![]() |
High School Fight (Video)
<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/tvirj0ZcAho" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Talk about coverage...should the trail have been able to pick up the players after the pass? Should the C have been able to catch the players squaring off after the turnover? How would you rule if you caught the action early...or midway through? Anything else to discuss in the play above? |
Quote:
The C should have stayed with the players in his area after the ball was passed. B1 jumps to defend the pass and lands on A1, the players square off, B1 shoves A1, then the players throw punches. Yeah, the C should have been able to the catch the players squaring off, but he was more interested in the basketball. The Lead possibly could have had an accelerated rotation, but I don't think that would have made a difference as to what the C was looking at. |
Quote:
Seeing the whole play on video, I have a double technical foul for the stare down/shove to the chest. Once the two start bobing and weaving that close together, it's a fighting situation and a flagrant double technical. Other things to consider, green had at least 5 players leave the bench. The officials seem to be content to usher them back to the bench without any penalty. Maybe they do penalize, but it didn't look like they had any interest in recording the numbers of the players. If I'm the furthest away official, I'm noting numbers and having the scorer jot them down for me. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Interesting how the first whistle comes at nearly :14, and it takes the new Lead (who is wearing some spiffy white accented shoes) until :27 to cross half court. |
The trail's got too much white on his shoes. :cool:
|
Quote:
*Yes. That was the T's nearest competitive match-up. I know it's not in his primary any more but it was going into a danger area. He could have helped the situation along by getting into the frontcourt faster. Given that 7 players were on the C's side of the court at the time the ball was caught in the frontcourt a quick rotation forced by the C was in order...but that couldn't happen with the T lagging behind. *YES!!! They managed to square off, shove each other and throw three punches before he blew his whistle and the players were no more than 10 feet away from him. Lots of luck explaining that one to your supervisor/assignor. *I can't tell if there was contact by the defender on the pass out of the double team. If there was I think the offensive player got hit in the head. If that's the case a whistle there might stop the madness before it starts. The initial shove by the green player is at least an intentional and if the kid in white says anything that's a T. Anything after that is double flagrant personals or technicals and they can go have a seat. *Other stuff: Once the cluster begins the new L needs to get to the division line to keep an eye on the benches. Getting there and yelling, "STAY WHERE YOU ARE!" might save some of the bench personnel but anyone who gets a foot on that playing court is done. |
One other thing...
Check the clock. They were 2½ minutes into the 2nd quarter and both teams were in the bonus. They obviously didn't spend the first 10½ minutes of the game avoiding contact with each other. |
This is on the C
I'm sorry, but those who are saying the T should be staying with this play are off base, IMO. First, the L closed down, would've come across had the entry pass been caught cleanly, but it wasn't. Forced the C to be overloaded. However, I don't know how he doesn't 'look globally' in this situation and see these two in his field of vision.
No question the new L should've gotten back into the frame sooner...this is just an ugly situation--but the C needed to see this sooner. |
Quote:
As for the C, I wonder why he hung back well after the whistle was blown. I've certainly had my "I can't believe I'm seeing that" pauses, but the new T isn't the only one that should be stepping in, especially with the C so much closer. One thing for sure. The way those girls were posturing with "dukes up" form, they've certain done this before! |
Quote:
This was a pressure situation in the midcourt area (note to Billy & MTDS...yes, I remember what the midcourt area is :)). At any rate, the C is supposed to force that rotation but he can only do it if all three officials are in the frontcourt. If the T had gotten into the frontcourt sooner, the C could have moved towards the division line - or the T could have moved into the C position on his side - to bring the L across the lane. |
Quote:
|
I am wondering if the T (out of the picture) is not helping keep the bench players on the left on the bench?
Peace |
Quote:
Who goes up with a closed fist after seeing this happen right in front on you? |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
field of vision
Quote:
I do think the new L was keeping the home bench at bay before coming into the frame...probably a little late to the party, but let's not put too much heat on him. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14pm. |