The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt on Throw In (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97394-backcourt-throw.html)

rbruno Thu Feb 27, 2014 01:45pm

Backcourt on Throw In
 
Team A has a throw in at the division line. Player A-1 throws the ball and it is tipped by Player A-2 in the front court. The ball goes into the backcourt where it is first touched by Team A. Is this a backcourt violation?
NHSF rules were changed a few years back to have "Team Control" during a throw in which you think would make this a backcourt violation by definition.
I thought there was and exception to cover this scenario but can't find it in the rule book. Can someone direct me to the right place for this ruling?

just another ref Thu Feb 27, 2014 01:47pm

Team control on the throw-in is for the purpose of fouls. (no free throws on a foul by the throw-in team) The OP is not a violation because player control was not established in the frontcourt. 9-9-1

Adam Thu Feb 27, 2014 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 924928)
Team control on the throw-in is for the purpose of fouls. (no free throws on a foul by the throw-in team) The OP is not a violation because player control was not established in the frontcourt. 9-9-1

PC in the FC is no longer a requirement listed in the rule. The exception is still there, but it is not written into the rule.

just another ref Thu Feb 27, 2014 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 924930)
PC in the FC is no longer a requirement listed in the rule. The exception is still there, but it is not written into the rule.

oops, last years book

just another ref Thu Feb 27, 2014 01:55pm

So how do we explain the OP now?

Nevadaref Thu Feb 27, 2014 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 924927)
Team A has a throw in at the division line. Player A-1 throws the ball and it is tipped by Player A-2 in the front court. The ball goes into the backcourt where it is first touched by Team A. Is this a backcourt violation?
NHSF rules were changed a few years back to have "Team Control" during a throw in which you think would make this a backcourt violation by definition.
I thought there was and exception to cover this scenario but can't find it in the rule book. Can someone direct me to the right place for this ruling?



2011-12 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

Camron Rust Thu Feb 27, 2014 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 924935)
So how do we explain the OP now?

Regardless of what is actually in the rule, the NFHS has told us....

Regarding fouls, there is TC on a throwin.

Anything else, there is no TC on a throwin.

just another ref Thu Feb 27, 2014 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 924946)
Regardless of what is actually in the rule, the NFHS has told us....

Regarding fouls, there is TC on a throwin.

Anything else, there is no TC on a throwin.

So the answer is: The wording still needs some work.

Adam Thu Feb 27, 2014 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 924947)
So the answer is: The wording still needs some work.

Yep.

Don't hold your breath.

j51969 Thu Feb 27, 2014 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 924927)
Team A has a throw in at the division line. Player A-1 throws the ball and it is tipped by Player A-2 in the front court. The ball goes into the backcourt where it is first touched by Team A. Is this a backcourt violation?
NHSF rules were changed a few years back to have "Team Control" during a throw in which you think would make this a backcourt violation by definition.
I thought there was and exception to cover this scenario but can't find it in the rule book. Can someone direct me to the right place for this ruling?

9-9-3; 9-9-1 SIT D.

Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1's throw-in is deflected by B1; A2 jumps from Team A's frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. A2 gains player and team control in the air after having left the floor from Team A's frontcourt, therefore having frontcourt status. As soon as A2 lands in backcourt, he/she has committed a backcourt violation. The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball (9-9-3)

bob jenkins Thu Feb 27, 2014 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by j51969 (Post 924961)
9-9-3; 9-9-1 SIT D.

Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1's throw-in is deflected by B1; A2 jumps from Team A's frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. A2 gains player and team control in the air after having left the floor from Team A's frontcourt, therefore having frontcourt status. As soon as A2 lands in backcourt, he/she has committed a backcourt violation. The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball (9-9-3)

That's significantly different form the OP

BillyMac Thu Feb 27, 2014 06:37pm

Same Old, Same Old ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 924947)
The wording still needs some work.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 924956)
Don't hold your breath.

Stupid NFHS monkeys.

Rich1 Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by j51969 (Post 924961)
9-9-3; 9-9-1 SIT D.

Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1's throw-in is deflected by B1; A2 jumps from Team A's frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. A2 gains player and team control in the air after having left the floor from Team A's frontcourt, therefore having frontcourt status. As soon as A2 lands in backcourt, he/she has committed a backcourt violation. The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball (9-9-3)

n

The difference here is the fact that A2 was airborn having lsst touched the floor in the FC, giving him FC status. If A2 tipped the ball and then ran into the back court to get it, this would not be a violation.

bob jenkins Thu Feb 27, 2014 11:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 924986)
n

The difference here is the fact that A2 was airborn having lsst touched the floor in the FC, giving him FC status. If A2 tipped the ball and then ran into the back court to get it, this would not be a violation.

ANd that A1 had already touched the ball so the "throw-in exception" no longer applies.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1