The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 31, 2014, 02:59pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,693
FIBA World Championships

I watched the USA's game with Finland yesterday and I am know watching their game with Turkey right now.

AND, the officials' game shirts are UGGLAAY!

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 14, 2014, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
CAN Official Selected as CC for World Final

Congratulations to long-time CAN FIBA official Steve Seibel on being selected as the CC for today's Gold Medal final between SRB and USA. This is a tremendous and well deserved honour.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 14, 2014, 06:16pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,538
Anyone think that the USA bigs got some really cheap fouls to start the game? Davis, Cousins, and Faried all had 2-3 fouls in the first half.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 14, 2014, 09:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
No.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 19, 2014, 01:50am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonjoncanuck View Post
No.
Excellent analysis. Well let's go to the tape shall we?

Some of you may be able to browse to the plays here: ESPN3 -- Serbia vs. USA

Foul 1, Anthony Davis, 7:42 1st quarter -- Davis gets to the spot first, establishes his space and absorbs contact from Raduljica who is trying to post up. Raduljica initiates contact and even extends his forearm into Davis which draws the whistle. Not a foul at this level, defender has done nothing wrong. Additionally this foul comes from Lead who is quite far away (contact occurs on the FT line where Slot has best look).

Foul 2, Kenneth Faried, 6:44 1st quarter -- Faried is is defending Raduljica's post up from the side. Raduljica bumps Faried and slides right to open space. Faried slides with him and is whistled for a foul. Not a foul at this level.

Foul 3, Kenneth Faried, 9:33 2nd quarter -- Bircevic extends his arm into Faried's throat during rebounding action. Faried pushes his arm away. After the made 3 pointer Bircevic runs into Faried and pushes him off by extending his forearm, drawing a whistle for a double foul. Not a foul on Faried, either call first foul on Bircevic or second foul on Bircevic.

Foul 4, DeMarcus Cousins, 9:18 2nd quarter -- Cousins is defending Krstic. Krstic grabs Cousin's arms as he goes around a screen which makes it look like Cousins is holding him. Foul is called on Cousins.

Foul 5, Kenneth Faried, 6:26 2nd quarter -- Faried gets stuck underneath the basket and gets his shot blocked. As Raduljica tries to grab the ball Faried both have their hands on opposite sides of the ball. Faried pulls the ball towards him, causing Raduljica to reach behind his head for the ball, which causes Raduljica to stumble. Replay shows Faried made no contact with Raduljica. Lead called the play going away from him, slot had the best look at the play and passed.

Foul 6, Anthony Davis, 5:57 2nd quarter -- Davis is defending Teodosic on a pick and roll. Davis has legal guarding position, his arms are extended to the side but he does not touch Teodosic. Teodosic reaches out with his right arms and contacts Davis' arm, drawing the foul. Not a foul, even if Davis touched him it would be incidental considering it 1) would be Davis' third and 2) in the double bonus.

Three USA bigs (Davis, Faried, Cousins) picked up 8 combined fouls in the first half, six of which are questionable/not fouls.

Last edited by AremRed; Fri Sep 19, 2014 at 09:49am. Reason: spelling/clarity
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 19, 2014, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Excellent analysis. Well let's go to the tape shall we?

Some of you may be able to browse to the plays here: ESPN3 -- Serbia vs. USA

Foul 1, Anthony Davis, 7:42 1st quarter -- Davis gets to the spot first, establishes his space and absorbs contact from Raduljica who is trying to post up. Raduljica initiates contact and even extends his forearm into Davis which draws the whistle. Not a foul at this level, defender has done nothing wrong. Additionally this foul comes from Lead who is quite far away (contact occurs on the FT line where Slot has best look).

Foul 2, Kenneth Faried, 6:44 1st quarter -- Faried is is defending Raduljica's post up from the side. Raduljica bumps Faried and slides right to open space. Faried slides with him and is whistled for a foul. Not a foul at this level.

Foul 3, Kenneth Faried, 9:33 2nd quarter -- Bircevic extends his arm into Faried's throat during rebounding action. Faried pushes his arm away. After the made 3 pointer Bircevic runs into Faried and pushes him off by extending his forearm, drawing a whistle for a double foul. Not a foul on Faried, either call first foul on Bircevic or second foul on Bircevic.

Foul 4, DeMarcus Cousins, 9:18 2nd quarter -- Cousins is defending Krstic. Krstic grabs Cousin's arms as he goes around a screen which makes it look like Cousins is holding him. Foul is called on Cousins.

Foul 5, Kenneth Faried, 6:26 2nd quarter -- Faried gets stuck underneath the basket and gets his shot blocked. As Raduljica tries to grab the ball Faried both have their hands on opposite sides of the ball. Faried pulls the ball towards him, causing Raduljica to reach behind his head for the ball, which causes Raduljica to stumble. Replay shows Faried made no contact with Raduljica. Lead called the play going away from him, slot had the best look at the play and passed.

Foul 6, Anthony Davis, 5:57 2nd quarter -- Davis is defending Teodosic on a pick and roll. Davis has legal guarding position, his arms are extended to the side but he does not touch Teodosic. Teodosic reaches out with his right arms and contacts Davis' arm, drawing the foul. Not a foul, even if Davis touched him it would be incidental considering it 1) would be Davis' third and 2) in the double bonus.

Three USA bigs (Davis, Faried, Cousins) picked up 8 combined fouls in the first half, six of which are questionable/not fouls.
#1 Not a lot there. Called from a bad spot definitely not seeing a lot there.

#2 Not an aggressive foul but not a technically incorrect call. Based on this an other calls the officials seem sensitive to contact between players and it not getting excessive. Maybe ticky tack to the fans and coach but not an incorrect call.

#3 Rough play by both. No idea what is caught and what isn't by officials but eventually clean it up with double foul. Most purist would prefer you just get the first right foul but this is pretty standard way used to resolve this series/type of actions by officials.

#4 Kicked call? though its hard to tell what Cousins reponse or involvement is once the hold is intitated by someone else.

#5 Official called what he thought he saw from a bad spot. Replay shows us its wrong, officials in game don't get replay.

#6 Davis can't occupy space with his arms. Defining incidental has nothign to with how many fouls that player has. THere is no double bonus in FIBA, always two shots.

Officials were clearly sensitive to any rough play between bigs and were calling it tight. I've got 2/3 of the 8 being missed or tough calls.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 19, 2014, 01:23pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
even if Davis touched him it would be incidental considering it 1) would be Davis' third and 2) in the double bonus.
Decent analysis, completely invalidated by this fanboyesque comment.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 19, 2014, 02:28pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams View Post
...

#5 Official called what he thought he saw from a bad spot. Replay shows us its wrong, officials in game don't get replay.

...
That explanation to me = kicked called
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 19, 2014, 03:49pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Decent analysis, completely invalidated by this fanboyesque comment.
Perhaps, but not entirely inaccurate. Modern game management tells us to be aware of both a players fouls (especially bigs) and the game situation (time, score, bonus, etc.) in order to avoid calling cheap touch fouls, which this was.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Third World Play to end all Third World Plays lawump Baseball 2 Wed Oct 06, 2010 03:29pm
FIBA World Championships Jay R Basketball 21 Wed Aug 23, 2006 08:23am
Fiba world champs- Japan NICK Basketball 4 Thu Jul 27, 2006 05:08pm
World Junior Championships ref18 Hockey 3 Tue Jan 06, 2004 01:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1