The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Dog (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98526-dog.html)

The_Rookie Sat Oct 18, 2014 01:16pm

Dog
 
DOG and Technical Foul

B1 commits plane violation on throw in in Q1 and DOG recorded in book.

a) In Q3 B2 commits plane violation on throw in.

b) In Q4 B3 slaps ball away after a goal.

Ruling: Team Tech. to Team B.

Question: Why would the T not be charged against B2 or B3 who committed the act?

Freddy Sat Oct 18, 2014 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 941840)
DOG and Technical Foul

B1 commits plane violation on throw in in Q1 and DOG recorded in book.
a) In Q3 B2 commits plane violation on throw in.
b) In Q4 B3 slaps ball away after a goal.
Ruling: Team Tech. to Team B.
Question: Why would the T not be charged against B2 or B3 who committed the act?

#1 I assume you agree that it's a T for both occurrence a) and b), right?
#2 Because the book says it's a team T.
#3 Have wondered the same thing. Why not a player T?

Camron Rust Sat Oct 18, 2014 01:31pm

It is not a player T because it is usually not a sequence committed solely by that player. It took a prior act by a teammate to get to the situation where the 2nd infraction is penalized with the T. It wouldn't be fair for a player to get an individual T just because they were the 2nd one to cause a delay.

Additionally, delays don't rise to the level of most other things that draw an individual T. Should a player be subject to a DQ that may carry an extra game suspension in many states by getting a T for a DOG along with another one?

EDIT: Since all of the delays are lumped together, it would be possible to have a delay by multiple players in some cases (FT huddle). Who would get the T?

SNIPERBBB Sun Oct 19, 2014 11:55am

Wasn't there a case play a few years ago where a deliberate knock away was a direct to player T regardless of previous warning or lack thereof.

APG Sun Oct 19, 2014 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 941883)
Wasn't there a case play a few years ago where a deliberate knock away was a direct to player T regardless of previous warning or lack thereof.

Are you thinking of the situation where the clock is running with the clock under 5 seconds left in the game and Team B knocks the ball away in order to get a DOG to stop the clock?

Camron Rust Sun Oct 19, 2014 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 941883)
Wasn't there a case play a few years ago where a deliberate knock away was a direct to player T regardless of previous warning or lack thereof.

The rule still exists...

Quote:

10-3-5a:
PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:
Delay the game by acts such as:
a. Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play.
This could be interpreted to be fairly broad. I'd say that if the player knocks the ball into the 12th row, that would qualify as opposed to knocking it a few feet as in a typical delay of game situation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1