The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   kick ball or nothing? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98030-kick-ball-nothing.html)

Coach Bill Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:05am

kick ball or nothing?
 
Ball gets thrown from the frontcourt to the backcourt by the offense. As far as I could tell no one on the defense touched it, and the offensive player knowing that it was gonna be backcourt, just stopped the ball with his foot. Put his foot on top of the ball like he was playing soccer. Then, everyone waited for the whistle that never came. The ref signaled a "tip", and the player picked the ball up and dribbled back up court. I had a pretty good angle and I'm pretty sure it should have been a backcourt violation. But, even if it's not a backcourt violation, it's at least a kick ball, right? Or, is merely touching the ball with your foot to stop it legal?

Camron Rust Sat Jun 07, 2014 01:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill (Post 935611)
Ball gets thrown from the frontcourt to the backcourt by the offense. As far as I could tell no one on the defense touched it, and the offensive player knowing that it was gonna be backcourt, just stopped the ball with his foot. Put his foot on top of the ball like he was playing soccer. Then, everyone waited for the whistle that never came. The ref signaled a "tip", and the player picked the ball up and dribbled back up court. I had a pretty good angle and I'm pretty sure it should have been a backcourt violation. But, even if it's not a backcourt violation, it's at least a kick ball, right? Or, is merely touching the ball with your foot to stop it legal?

Yes...that was a kick.

Nevadaref Sat Jun 07, 2014 02:11am

100% correct, coach.
Deliberately playing the ball with the leg is a kicking violation.

AremRed Sat Jun 07, 2014 06:12am

Kick ball. Additionally, if there was a tip signal to be given it should have happened long before the players foot got near the ball.

coach41 Sun Aug 24, 2014 01:22am

A simliar question on a kicked ball but not exactly as the original poster had it:

I was playing pickup ball with friends today and there was a low pass that got past me. It was rolling on the ground in such a way that there was no way I was going to be able to save it with my hands without diving. We were playing outdoors and no way I'm diving on concrete! :)

HOWEVER, I was able to outrun the ball a couple of steps before it got to the sideline. I never extended my leg or anything but just let the ball bounce off my leg and then I picked it up. My friends were saying it was illegal.

I'm a official and know the "intent" rule. So theoretically, my friends were right. But conceptually, I let the ball bounce off my body. :)

What do people think? Kicked ball or no kicked ball?

Camron Rust Sun Aug 24, 2014 04:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by coach41 (Post 939293)
A simliar question on a kicked ball but not exactly as the original poster had it:

I was playing pickup ball with friends today and there was a low pass that got past me. It was rolling on the ground in such a way that there was no way I was going to be able to save it with my hands without diving. We were playing outdoors and no way I'm diving on concrete! :)

HOWEVER, I was able to outrun the ball a couple of steps before it got to the sideline. I never extended my leg or anything but just let the ball bounce off my leg and then I picked it up. My friends were saying it was illegal.

I'm a official and know the "intent" rule. So theoretically, my friends were right. But conceptually, I let the ball bounce off my body. :)

What do people think? Kicked ball or no kicked ball?

Illegal. You deliberately put your foot in the path of the ball in order to play the ball. The fact that you got there before the ball is immaterial. If you had been there before the ball was thrown thar direction (or were on an established path) , you would be legal. It is all about intent.

BillyMac Sun Aug 24, 2014 05:39am

It's Not Footbol ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 939294)
It is all about intent.

9-4 Note: Kicking the ball is a violation only when it is an intentional act; accidentally striking
the ball with the foot or leg is not a violation.

4.29 SITUATION A: During A1's attempt to pass to A2, B1 (a) intentionally uses
his/her thigh to deflect the pass; (b) intentionally kicks the ball with his/her foot; or
(c) has the ball accidentally hit his/her lower leg. RULING: In (a) and (b), there
is a kicking violation and Team A will receive the ball out of bounds nearest the
violation. In (c), the ball remains live and there is no violation. (9-4)

4.29 SITUATION B: A1 has the ball for a throw-in. A1 rolls the ball to A2 who
stops the ball by putting his/her foot on top of it, then bends over and picks up
the ball. RULING: Kicking violation on A2 for intentionally striking the ball with
his/her foot. (9-4)

Kansas Ref Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by coach41 (Post 939293)
A simliar question on a kicked ball but not exactly as the original poster had it:

I was playing pickup ball with friends today and there was a low pass that got past me. It was rolling on the ground in such a way that there was no way I was going to be able to save it with my hands without diving. We were playing outdoors and no way I'm diving on concrete! :)

HOWEVER, I was able to outrun the ball a couple of steps before it got to the sideline. I never extended my leg or anything but just let the ball bounce off my leg and then I picked it up. My friends were saying it was illegal.

I'm a official and know the "intent" rule. So theoretically, my friends were right. But conceptually, I let the ball bounce off my body. :)

What do people think? Kicked ball or no kicked ball?

*C'mon on Coach#41...don't be disingenuous with us in here :)

JetMetFan Mon Aug 25, 2014 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by coach41 (Post 939293)
A simliar question on a kicked ball but not exactly as the original poster had it:

I was playing pickup ball with friends today and there was a low pass that got past me. It was rolling on the ground in such a way that there was no way I was going to be able to save it with my hands without diving. We were playing outdoors and no way I'm diving on concrete! :)

HOWEVER, I was able to outrun the ball a couple of steps before it got to the sideline. I never extended my leg or anything but just let the ball bounce off my leg and then I picked it up. My friends were saying it was illegal.

I'm a official and know the "intent" rule. So theoretically, my friends were right. But conceptually, I let the ball bounce off my body. :)

What do people think? Kicked ball or no kicked ball?

Here's the way I look at it: Your leg wasn't an "innocent bystander" in the process :)

BktBallRef Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:31pm

I disagree. If his foot is on the floor and the ball rolls against it, that's not a kick. it makes no difference how long his foot has been there, as long as it's there before it's touched.

BillyMac Tue Aug 26, 2014 06:23am

Your Witness ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 939369)
I disagree. If his foot is on the floor and the ball rolls against it, that's not a kick. it makes no difference how long his foot has been there, as long as it's there before it's touched.

I can see your point, but I'd like to pay Devil's Advocate.

If a player observes, in advance, that a rolling ball is about to strike his already on the floor leg, and said player doesn't move is leg out of the path of the ball, is that not intent to strike the ball with one's leg? Or is this a case of the ball striking a leg rather than a case of the leg striking the ball?

just another ref Tue Aug 26, 2014 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 939370)
I can see your point, but I'd like to pay Devil's Advocate.

If a player observes, in advance, that a rolling ball is about to strike his already on the floor leg, and said player doesn't move is leg out of the path of the ball, is that not intent to strike the ball with one's leg? Or is this a case of the ball striking a leg rather than a case of the leg striking the ball?

A kick must be a positive action. A player is not obligated to move this leg to avoid contact. And it is about intent. It is possible for the foot to be neither on the floor nor stationary and still not be a violation. The foot of a running player strikes/is struck by the ball. Play on. Intent must be judged.

Camron Rust Tue Aug 26, 2014 07:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 939388)
A kick must be a positive action. A player is not obligated to move this leg to avoid contact. And it is about intent. It is possible for the foot to be neither on the floor nor stationary and still not be a violation. The foot of a running player strikes/is struck by the ball. Play on. Intent must be judged.

Likewise, a stationary foot/leg is not necessarily legal. If a player ddliberately places it in the path of the ball in order to stop the ball, it is a violation. There is noting in the rule excusing the player if they intentionally do it quick enough to get it back in contact with floor.

If the foot is in position before the ball is thrown, then it would be legal as the player throwing the ball threw it to the foot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1