The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Spot Throw-in or run the endline? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98489-spot-throw-run-endline.html)

Rob1968 Wed Oct 08, 2014 09:25am

Spot Throw-in or run the endline?
 
The following was asked by an official, last night, at a training session - HS JV/V games:

Team A is in the bonus, team B is not.
A1 is at the line to shoot a 1 and 1. The first shot is successful, and during attempted rebounding action, a foul is called on A2.
The lane is cleared, and A1 shoots the second freethrow. If it is successful, will the throw-in by team B be a spot throw-in, or may they run the endline?

bob jenkins Wed Oct 08, 2014 09:32am

Run.

See 7.5.7B (it's kind of the "opposite" play so apply the "opposite" ruling).

See 8.6.3A

Maybe some others

BryanV21 Wed Oct 08, 2014 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 941302)
The following was asked by an official, last night, at a training session - HS JV/V games:

Team A is in the bonus, team B is not.
A1 is at the line to shoot a 1 and 1. The first shot is successful, and during attempted rebounding action, a foul is called on A2.
The lane is cleared, and A1 shoots the second freethrow. If it is successful, will the throw-in by team B be a spot throw-in, or may they run the endline?

My first question would be... is the foul during the successful free throw count? My initial thought is that the foul is ignored, unless it is flagrant. Therefore the rest of the scenario doesn't matter.

However, if the foul is not ignored, and the result carried out as you explain, then I'd say "no, the throw-in is in response to the foul, and therefore it is a spot throw-in."

Adam Wed Oct 08, 2014 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 941304)
My first question would be... is the foul during the successful free throw count? My initial thought is that the foul is ignored, unless it is flagrant. Therefore the rest of the scenario doesn't matter.

However, if the foul is not ignored, and the result carried out as you explain, then I'd say "no, the throw-in is in response to the foul, and therefore it is a spot throw-in."

Now that bob has answered the initial question, I have to ask:

Why would it be ignored? Is the ball dead during a free throw?

BryanV21 Wed Oct 08, 2014 09:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 941305)
Now that bob has answered the initial question, I have to ask:

Why would it be ignored? Is the ball dead during a free throw?

No. I guess the old rule on when players can enter the lane has me confused, because up until the change the free throw would have been made before there was even a chance for a foul. This year though, since players can enter upon the release, fouls can certainly happen before the ball goes into the basket.

As you pointed out, the ball is live, so the foul counts.

So what about the 2nd part, then? Is Team B's ability to run the baseline contingent on whether the second free throw is successful? Because if Team B is given the throw-in due to the foul, then that should be a spot throw-in.

Adam Wed Oct 08, 2014 09:48am

If A's FT is successful, B can run the endline (bob provided the references above).

BryanV21 Wed Oct 08, 2014 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 941309)
If A's FT is successful, B can run the endline (bob provided the references above).

I don't have the rule book in front of me. It's actually in the bathroom as I read it during my "breaks". I try to answer questions here from memory, which sometimes fails me.

Thanks for the answer.

j51969 Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 941303)
Run.

See 7.5.7B (it's kind of the "opposite" play so apply the "opposite" ruling).

See 8.6.3A

Maybe some others

It would be an interesting strategy to intentionally miss the last free throw knowing you have the arrow. Especially late in a game where possession was more important than the 1 point.

Camron Rust Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 941308)
No. I guess the old rule on when players can enter the lane has me confused, because up until the change the free throw would have been made before there was even a chance for a foul. This year though, since players can enter upon the release, fouls can certainly happen before the ball goes into the basket.

Fouls were possible before, just less likely. Players in adjacent spaces could have easily fouled each other without violating the FT provisions. Players not along the lane could have also fouled each other. Not being able to go into the lane under the old rule just reduced the probability of it happening.

Adam Wed Oct 08, 2014 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 941311)
I don't have the rule book in front of me. It's actually in the bathroom as I read it during my "breaks". I try to answer questions here from memory, which sometimes fails me.

Thanks for the answer.

Honestly, I've found that's a better way for me to learn. Answer from memory and then check to see if I'm right. I've also found, though, that I put myself at risk of getting answers wrong (less so now than I used to) when I do that, so it results in a few more posts to the effect of, "Yep, you're right, thanks."

We all learn differently.

BillyMac Wed Oct 08, 2014 05:47pm

Twist And Shout ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 941302)
Team A is in the bonus, team B is not. A1 is at the line to shoot a 1 and 1. The first shot is successful, and during attempted rebounding action, a foul is called on A2. The lane is cleared, and A1 shoots the second free throw. If it is successful, will the throw-in by team B be a spot throw-in, or may they run the endline?

This situation can be changed up a little. Maybe the foul on A2 was Team A's seventh foul of the half and now Team B is in the bonus. How do you like those potatoes?

Adam Wed Oct 08, 2014 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 941347)
This situation can be changed up a little. Maybe the foul on A2 was Team A's seventh foul of the half and now Team B is in the bonus. How do you like those potatoes?

That makes it easier, IMO.

Raymond Wed Oct 08, 2014 06:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 941348)
That makes it easier, IMO.

I agree. A lot less explaining to the coaches.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Oct 08, 2014 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by j51969 (Post 941319)
It would be an interesting strategy to intentionally miss the last free throw knowing you have the arrow. Especially late in a game where possession was more important than the 1 point.


Another reason to eliminate AP and return to Jump Balls put the ball back into play. Billy, are you reading this, :p.

MTD, Sr.

Raymond Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by j51969 (Post 941319)
It would be an interesting strategy to intentionally miss the last free throw knowing you have the arrow. Especially late in a game where possession was more important than the 1 point.

The ball is already in flight for this case play, so that would be kinda hard to do. ;)

But anyway, it is no different than any other time a double foul is called while a field goal is in flight.

Rob1968 Thu Oct 09, 2014 01:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 941303)
Run.

See 7.5.7B (it's kind of the "opposite" play so apply the "opposite" ruling).

See 8.6.3A

Maybe some others

Thanks, bob. My response to the official was the same. And I told the several officials present, that I'd check here to be sure.
And thanks for the discussion, to all who responded. The secondary scenario, with Team B being in the bonus, was also discussed, and is simpler to answer.
The pre-season tourney that we use for training is showing some good progress on the part of the newer officials involved, thanks to the involvement of some of our Board members as evaluators. It's always good to give back to an activity that has given us so much enjoyment over the years.

BillyMac Thu Oct 09, 2014 06:14am

Two Words ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 941355)
Billy, are you reading this ...

Yes. And, shut up.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Oct 09, 2014 08:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 941377)
Yes. And, shut up.



LOL!

MTD, Sr.

j51969 Thu Oct 09, 2014 09:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 941370)
The ball is already in flight for this case play, so that would be kinda hard to do. ;)

But anyway, it is no different than any other time a double foul is called while a field goal is in flight.

Maybe I am not getting the OP. What I was getting at was the foul happened on the front end of a 1-1. This was made and would clear the lane for the second try. Depending on whether it was made or missed would determine the resumption of play. If the offending team knew it had the arrow they could intentionally miss the second try and get the ball back. In a late game situation it could be more profitable to have the ball instead of the 1 point.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 09, 2014 09:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by j51969 (Post 941381)
Maybe I am not getting the OP. What I was getting at was the foul happened on the front end of a 1-1. This was made and would clear the lane for the second try. Depending on whether it was made or missed would determine the resumption of play. If the offending team knew it had the arrow they could intentionally miss the second try and get the ball back. In a late game situation it could be more profitable to have the ball instead of the 1 point.

I think you are misunderstanding the case play (8.6.3A) or the rule.

On a double foul, we go to POI. If the double foul happens before the FT, then the FT is the POI, and play continues with either a rebound (missed FT) or a throw-in by B (made FT). No advantage to missing on purpose.

If it happens after the FT is released, the if the FT is good, B gets the throw-in. We go to the arrow if the FT is missed, because we don't know who would get the rebound. So, for this tactic to work, A1 has to miss the FT AND A2 has to entice B2 into a double foul. The odds of that are small -- the team is better off with the FT (plus the opportunity to rebound if the FT is missed). I suppose if A1 was a 10% FT shooter, and B will get 90% of the rebounds, that it might be the better choice.

APG Thu Oct 09, 2014 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 941382)
If it happens after the FT is released, the if the FT is good, B gets the throw-in. We go to the arrow if the FT is missed, because we don't know who would get the rebound. So, for this tactic to work, A1 has to miss the FT AND A2 has to entice B2 into a double foul. The odds of that are small -- the team is better off with the FT (plus the opportunity to rebound if the FT is missed). I suppose if A1 was a 10% FT shooter, and B will get 90% of the rebounds, that it might be the better choice.

Agreed. There are so many factors in play that have to go perfectly (including the officials calling a double foul rather than penalizing the first action) that isn't not a viable tactic to even try.

Adam Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by j51969 (Post 941381)
Maybe I am not getting the OP. What I was getting at was the foul happened on the front end of a 1-1. This was made and would clear the lane for the second try. Depending on whether it was made or missed would determine the resumption of play. If the offending team knew it had the arrow they could intentionally miss the second try and get the ball back. In a late game situation it could be more profitable to have the ball instead of the 1 point.

B gets the ball either way, whether it's made or not simply determines whether B gets an endline throw in or a spot throw in.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1