The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   ncaa mens test (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98581-ncaa-mens-test.html)

AKOFL Sat Nov 01, 2014 11:27pm

ncaa mens test
 
question 5.
On A-1's throw-in from Team A's front court, A-2 catches the ball in the air and lands first with a foot in the front court followed by the other foot in the backcourt. Ruling- Legal play. they say false.
they site 9-13.10
Art. 10. After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his front court, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one or both feet in the back court. It makes no difference if the first foot down was in the front court or back court. what am i missing?

Camron Rust Sun Nov 02, 2014 01:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 942826)
question 5.
On A-1's throw-in from Team A's front court, A-2 catches the ball in the air and lands first with a foot in the front court followed by the other foot in the backcourt. Ruling- Legal play. they say false.
they site 9-13.10
Art. 10. After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his front court, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one or both feet in the back court. It makes no difference if the first foot down was in the front court or back court. what am i missing?

Nothing as far as I can tell. The highlighted part of the rule makes the play legal.

AKOFL Sun Nov 02, 2014 01:55am

who would one contact about such an issue? questions about the test?

johnny d Sun Nov 02, 2014 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 942829)
who would one contact about such an issue? questions about the test?


send adams or hyland an email. did you pass the test, if so, does it really make a difference?

AKOFL Mon Nov 03, 2014 12:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 942837)
send adams or hyland an email. did you pass the test, if so, does it really make a difference?

thought they might want to know they had a mistake on their test.

johnny d Mon Nov 03, 2014 12:36pm

that is why I gave you the names of the people to email before I made a flippant comment.

AKOFL Mon Nov 03, 2014 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 942895)
that is why I gave you the names of the people to email before I made a flippant comment.

everyone is a comedian:D

Raymond Tue Nov 04, 2014 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 942837)
send adams or hyland an email. did you pass the test, if so, does it really make a difference?

I just did...in addition to the OP's question, there was also another incorrect answer on the test.

A-1 is in the act of shooting when A-2 fouls B-2 before A-1's shot is released. The shot is successful. Ruling- Do not count the goal and award B-2 the appropriate free throws if Team B is in the bonus. Otherwise, award the ball to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.

a. True
b. False (my answer)
Explanation
6-5.1.f, 10-1 Penalty a.

The underlined portions make this answer FALSE, my answer was marked as incorrect.

Camron Rust Tue Nov 04, 2014 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 942967)
I just did...in addition to the OP's question, there was also another incorrect answer on the test.

A-1 is in the act of shooting when A-2 fouls B-2 before A-1's shot is released. The shot is successful. Ruling- Do not count the goal and award B-2 the appropriate free throws if Team B is in the bonus. Otherwise, award the ball to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.

a. True
b. False (my answer)
Explanation
6-5.1.f, 10-1 Penalty a.

The underlined portions make this answer FALSE, my answer was marked as incorrect.

Agree....until the shot is released it would be a team control foul.

johnny d Tue Nov 04, 2014 11:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 942967)
I just did...in addition to the OP's question, there was also another incorrect answer on the test.

A-1 is in the act of shooting when A-2 fouls B-2 before A-1's shot is released. The shot is successful. Ruling- Do not count the goal and award B-2 the appropriate free throws if Team B is in the bonus. Otherwise, award the ball to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.

a. True
b. False (my answer)
Explanation
6-5.1.f, 10-1 Penalty a.

The underlined portions make this answer FALSE, my answer was marked as incorrect.


I would be interested in their response, when and if they do respond.

Raymond Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:32am

Response per Arbiter:

1. On A-1's throw-in from Team A's front court, A-2 catches the ball in the air and lands first with a foot in the front court followed by the other foot in the backcourt. Ruling: Legal play.
The correct answer is TRUE. Rule 9-13.10.

2. A-1 is in the act of shooting when A-2 fouls B-2 before A-1's shot is released. The shot is successful. Ruling: Do not count the goal and award B-2 the appropriate free throws if Team B is in the bonus. Otherwise, award the ball to Team Bat a designated spot nearest to where the foul occurred.
The correct answer is FALSE. Rule 6-5.1.f, 10-1 Penalty a.

3. After being verbally abused by a fan along the sideline, A-1 leaves the court to confront the fan and verbally abuses the fan. Ruling- Since there was no physical contact with the fan by A-1, the officials should assess A-1 with a Class A unsporting technical foul. Ruling: The correct answer is that a flagrant technical foul should be assessed. However, since flagrant technical fouls are also listed under Class A Unsporting Technical Infractions in Rule 10-3, both TRUE and FALSE answers will be considered correct.

4. On a designated spot throw-in, the thrower-in must always keep at least one foot on or over the designated spot. T-F
The correct answer is FALSE. Once the ball is released by the thrower-in and crosses the plane of the sideline/end line, the designated spot restrictions are no longer in effect even though the throw-in may not have ended. Rule 7-6.8.c & .d.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1