The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Crazy Ending & Kicked rule! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97426-crazy-ending-kicked-rule.html)

The_Rookie Mon Mar 03, 2014 02:07pm

Crazy Ending & Kicked rule!
 
Playoff game GV...I did not work the game but heard about from colleagues:)

1.1 seconds in Q4 A leads 39-38 over B.

a) A inbounds under B basket and pass intercepted by B2..a2 fouls b2 1+1

b) Officials put .3 secs on clock. B2 shoots Ft and violation did not hit rim

c) A1 throw in under B basket and tosses a football pass that did not touch anyone and goes OOB on the opposite end line under A basket..still .3 secs.

d) Since no touch B1 inbounds under B's hoop..B1 throws in to B2 who catches and shoots..basket is counted by the crew and B wins 40-39!

A is now out of the playoffs!

Comments oh how you would deal with this if you were the assignor with crew..

bob jenkins Mon Mar 03, 2014 02:24pm

If all are sure that it was a catch-and-shoot, then I'd make sure the crew knows the rule.

The rest it sounds like they did a good job on.

JetMetFan Mon Mar 03, 2014 02:36pm

Somehow I have a feeling this play will be posted on YouTube by either a very happy or very disgruntled fan... ;)

The first thing I'd try to find out is whether they communicated in any way prior to the final play, even to just make eye contact and point at the clock. The next thing would be to find out whether they communicated *after* the shot went in.

just another ref Mon Mar 03, 2014 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 925406)
b) Officials put .3 secs on clock.

Do you mean the clock ran out but the officials ruled the whistle was at .3 and put the time back on the clock?

The_Rookie Mon Mar 03, 2014 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 925416)
Do you mean the clock ran out but the officials ruled the whistle was at .3 and put the time back on the clock?

Yes...

The_Rookie Mon Mar 03, 2014 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 925415)
Somehow I have a feeling this play will be posted on YouTube by either a very happy or very disgruntled fan... ;)

The first thing I'd try to find out is whether they communicated in any way prior to the final play, even to just make eye contact and point at the clock. The next thing would be to find out whether they communicated *after* the shot went in.

LOL..Video already in circulation:)

JetMetFan Mon Mar 03, 2014 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 925425)
LOL..Video already in circulation:)

And you haven't sent me the link yet because...? :p

j51969 Mon Mar 03, 2014 04:21pm

a) A inbounds under B basket and pass intercepted by B2..a2 fouls b2 1+1

- Team A's fault. Unless the assertion is the crew blew the call.

b) Officials put .3 secs on clock. B2 shoots Ft and violation did not hit rim

- Crew may have very well been all over this one. Need video to see for sure

c) A1 throw in under B basket and tosses a football pass that did not touch anyone and goes OOB on the opposite end line under A basket..still .3 secs.

- Again A's fault. Looks like they are doing everything they can to lose.

d) Since no touch B1 inbounds under B's hoop..B1 throws in to B2 who catches and shoots..basket is counted by the crew and B wins 40-39!

- Need video to provide more, but sounds like A allowed a player to get open even though it's a 4 on 5 situation

A is now out of the playoffs!

This really isn't that crazy. These situations happen all year long, but gain more attention given whats at stake. You'll see it happen atleast 6 times during the NCAA tournament. Post video so we can see what you saw.

Camron Rust Mon Mar 03, 2014 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 925424)
Yes...

The question then becomes one of if they chose 0,3 out of thin air or whether one of them saw 0.3 on the clock. Short of one of them telling us, we'll never know.

just another ref Mon Mar 03, 2014 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 925455)
The question then becomes one of if they chose 0,3 out of thin air or whether one of them saw 0.3 on the clock. Short of one of them telling us, we'll never know.

+1 I'm always leery of putting tenths back on a clock. I'm even more leery when it turns out the crew didn't know you can't catch and shoot with 3 tenths.

The_Rookie Mon Mar 03, 2014 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 925461)
+1 I'm even more leery when it turns out the crew didn't know you can't catch and shoot with 3 tenths.

That is the HUGE issue here..allowing the basket to count:confused:

bob jenkins Mon Mar 03, 2014 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 925470)
That is the HUGE issue here..allowing the basket to count:confused:

Do we know that the crew agrees it was a catch-and-shoot, or did they think it was a tip/tap/bat?

Pantherdreams Mon Mar 03, 2014 04:48pm

Is this an NFHS/FIBA difference, but isn't a free throw violation a SLOB foul line extended not a baseline play?

IF the crew went with a discussion leading .3 and didn't every say "Ok, but .3 means there will not be another catch and shoot only a tip/touch" then whoops . . . ruh roh shaggy.

bob jenkins Mon Mar 03, 2014 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 925482)
Is this an NFHS/FIBA difference, but isn't a free throw violation a SLOB foul line extended not a baseline play?

The violation is in the "rocket ship" area, so the throw-in is at the endline.

MD Longhorn Mon Mar 03, 2014 05:14pm

A) Rookie --- what's your complaint?
B) Where is this video someone says exists?
C) Didn't we just do the erroneous 0.3 catch and shoot 3 weeks ago?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1