![]() |
kick ball or nothing?
Ball gets thrown from the frontcourt to the backcourt by the offense. As far as I could tell no one on the defense touched it, and the offensive player knowing that it was gonna be backcourt, just stopped the ball with his foot. Put his foot on top of the ball like he was playing soccer. Then, everyone waited for the whistle that never came. The ref signaled a "tip", and the player picked the ball up and dribbled back up court. I had a pretty good angle and I'm pretty sure it should have been a backcourt violation. But, even if it's not a backcourt violation, it's at least a kick ball, right? Or, is merely touching the ball with your foot to stop it legal?
|
Quote:
|
100% correct, coach.
Deliberately playing the ball with the leg is a kicking violation. |
Kick ball. Additionally, if there was a tip signal to be given it should have happened long before the players foot got near the ball.
|
A simliar question on a kicked ball but not exactly as the original poster had it:
I was playing pickup ball with friends today and there was a low pass that got past me. It was rolling on the ground in such a way that there was no way I was going to be able to save it with my hands without diving. We were playing outdoors and no way I'm diving on concrete! :) HOWEVER, I was able to outrun the ball a couple of steps before it got to the sideline. I never extended my leg or anything but just let the ball bounce off my leg and then I picked it up. My friends were saying it was illegal. I'm a official and know the "intent" rule. So theoretically, my friends were right. But conceptually, I let the ball bounce off my body. :) What do people think? Kicked ball or no kicked ball? |
Quote:
|
It's Not Footbol ...
Quote:
the ball with the foot or leg is not a violation. 4.29 SITUATION A: During A1's attempt to pass to A2, B1 (a) intentionally uses his/her thigh to deflect the pass; (b) intentionally kicks the ball with his/her foot; or (c) has the ball accidentally hit his/her lower leg. RULING: In (a) and (b), there is a kicking violation and Team A will receive the ball out of bounds nearest the violation. In (c), the ball remains live and there is no violation. (9-4) 4.29 SITUATION B: A1 has the ball for a throw-in. A1 rolls the ball to A2 who stops the ball by putting his/her foot on top of it, then bends over and picks up the ball. RULING: Kicking violation on A2 for intentionally striking the ball with his/her foot. (9-4) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I disagree. If his foot is on the floor and the ball rolls against it, that's not a kick. it makes no difference how long his foot has been there, as long as it's there before it's touched.
|
Your Witness ...
Quote:
If a player observes, in advance, that a rolling ball is about to strike his already on the floor leg, and said player doesn't move is leg out of the path of the ball, is that not intent to strike the ball with one's leg? Or is this a case of the ball striking a leg rather than a case of the leg striking the ball? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If the foot is in position before the ball is thrown, then it would be legal as the player throwing the ball threw it to the foot. |
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29am. |