The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player goes out of bound & touches the ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98027-player-goes-out-bound-touches-ball.html)

potato Fri Jun 06, 2014 09:00am

Player goes out of bound & touches the ball
 
I would like to know is it considered out of bound or illegal for the following scenarios:

1.B1 goes out of bound legally (diving for ball), A1 gets the ball & attempts a shot, B1 jumps from out of bound towards A1 to contest the shot & touches the ball, would it be considered out of bound A teams ball if:
1a.B1 touches the ball A1 is in possession of.
1b.B1 touches the ball after A1 released the ball (block shot) & shot misses.
1c.B1 touches the ball after A1 release & ball goes in the basket.


2.Is there a difference between NBA & NFHS rule regarding players going out of bound saving a ball & reenters the court with both feet in bound allowed to be the 1st player to touch the ball?
If the player is allowed to do so:
2a.Does it matter if the player jumps out of bound grab the ball & throws it back inbound before player lands out of bound comes back & be the 1st one to touch the ball (would the save be counted as a pass which he cannot be the 1st to touch?).
2b.Was dribbling near the line lost his balance, pushes the ball inbound before player goes out of bound (not ending his dribble), gets both feet back in bound & continues to dribble.

Raymond Fri Jun 06, 2014 09:12am

#1) Assuming you mean B1 touches the ball without ever coming back inbounds, it would be an immediate OOB violation when B1 touches the ball in all of those scenarios.

#2) There is no requirement to have both feet inbounds by the NFHS, so I'm not sure what you are asking.

2a) OOB has nothing to do with this play, only whether or not we have an illegal dribble depending on factors that are unknown in your scenario.

2b) Legal

APG Fri Jun 06, 2014 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 935555)

2.Is there a difference between NBA & NFHS rule regarding players going out of bound saving a ball & reenters the court with both feet in bound allowed to be the 1st player to touch the ball?
If the player is allowed to do so:
2a.Does it matter if the player jumps out of bound grab the ball & throws it back inbound before player lands out of bound comes back & be the 1st one to touch the ball (would the save be counted as a pass which he cannot be the 1st to touch?).
2b.Was dribbling near the line lost his balance, pushes the ball inbound before player goes out of bound (not ending his dribble), gets both feet back in bound & continues to dribble.

NBA only:

In the NBA, if a player saving the ball bats the ball, he may return (meaning only one foot back in and nothing OOB) and be the first person to touch the ball. If he throws the ball (meaning he gains possession), he may NOT be the first person to touch the ball after returning OOB.

CountTheBasket Fri Jun 06, 2014 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 935556)
#1) Assuming you mean B1 touches the ball without ever coming back inbounds, it would be an immediate OOB violation when B1 touches the ball in all of those scenarios.

Even in 1c. after the made basket?!

Raymond Fri Jun 06, 2014 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CountTheBasket (Post 935563)
Even in 1c. after the made basket?!

Why would that make a difference? Once he touches the ball, it's dead b/c of the OOB violation.

deecee Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 935572)
Why would that make a difference? Once he touches the ball, it's dead b/c of the OOB violation.

what he said. it's an OOB violation when the ball is touched.

Altor Fri Jun 06, 2014 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 935572)
Why would that make a difference? Once he touches the ball, it's dead b/c of the OOB violation.

Let's add 1d) for what I think CountTheBasket was thinking...

1d) A1's attempt goes in. B1 jumps from out of bounds and grabs the ball as it comes through the basket.

just another ref Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 935579)
Let's add 1d) for what I think CountTheBasket was thinking...

1d) A1's attempt goes in. B1 jumps from out of bounds and grabs the ball as it comes through the basket.

Play on. Player just grabbed a dead ball and will proceed with the throw-in.

bob jenkins Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CountTheBasket (Post 935563)
Even in 1c. after the made basket?!

I think you are thinking of the exception for a foul not making the ball dead when it's during a try. There's no exception for an OOB violation (there is for a "swinging elbows" violation).

dsavitzky Fri Jun 06, 2014 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 935556)
#1) Assuming you mean B1 touches the ball without ever coming back inbounds, it would be an immediate OOB violation when B1 touches the ball in all of those scenarios.

#2) There is no requirement to have both feet inbounds by the NFHS, so I'm not sure what you are asking.

2a) OOB has nothing to do with this play, only whether or not we have an illegal dribble depending on factors that are unknown in your scenario.

2b) Legal

Wouldn't (2b) be illegal? It reads as if player control never ends in the scenario. So if the player steps out of bounds while there's player control, isn't it an OOB violation even if he's not actually touching the ball when he's out?

AremRed Fri Jun 06, 2014 10:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsavitzky (Post 935602)
Wouldn't (2b) be illegal? It reads as if player control never ends in the scenario. So if the player steps out of bounds while there's player control, isn't it an OOB violation even if he's not actually touching the ball when he's out?

It's an interrupted dribble. No player control, player can go out of bounds by accident and come back in as long as he's not gaining an advantage (going around a screen, etc.). He can also continue his dribble, provided he establishes location in-bounds.

dsavitzky Fri Jun 06, 2014 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 935604)
It's an interrupted dribble. No player control, player can go out of bounds by accident and come back in as long as he's not gaining an advantage (going around a screen, etc.). He can also continue his dribble, provided he establishes location in-bounds.

If you consider it an interrupted dribble. But he specifically said "not ending his dribble" in the original scenario.

Nevadaref Fri Jun 06, 2014 10:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsavitzky (Post 935605)
If you consider it an interrupted dribble. But he specifically said "not ending his dribble" in the original scenario.

Terminology is important.
An interrupted dribble hasn't ended. Allowing the ball to come to rest in one hand, touching it simultaneously with two hands, or losing control because of a touch by an opposing player all end a dribble.
The author wrote what he did to distinguish between the player ending his dribble and then releasing ball into the court before falling out and the player simply pushing or batting the ball with one hand then stepping out.
Whether there is player control or not is a judgment call.

potato Sat Jun 07, 2014 03:24am

under the 1st scenario, would B1 be called a goaltending should he jumped from out of bounds to interrupt the ball when it's going downwards, or will it still be counted as out of bound A ball?

so in both NFHS & NBA, can i say that if the player established possession of the ball while trying to save it throws the ball back in, it shall be considered a pass thus the player may not be the 1st to touch the ball even if he's already inbound?

Nevadaref Sat Jun 07, 2014 04:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 935616)
under the 1st scenario, would B1 be called a goaltending should he jumped from out of bounds to interrupt the ball when it's going downwards, or will it still be counted as out of bound A ball?

so in both NFHS & NBA, can i say that if the player established possession of the ball while trying to save it throws the ball back in, it shall be considered a pass thus the player may not be the 1st to touch the ball even if he's already inbound?

1. There is no rule which covers a player committing simultaneous violations. There is an officiating principle to penalize the more severe of the infringements. So if this ever happened, I would penalize the goaltending. However, since the endline is four feet behind the plane of the backboard, I doubt that such will occur. I can envision an otherwise legally blocked shot with a shooter in the corner and a defender jumping from out of bounds.

2. There is no rule preventing a player from retrieving his own errant pass at the NCAA and NFHS levels. It would simply be a dribble if allowed to strike the floor before the catch. If the player had already dribbled, then this second dribble would constitute a violation. If the ball does not contact the floor and the player has moved his pivot, the ruling is an illegal dribble violation. Otherwise, the action described is perfectly legal. Don't get caught in the "self pass" myth!

APG Sat Jun 07, 2014 04:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 935616)
under the 1st scenario, would B1 be called a goaltending should he jumped from out of bounds to interrupt the ball when it's going downwards, or will it still be counted as out of bound A ball?

so in both NFHS & NBA, can i say that if the player established possession of the ball while trying to save it throws the ball back in, it shall be considered a pass thus the player may not be the 1st to touch the ball even if he's already inbound?

If a player is pulling off your first scenario, he should be considering representing his country in the long jump. ;) To answer your scenario, a player would be committing two violations at the same time...pick the more severe of the two, award the basket and continue otherwise.

As to your second scenario, you are mixing up an NBA interpretation with the other rule sets. Just to be clear, the interpretation I gave out earlier is SOLELY UNDER NBA RULES (capitalization and bolding to emphasize this point).

Under NFHS/NCAA rules, the act of gaining possession and throwing it back in should be considered the start of a dribble...and penalize or allow as appropriate. It should also be pointed out that one can not, by definition by the ball to oneself.

potato Sat Jun 07, 2014 08:46am

well if the player is around the baseline & tall enough it should be possible to goaltend a ball going down towards the basket but i get your point.

for scenario 2, what if the player already dribbling, ball going out of bounds, player jumps out to save the ball? i'm guessing the way he saves the ball will determine whether he's allowed to be the 1st to touch the ball when he's inbound? say if he catches the ball & throws it back in and touches it again, it'd be a violation (double dribble), and if simply push/swap the ball in without holding/palming the ball he can be the 1st the touch the ball & continue the dribble or catches the ball when he gets back inbound? but any chance it be treated as a fumble after a dribble & player still allowed to be the 1st to secure the ball?


Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 935618)
If a player is pulling off your first scenario, he should be considering representing his country in the long jump. ;) To answer your scenario, a player would be committing two violations at the same time...pick the more severe of the two, award the basket and continue otherwise.

As to your second scenario, you are mixing up an NBA interpretation with the other rule sets. Just to be clear, the interpretation I gave out earlier is SOLELY UNDER NBA RULES (capitalization and bolding to emphasize this point).

Under NFHS/NCAA rules, the act of gaining possession and throwing it back in should be considered the start of a dribble...and penalize or allow as appropriate. It should also be pointed out that one can not, by definition by the ball to oneself.


Raymond Sat Jun 07, 2014 08:54am

Potato, whether or not a player went OOB is completely irrelevant to your 2nd set of scenarios.

BillyMac Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:47pm

Out Of Bounds ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 935555)
Was dribbling near the line lost his balance, pushes the ball inbound before player goes out of bound (not ending his dribble), gets both feet back in bound & continues to dribble.

If it's not an interrupted dribble, then this note should apply:

NFHS 9-3 Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary,
even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds

It doesn't sound like this (original post) is an interrupted dribble:

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 935555)
Was dribbling near the line lost his balance, pushes the ball inbound before player goes out of bound (not ending his dribble), gets both feet back in bound & continues to dribble.

NFHS 4-15-5: An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting
off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. There is no
player control during an interrupted dribble.

This tells me that it was not an interrupted dribble:

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 935555)
... pushes the ball inbound ...

The ball obviously didn't deflect off the dribbler, and it sounds like it did not momentarily gets away from the dribbler.

Thank God for NFHS 9-3-Note in this day in age when everyone is videotaping everything. "But he wasn't touching the ball when his foot touched the boundary."

Adam Sat Jun 07, 2014 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 935632)
If it's not an interrupted dribble, then this note should apply:

NFHS 9-3 Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary,
even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds

It doesn't sound like this (original post) is an interrupted dribble:



NFHS 4-15-5: An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting
off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. There is no
player control during an interrupted dribble.

This tells me that it was not an interrupted dribble:



The ball obviously didn't deflect off the dribbler, and it sounds like it did not momentarily gets away from the dribbler.

Thank God for NFHS 9-3-Note in this day in age when everyone is videotaping everything. "But he wasn't touching the ball when his foot touched the boundary."

Sure, it momentarily got away from the dribbler, nothing requires this to be accidental or against his will.
Interrupted dribble.

BillyMac Sat Jun 07, 2014 01:55pm

Colonel Mustard, With A Candlestick, In The Conservatory ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 935633)
Sure, it momentarily got away from the dribbler. Interrupted dribble.

"Pushes the ball inbound(s)" was the clue that I used to deduce that the dribbler had control of the ball, thus, not an interrupted dribble. I guess that you had to be there. The time, and distance, between the "pushes the ball inbound(s)", and the stepping out of bounds, may be a factor in our conflicting interruptions. Maybe I'm viewing these events as occurring more rapidly than what happened in reality. Maybe potato can post the videotape?

potato Fri Jun 13, 2014 10:09am

So is it safe to say if the person dived out of bound to save the ball had possession of the ball (holding 2 hands or 1 hand) lobs it back into court, can't be the 1st one to touch the ball as it'd be a self pass violation?

bob jenkins Fri Jun 13, 2014 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 935957)
So is it safe to say if the person dived out of bound to save the ball had possession of the ball (holding 2 hands or 1 hand) lobs it back into court, can't be the 1st one to touch the ball as it'd be a self pass violation?

there's no such thing as a "self pass violation" (at least in FED and NCAA).

If the player had control, and threw the ball to the floor -- that move is the start of a dribble (or at least treated as one). Judge further touching using the dribble rules.

Adam Fri Jun 13, 2014 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 935957)
So is it safe to say if the person dived out of bound to save the ball had possession of the ball (holding 2 hands or 1 hand) lobs it back into court, can't be the 1st one to touch the ball as it'd be a self pass violation?

No, it's not safe to say.

Raymond Sat Jun 14, 2014 12:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 935957)
So is it safe to say if the person dived out of bound to save the ball had possession of the ball (holding 2 hands or 1 hand) lobs it back into court, can't be the 1st one to touch the ball as it'd be a self pass violation?

Why do keep on including out of bounds to your scenarios? It has nothing to do with whether or not there is a travel.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1