The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Goaltending during a FT (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98608-goaltending-during-ft.html)

bob jenkins Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:06pm

Goaltending during a FT
 
Its' goaltending (and a T) during a FT to touch the ball when it's outside the cylinder.

So, what if the ball is touched within the cylinder? What if a player reaches through the basket from below and contacts the ball outside the cylinder? By rule, these would seem to be BI, but then why would the penalty be less (no T)?

Sharpshooternes Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 943145)
Its' goaltending (and a T) during a FT to touch the ball when it's outside the cylinder.

So, what if the ball is touched within the cylinder? What if a player reaches through the basket from below and contacts the ball outside the cylinder? By rule, these would seem to be BI, but then why would the penalty be less (no T)?

My understanding was that if a player was going to goaltend on a FT it was going to be a blatant lane violation typically on purpose. That is why a t is warranted for the goal tend. The BI with a ball bouncing around during a FT would usually be normal play and not warrant a T.

BigCat Fri Nov 07, 2014 12:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 943148)
My understanding was that if a player was going to goaltend on a FT it was going to be a blatant lane violation typically on purpose. That is why a t is warranted for the goal tend. The BI with a ball bouncing around during a FT would usually be normal play and not warrant a T.

also and maybe more so because you are not allowed to try to block or even touch a free throw attempt. In college it is a T also to goaltend FT. They don't have to violate lane provisions to do it because they could leave on release. Same now High school. Like you said it is because if you do it it has to be on purpose and egregious. The player who does it is being an a__thx

Camron Rust Fri Nov 07, 2014 01:10am

BI can occur from just playing the rebound a bit too eagerly before the ball clears the rim. There is no reasonable excuse to accidentally GT a FT. Touching the ball through the basket while the ball is still outside the cylinder should probably be worthy of a T but that is so incredibly rare, far more so than the still rare GT on a FT, I guess it is OK if it falls under BI and only gets a violation.

BillyMac Fri Nov 07, 2014 06:59am

Unannounced ???
 
I'm not trying to hijack anything, but the mention of basket interference, and goaltending, in the same thread gives me an opportunity to bring up one of my major NFHS pet peeves:

If you have a situation where a player touches the ball during a field-goal try, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, while the ball is in the cylinder, and the ball has the possibility of entering the basket in flight, then, by strict interpretation of the written definition, the official can call either a goaltending violation, or a basket interference violation.

The definition of goaltending did contain the requirement of the ball having to be outside of the imaginary cylinder through the 2003-04 season. For some unknown reason the rule was edited, without comment, or announcement, for the 2004-05 season and that part of the definition was dropped.

2002-03 NFHS 4-22: Goaltending occurs when a player touches the ball during a field-goal try or tap while: a) the ball is in downward flight. b) the entire ball is above the level of the basket ring. c) the ball has the possibility of entering the basket in flight. d) the ball is not touching an imaginary cylinder which has the basket ring as its lower base.

2012-13 NFHS 4-22: Goaltending occurs when a player touches the ball during a field-goal try or tap while it is in its downward flight entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket in flight.

bob jenkins Fri Nov 07, 2014 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 943148)
The BI with a ball bouncing around during a FT would usually be normal play and not warrant a T.

I agree, once the ball has touched the rim. But, it's possible to BI before that, and, in my mind, should carry the same penalty as GT on a FT.

JRutledge Fri Nov 07, 2014 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 943167)
I agree, once the ball has touched the rim. But, it's possible to BI before that, and, in my mind, should carry the same penalty as GT on a FT.

I thinking BI is something that could easily happen and would be a hefty penalty for what is essentially a normal basketball play like any other type of shot. GT during a FT is not a normal basketball play.

Peace

JRutledge Fri Nov 07, 2014 09:59am

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/Qv2Jf97_q6c" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

For the record, this is what a GT during a FT looks like.

Peace

bob jenkins Fri Nov 07, 2014 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 943172)
I thinking BI is something that could easily happen and would be a hefty penalty for what is essentially a normal basketball play like any other type of shot. GT during a FT is not a normal basketball play.

Peace

The BI that I am talking about is NOT a normal basketball play -- it's just as egregious as the GT and should, imo, have the same penalty.

Once the ball hits the rim, then I agree -- any BI is now a normal play and the 1-point penalty is sufficient.

JRutledge Fri Nov 07, 2014 10:35am

I guess I see your point Bob, but it seems to me that would be very difficult and rare to do such a thing in the first place. The ball would have to bounce right and the player would have to be in the perfect position.

As discussed in "our" meeting last night, the actions that I showed in this video, the team was doing it as a strategic action. They felt GTing the ball was going to give them a shot to keep the clock stopped and just get the ball back. The coach did not know it was a T and instructed his player to block the ball. In your situation, so much would have to bounce the right way (pun intended) to accomplish that goal (pun intended).

Peace

Altor Fri Nov 07, 2014 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 943176)
The ball would have to bounce right and the player would have to be in the perfect position.
Peace

I think Bob is saying that if the ball is "in the cylinder", even if it had not yet hit, it would normally be BI not GT. There would be no bounce in this scenario.

As BillyMac points out for NFHS, though, you might have some rule backing to call it GT and assess the T.

JRutledge Fri Nov 07, 2014 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 943179)
I think Bob is saying that if the ball is "in the cylinder", even if it had not yet hit, it would normally be BI not GT. There would be no bounce in this scenario.

As BillyMac points out for NFHS, though, you might have some rule backing to call it GT and assess the T.

But BI does not mean hitting the ball necessarily. Not sure how you get the ball in the cylinder without GT on a FT which does not require usually 4 points to have GT during any other shot. But in a FT situation, you do not need those 4 things to apply. Once you touch the ball on a FT on the way to the basket, you get the heavier penalty. Maybe I am missing how that is really possible in most cases.

Peace

bob jenkins Fri Nov 07, 2014 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 943180)
Not sure how you get the ball in the cylinder without GT on a FT

The definition of "GT on a FT" specifically says "outside the cylinder."

In the video you provided, what if the contact had been made a foot later (or whatever -- I didn't watch it again)? The ball would have been in the cylinder.

JRutledge Fri Nov 07, 2014 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 943182)
The definition of "GT on a FT" specifically says "outside the cylinder."

In the video you provided, what if the contact had been made a foot later (or whatever -- I didn't watch it again)? The ball would have been in the cylinder.

I get you on this, but I do not think the rule's intent is to call BI if the ball already hit the rim or the backboard.

Peace

BigCat Fri Nov 07, 2014 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 943182)
The definition of "GT on a FT" specifically says "outside the cylinder."

In the video you provided, what if the contact had been made a foot later (or whatever -- I didn't watch it again)? The ball would have been in the cylinder.

Bob, under the rules as written it would not be a T. should be cause just as egregious but rule wording doesn't make that goaltending. GOALTENDING "occurs when player touches ball during FIELD GOAL TRY OT TAP while on downward flight above ring level….. Billy Mac points out with that definition a ball in the cylinder can now be BI or goaltending. But it is limited to field goal try or tap.

The goaltending definition relating to a free throw says it is goaltending if you touch the ball outside the cylinder. To have rule basis for the T it should say something like it is goaltending during a free throw if a player touches the ball before it hits the basket ring.

BillyMac Fri Nov 07, 2014 05:07pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 943185)
The goaltending definition relating to a free throw says it is goaltending if you touch the ball outside the cylinder.

4-22: Goaltending occurs when ... an opponent of the free thrower
touches the ball outside the cylinder during a free-throw attempt.

BigCat Fri Nov 07, 2014 07:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 943206)
4-22: Goaltending occurs when ... an opponent of the free thrower
touches the ball outside the cylinder during a free-throw attempt.

Yes opponent thx. And thx for cite

JetMetFan Fri Nov 07, 2014 10:11pm

Bob, I may be mixing metaphors here but consider another scenario: It's a violation for a throw-in to go directly into a team's basket. However if, on a throw-in, a player violates the BI rule it's still BI.

In other words, BI exists independently of many other things that can take place, including GT.

Rich1 Sat Nov 08, 2014 03:55pm

Whaaaaaaat???
 
A side bar for this video:

Why did the coach tell his player to goal tend? And, did he notknow this would be a flagrant/DQ situation? And, would any of you whack the coach for telling his pkayer to do it (making a mockery of the game)? I'm not sure if he was upset with the calls or if it was some lame strategy but I can't see any benefit at all for having a player do this.

BillyMac Sat Nov 08, 2014 04:06pm

It's The Definition Of Lame ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 943237)
A side bar for this video: Why did the coach tell his player to goal tend? ... lame strategy but I can't see any benefit at all for having a player do this.

Already answered:

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 943176)
As discussed in "our" meeting last night, the actions that I showed in this video, the team was doing it as a strategic action. They felt GTing the ball was going to give them a shot to keep the clock stopped and just get the ball back. The coach did not know it was a T and instructed his player to block the ball.

This coach certainly isn't the sharpest tool in the shed.

bob jenkins Sat Nov 08, 2014 06:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 943237)
And, did he notknow this would be a flagrant/DQ situation?

I sure hope he didn't know this, because it isn't.

Camron Rust Sat Nov 08, 2014 07:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 943237)
A side bar for this video:

Why did the coach tell his player to goal tend?

Because he thought he was clever and that the officials would just count the bucket and give them the ball for the throwin. He didn't want a miss and rebound since the clock would start and they needed time more than anything.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 943237)
And, did he notknow this would be a flagrant/DQ situation?

Nope. And as bob said, it is just a player T. It would only be a flagrant/dq if the player already had a T...and he didn't.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 943237)
And, would any of you whack the coach for telling his pkayer to do it (making a mockery of the game)?

Absolutely not. The T on the player is sufficient. No need to penalize stupid any more.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 943237)
I'm not sure if he was upset with the calls or if it was some lame strategy but I can't see any benefit at all for having a player do this.

He didn't know the rule. That's all.

JRutledge Sun Nov 09, 2014 02:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 943237)
A side bar for this video:

Why did the coach tell his player to goal tend? And, did he notknow this would be a flagrant/DQ situation? And, would any of you whack the coach for telling his pkayer to do it (making a mockery of the game)? I'm not sure if he was upset with the calls or if it was some lame strategy but I can't see any benefit at all for having a player do this.

The way I understand it, he thought that it would just be a point given and they would get the ball back on the end line. Obviously he did not know the rule or the ramifications.

And no, I would not whack the coach. They are already ignorant enough, why compound the issue?

I think all of this was known after the game when the coach revealed his strategy. Keep in mind this coach was fired soon after this season.

Peace

Sharpshooternes Sun Nov 09, 2014 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 943167)
I agree, once the ball has touched the rim. But, it's possible to BI before that, and, in my mind, should carry the same penalty as GT on a FT.

Can you describe a play that is BI before the ball touches the rim? I am having a hard time thinking of anything.

AremRed Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 943259)
Can you describe a play that is BI before the ball touches the rim? I am having a hard time thinking of anything.

Sure. Ball is shot by Player A1. As ball is coming down but before it contacts the rim Player B1 grabs the rim and pulls down. B1 releases the rim and it rebounds into the oncoming ball, knocking the ball away.

Camron Rust Mon Nov 10, 2014 03:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 943259)
Can you describe a play that is BI before the ball touches the rim? I am having a hard time thinking of anything.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 943260)
Sure. Ball is shot by Player A1. As ball is coming down but before it contacts the rim Player B1 grabs the rim and pulls down. B1 releases the rim and it rebounds into the oncoming ball, knocking the ball away.

Another....A1 shoots. Just before the ball enters the cylinder, B1 reaches through the basket from below and touches the ball blocking the shot. BI.

And another...A1 shoots. The ball is in the cylinder above the rim but has not yet the the rim. B1 touches the ball. Once it enters the cylinder, it is no longer goaltending but BI.

So, in the clip above, the coach/player could have achieved their desired goal if they had waited until the ball entered the cylinder or blocked the FT by reaching through the basket from below. The basket would have been awarded and there would be no T since only GT is penalized with a T on a FT.

BillyMac Mon Nov 10, 2014 07:21am

Six Of One, Half Dozen Of The Other ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 943259)
Can you describe a play that is BI before the ball touches the rim?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 943261)
And another...A1 shoots. The ball is in the cylinder above the rim but has not yet the the rim. B1 touches the ball. Once it enters the cylinder, it is no longer goaltending but BI.

Says who? Certainly not the NFHS.

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post943164

BigCat Mon Nov 10, 2014 07:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 943264)

Nfhs says during a free throw it is goaltending if it is touched Outside the cylinder....

The other portion of the definition says during a field goal try or tap....
By NFHS definitions, on a free throw, if you wait until the ball is in the cylinder and then touch it before it hits the rim it is BI. A gap in rule. They really should just say if you touch the ball before it hits the rim its a technical.....

BigCat Mon Nov 10, 2014 08:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 943265)
Nfhs says during a free throw it is goaltending if it is touched Outside the cylinder....

The other portion of the definition says during a field goal try or tap....
By NFHS definitions, on a free throw, if you wait until the ball is in the cylinder and then touch it before it hits the rim it is BI. A gap in rule. They really should just say if you touch the ball before it hits the rim its a technical.....

Never happened to me but if it does I'm calling goaltending and a T. Portion of ball likely outside cylinder.....or something like that. Also, could fall back on unsporting...

Bob, on the player jumping up and hitting the free throw through net etc I think you could also fall back on unsporting if it wasn't an accident...

bob jenkins Mon Nov 10, 2014 08:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 943261)
So, in the clip above, the coach/player could have achieved their desired goal if they had waited until the ball entered the cylinder or blocked the FT by reaching through the basket from below. The basket would have been awarded and there would be no T since only GT is penalized with a T on a FT.

Exactly my point. I do get that it would be a pretty rare occurrence.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 943266)
Never happened to me but if it does I'm calling goaltending and a T. Portion of ball likely outside cylinder.

You have the rule backwards. If any part is in the cylinder, the BI rules (not the GT rules) apply. I do understand that you could probably get away with it and / or fall back on the unsporting aspects

BigCat Mon Nov 10, 2014 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 943268)
Exactly my point. I do get that it would be a pretty rare occurrence.



You have the rule backwards. If any part is in the cylinder, the BI rules (not the GT rules) apply. I do understand that you could probably get away with it and / or fall back on the unsporting aspects

Yeah, flippant comment without concentrating….thinking its close enough to call T…thx for correction.

BillyMac Mon Nov 10, 2014 04:29pm

Didn't Have My Morning Beer Yet ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 943264)
Says who? Certainly not the NFHS.

Sorry Camron Rust. I forgot that it was a free throw.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 10, 2014 06:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 943266)
Never happened to me but if it does I'm calling goaltending and a T. Portion of ball likely outside cylinder.....or something like that. Also, could fall back on unsporting...

Bob, on the player jumping up and hitting the free throw through net etc I think you could also fall back on unsporting if it wasn't an accident...

My advice is to call it by the book. You put yourself in danger when you decide to make a call because of your personal opinion or feelings about a situation.

Your supervisor or assignor can always defend you if the call adheres to the rules book. That person has more difficulty backing you if the call hinges upon your opinion of unsporting behavior or the "unfairness" of an action.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1