![]() |
Basic Hypothetical Basketball Rule
If one were to drive to the lane and attempt a layup, but have his shot blocked (when the shot was blocked, he lost possession but regained possession without the ball touching the ground...then proceeded to finish the layup and score), would that be considered a double-dribble/travel? Thank you.
|
Welcome to the forum.
Not sure if you are an official or coach or even fan, but you cannot double dribble or travel after taking a shot. For one you cannot double dribble unless you by rule stopped your dribble and dribbled again. You can always recover a try attempt (even if blocked) and do what you did before you took the shot. I hope that kind of helps. Peace |
Thanks
Yes, thank you, I have been playing the game for years and have officiated at low levels. The only reason I mentioned the double dribble/travel is that I was accused of committing one/both of those when my layup was blocked, I lost possession, regained possession, and finished the layup. Some know-it-alls who have never played basketball in their lives tried to tell me I double dribbled. Even one of my teammates agreed with them. But truly, they just don't understand the game.
|
It is not so much about who played the game. I played the game and did not know most of the rules until I officiated. But you cannot have a double dribble without a dribble. That has nothing to do with knowing the game if you do not know the defintions the rules define.
Peace. |
Quote:
It is these know-it-all has been players that think they can officiate just because they know how to dribble and shoot a lay-up that make if frustrating to real officials who work at the craft. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
They probably think you can't rebound your own airball.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48am. |