The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Lane Violation and Clock issue (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97965-lane-violation-clock-issue.html)

Raymond Wed May 28, 2014 06:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 934976)
Yet another rule where a little editing on the part of the NFHS could clear up confusion. For clarity's sake 8-1-4d should read: "Teammates of the free thrower may only occupy the second marked lane space on either side."

The HS rule is not the same as the NCAA-W's rule. Your wording changes the HS rule.

Adam Wed May 28, 2014 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 934976)
Yet another rule where a little editing on the part of the NFHS could clear up confusion. For clarity's sake 8-1-4d should read: "Teammates of the free thrower may only occupy the second marked lane space on either side."

Why would you change the rule?

JRutledge Wed May 28, 2014 08:21am

The only requirements other than the first spot and the 4-2 breakdown, is the fact that the offense is allowed to be in the second spot unless the offensive players vacates that spot. No reason to change the wording for that issue that is so rare in the first place.

Peace

Adam Wed May 28, 2014 08:22am

A coupe of years ago I had a team try to slip a third offensive player into a vacant spot. Coach wasn't too thrilled when I didn't allow it.

JRutledge Wed May 28, 2014 08:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 934986)
A coupe of years ago I had a team try to slip a third offensive player into a vacant spot. Coach wasn't too thrilled when I didn't allow it.

I have never had that happen for some reason. I am surprised it does not happen, but never had it take place.

Peace

JetMetFan Wed May 28, 2014 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 934977)
JetMetFan: You haven't clarified the rule, you've changed the rule. Teammates of the free thrower can occupy the third spaces as long as no more than two offensive players occupy the marked spaces, and as long as defensive players do not wish to occupy said spaces, although I'm not 100% sure about the second part (as long as defensive players do not wish to occupy said spaces).

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 934982)
Why would you change the rule?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 934978)
The HS rule is not the same as the NCAA-W's rule. Your wording changes the HS rule.

Sorry guys. I broke my "posting before 8AM" rule and misread the case play. Even worse because I know the NFHS rule is different from the NCAAW rule and I had that in my head as I typed the last post :(

ODog Wed May 28, 2014 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by uneek1 (Post 934933)

2. We had a situation where there was 6 seconds left in a game. Team A inbounds from their defensive end and start up court we notice when they get to around mid court the clock did not start on inbound but did start before we caught it. We put the ball in play at point of interruption. Was that correct or should we have started at the original point prior to the clock error?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

The lesson here is ALWAYS count (especially in these situations).

Even though you will not be counting 10 seconds once the ball is controlled in the backcourt, since it is an end-of-period scenario, a simple count will nonetheless come in handy when this inevitably comes up.

The only reason I know is because it's happened to me. Won't get burned like that again.

Huddle up with partner before the final play (if a timeout precedes it) and just let your VISIBLE count do the work. That way, in addition to having definite knowledge, you won't have to stop the game at its most critical juncture and penalize a team for timekeeper incompetence.

AremRed Wed May 28, 2014 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 935022)
The lesson here is ALWAYS count (especially in these situations).

Even though you will not be counting 10 seconds once the ball is controlled in the backcourt, since it is an end-of-period scenario, a simple count will nonetheless come in handy when this inevitably comes up.

The only reason I know is because it's happened to me. Won't get burned like that again.

Huddle up with partner before the final play (if a timeout precedes it) and just let your VISIBLE count do the work. That way, in addition to having definite knowledge, you won't have to stop the game at its most critical juncture and penalize a team for timekeeper incompetence.

So you will do a visible count in low-clock situations when none is required by rule?

just another ref Wed May 28, 2014 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 935025)
So you will do a visible count in low-clock situations when none is required by rule?

Are you saying there is something wrong with this? I try to have a count in this situation, but it may not be visible. If it is visible it would obviously be easier to sell. As opposed to:

"Aw, he's just making stuff up now!"

Nevadaref Thu May 29, 2014 01:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 935025)
So you will do a visible count in low-clock situations when none is required by rule?

Absolutely! If there is a clock error which I correct, there will be clear video evidence of my count.

Camron Rust Thu May 29, 2014 02:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 935025)
So you will do a visible count in low-clock situations when none is required by rule?

Nope. I will count, but it will not be visible unless it is one of the required visible counts.

BillyMac Thu May 29, 2014 06:07am

One Mississippi, Two Mississippi, Three Mississippi ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 935025)
So you will do a visible count in low-clock situations when none is required by rule?

What rule states that you don't have a visible count? Citation please.

NFHS 2-7-9: The officials shall conduct the game in accordance with the rules. This includes: Silently and visibly counting seconds to administer the throw-in (7-6), free-throw (8-4; 9-1-3a), backcourt (9-8) and closely-guarded (9-10) rules.

Now if you meant to say mechanics, under which high school mechanics set does it state not to have a visible count when the clock is under ten seconds? Citation please.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 935031)
Absolutely! If there is a clock error which I correct, there will be clear video evidence of my count.

Agree. I count every time.

Rob1968 Thu May 29, 2014 09:04am

A canp evaluator, several years ago, stated that a backcourt count with fewer than 10 seconds remaining, indicated a lack of game/time awareness. So, since then, in HS games, I use a non-visible count in such situations.

Adam Thu May 29, 2014 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 935025)
So you will do a visible count in low-clock situations when none is required by rule?

I do. If I'm going to have to end the quarter or adjust the clock in this situation (I've done both), I'd rather have video evidence that supports my decision.

AremRed Thu May 29, 2014 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 935026)
Are you saying there is something wrong with this?

No.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 935038)
What rule states that you don't have a visible count? Citation please.

Never said it was not allowed, just that it was not required.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1