video and 1:18 on the game clock - which is not the screen that was pointed out.

I think he was just sloppy with noting the times. There were two illegal screens on this play...1:18 and again at 1:11. But the one at 1:15 was completely clean, no judgement needed.

Multiple Sports Thu Nov 20, 2014 06:41pm

No Way !!!!!
 
Go to any D1 try out camps ( men or women ) and call those plays illegal screens and you will have just made an official donation to that supervisor's beach house !!!!! Even if they are illegal ( and I don't think they are ) in neither case did they free up a jump shooter for an open J.......... I need something more than that for a game like that !!!!

Camron Rust Thu Nov 20, 2014 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 944229)
Go to any D1 try out camps ( men or women ) and call those plays illegal screens and you will have just made an official donation to that supervisor's beach house !!!!! Even if they are illegal ( and I don't think they are ) in neither case did they free up a jump shooter for an open J.......... I need something more than that for a game like that !!!!

Not sure what games you're watching. I see them get called often in D1 games. Not all the time, but enough.

I'd most likely pass on the one at 1:18. Is it illegal, technically, but one that could be left uncalled. However, the one at 1:11 is no where close to being legal. Even if it doesn't free up an immediate shot, it is illegal play that took the defender off the player she was guarding. The screener was running towards the screened player all the way to contact.

Now, the other part....being 1:11 left in overtime, if we've let screening similar to that go all game, that is not getting called.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 20, 2014 08:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 944229)
Go to any D1 try out camps ( men or women ) and call those plays illegal screens and you will have just made an official donation to that supervisor's beach house !!!!! Even if they are illegal ( and I don't think they are ) in neither case did they free up a jump shooter for an open J.......... I need something more than that for a game like that !!!!

Illegal screens are a big POE / topic in NCAAW this year. (I didn't re-watch the video to have an opinion on these specific items)

JetMetFan Fri Nov 21, 2014 05:01am

I'm with Camron: If any of them was going to be called it was going to be the one at 1:11. They've been getting on us the past two seasons about illegal screens when the dribbler hands off to a teammate and then keeps moving into the defender who'd been guarding that teammate.

I'm also with Camron in that if it hadn't been called all night, 1:11 left in OT probably wasn't a good time to start.

twocentsworth Sun Nov 23, 2014 10:48pm

In video play #1, the shooter was ABSOLUTELY fouled…looks like L and C were straight lined and the Trail (who had the best view) should have gotten this if he saw the play.

A retired NBA official-friend of mine calls this the "Moses" play. The Red Sea "parted" so that the T had the perfect/best look at the play…come and get that if you see it...

johnny d Mon Nov 24, 2014 01:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 944507)

A retired NBA official-friend of mine calls this the "Moses" play. The Red Sea "parted" so that the T had the perfect/best look at the play…come and get that if you see it...


Just what the world needs, another Ron Olesiak disciple.

BigCat Mon Nov 24, 2014 01:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 944507)
In video play #1, the shooter was ABSOLUTELY fouled…looks like L and C were straight lined and the Trail (who had the best view) should have gotten this if he saw the play.

A retired NBA official-friend of mine calls this the "Moses" play. The Red Sea "parted" so that the T had the perfect/best look at the play…come and get that if you see it...

I'd probably let Moses take it😕

AremRed Mon Nov 24, 2014 01:32am

Lead should be rotating here. Pregame should be don't rotate under 3 seconds not 5. A lot can happen in 5 seconds and Lead has to be over there to referee that play.

Camron Rust Mon Nov 24, 2014 03:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 944520)
Lead should be rotating here. Pregame should be don't rotate under 3 seconds not 5. A lot can happen in 5 seconds and Lead has to be over there to referee that play.

Regardless of what time is chosen for locking down there is going to be a time where the lead doesn't rotate and will be out of position to best cover the play.

Sharpshooternes Mon Nov 24, 2014 06:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 944525)
Regardless of what time is chosen for locking down there is going to be a time where the lead doesn't rotate and will be out of position to best cover the play.

Agree with your comment but really, really hate the mechanic.

bob jenkins Mon Nov 24, 2014 08:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 944520)
Lead should be rotating here. Pregame should be don't rotate under 3 seconds not 5. A lot can happen in 5 seconds and Lead has to be over there to referee that play.

From the NCAAW CCA manual: "When the game clock or shot clock is near five seconds, lock down ..."

AremRed Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 944525)
Regardless of what time is chosen for locking down there is going to be a time where the lead doesn't rotate and will be out of position to best cover the play.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 944536)
From the NCAAW CCA manual: "When the game clock or shot clock is near five seconds, lock down ..."

I get it. I don't like it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1