The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Wisconsin / Kentucky (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97685-wisconsin-kentucky.html)

canuckrefguy Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra (Post 930658)
Two steps to his left that allowed him to A) release the ball and B) jump into the defender is absolutely a big time violation.

It used to be an automatic call everywhere but the NBA, sadly that is not the case anymore.

Just watching the replay. Not seeing that at all. Here's the play-by-play off my PVR:

#12 receives pass and lands right foot - left foot (legal)
Dribbles once, picks up dribble, lands with right foot barely ahead of the left foot
Shot fakes - defender goes airborne (nothing)
Shooter moves right foot while jumping

I'm thinking official on the play gives #12 the two-foot jump stop off the dribble, and therefore no travel.

Technically, you could say travel - but it's a ticky-tack call on that kind of play.

Adam Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 930659)
Just watching the replay. Not seeing that at all. Here's the play-by-play off my PVR:

#12 receives pass and lands right foot - left foot (legal)
Dribbles once, picks up dribble, lands with right foot barely ahead of the left foot
Shot fakes - defender goes airborne (nothing)
Shooter moves right foot while jumping

I'm thinking official on the play gives #12 the two-foot stop off the dribble, and therefore no travel.

Technically, you could say travel - but it's a ticky-tack call on that kind of play.

This is what I saw. It's not the sort of travel you're going to pick up when you're watching for impact you know is coming because you were watching the defender.

Camron Rust Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 930654)
Was he the one who called all three of those bad blocks against Jackson?

Or the one against Lee when Kaminsky slammed into him?

There were a number of head-scratcher blocks on both sides.

just another ref Sun Apr 06, 2014 12:05am

But, luckily we had a detailed, thorough, scientific analysis of the whole thing.

"I don't see how you can guard anybody in the post if they're not going to let you wrestle a little bit."

Rex Chapman

Nevadaref Sun Apr 06, 2014 12:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 930657)
Good grief - that Harrison is money.

So that's how Kentucky recruited those twins. :eek:

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Apr 06, 2014 12:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 930635)
1. Little known NCAA rule permits the team to inbound either table side or opposite table following a technical foul, which is not POI.2. The very rare example of offensive GT just occurred, but was not called, at 16:35 of the 2nd half.
3. Crew was rather poor on block/charge decision in the first half. Two or three fouls called blocks which were PCs, imo.


In the "Ancient Days" the offended team had the choice of which Sideline at the Division Line to take the Throw-in for both boys'/girls' H.S. and men's/women's college. A number of years ago (no, I am not going to climb up into the attic, LOL!), the NFHS changed the rule to put the ball in play at the Division Line opposite the Table. But the NCAA did not adopt the change.

MTD, Sr.

Nevadaref Sun Apr 06, 2014 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 930667)
In the "Ancient Days" the offended team had the choice of which Sideline at the Division Line to take the Throw-in for both boys'/girls' H.S. and men's/women's college. A number of years ago (no, I am not going to climb up into the attic, LOL!), the NFHS changed the rule to put the ball in play at the Division Line opposite the Table. But the NCAA did not adopt the change.

MTD, Sr.

And now all the youngin's have the rest of the story!
Thanks for the post. :)

Camron Rust Sun Apr 06, 2014 12:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bballref3966 (Post 930636)
Close goaltending no-call at 16:36 in second half. Would love to get another look at it. Was on its downward flight, appeared to be above the ring, but not sure it had the possibility of entering the basket.

I thought it was a good call. Unless it is grossly off (it wasn't), I don't think any official would rule that it has no chance of going in.

EDIT: My comments were about the other GT was called.

AremRed Sun Apr 06, 2014 12:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 930664)
Or the one against Lee when Kaminsky slammed into him?

There were a number of head-scratcher blocks on both sides.

He was just being consistent with the blocking calls they made earlier. I knew it was gonna be called a block as soon as I heard the whistle.

Camron Rust Sun Apr 06, 2014 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 930670)
He was just being consistent with the blocking calls they made earlier. I knew it was gonna be called a block as soon as I heard the whistle.

If Kominsky had run in to the basket stanchion, they would have called it for a block. He should have gone to Duke.

mutantducky Sun Apr 06, 2014 03:58am

just want to say I dislike Jay Bilas. Homer for the big schools, really going for Kentucky.
that is all. :rolleyes:
stuck in an elevator with Joe Buck, Troy Aikmen, and Jay. shudders :(

Nevadaref Sun Apr 06, 2014 05:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 930669)
I thought it was a good call. Unless it is grossly off (it wasn't), I don't think any official would rule that it has no chance of going in.

Except the opposite of your comment is what the officials did.
There was no whistle on the play and Kentucky was permitted to score.
Thus the decision must have been that the ball didn't have a chance to go in.

OKREF Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 930659)
Just watching the replay. Not seeing that at all. Here's the play-by-play off my PVR:

#12 receives pass and lands right foot - left foot (legal)
Dribbles once, picks up dribble, lands with right foot barely ahead of the left foot
Shot fakes - defender goes airborne (nothing)
Shooter moves right foot while jumping

I'm thinking official on the play gives #12 the two-foot jump stop off the dribble, and therefore no travel.
Technically, you could say travel - but it's a ticky-tack call on that kind of play.



It is an easy travel to get. I'm not going out on a limb here, but that will rarely get called at this level, but clearly it is a travel.

Camron Rust Sun Apr 06, 2014 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 930676)
Except the opposite of your comment is what the officials did.
There was no whistle on the play and Kentucky was permitted to score.
This the decision must have been that the ball didn't have a chance to go in.

OK, that is a different play. I was thinking of the one where UK was on defense and swatted the ball just after the peak....and they called it.

Without going back to video at the moment, I think they one you may be talking about is the one where the ball was coming up short, perhaps not so short that it couldn't go in, and was tipped in.

Can't be GT in the NCAA, by rule....

Quote:

Rule 4
Section 34. Goaltending
Art. 1. Goaltending occurs when a defensive player touches the ball during a field-goal try and each of the following conditions is met:
So, there is no restriction on the offense touching the ball on the downward flight. The NCAA rules makes it so that we don't have to differentiate between alley-oops right at the rim and shots that get tipped in on their way down.

NFHS, however, doesn't make the distinction between offense or defense.

Sharpshooternes Mon Apr 07, 2014 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 930694)
OK, that is a different play. I was thinking of the one where UK was on defense and swatted the ball just after the peak....and they called it.

Without going back to video at the moment, I think they one you may be talking about is the one where the ball was coming up short, perhaps not so short that it couldn't go in, and was tipped in.

Can't be GT in the NCAA, by rule....



So, there is no restriction on the offense touching the ball on the downward flight. The NCAA rules makes it so that we don't have to differentiate between alley-oops right at the rim and shots that get tipped in on their way down.

NFHS, however, doesn't make the distinction between offense or defense.

Wait. So in HS the offense can commit goaltending? Do you have a video example?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1