![]() |
Correctable error?
What say ye...
Team B is assessed a technical. Coach A requests to have a substitute shoot the technical shots. The referees deny the substitution citing that the coach must choose one of the players on the court. The coach relents and tells A1 to shoot the free throws but continues to tell the closest referee that the rules allow for any eligible player to shoot the technical shots. A1 misses the first of the two free throws and finally the referee brings his partners together and after debating it, they agree with the coach. The coach now wants to shoot a replacement free throw citing, the crew "permitted the wrong player to attempt a free throw." Do we allow the substitute to shoot 2 free throws? |
NOt a CE, IMO.
|
Absolutely not. Further, if there was any question as to whether or not the coach was correct, why did these dumbasses wait to discuss it until after one of the free throws was attempted. They put themselves in a trick bag that they have no rule-based way to get out of. These guys failed on two fronts: rules knowledge and game management.
|
This is not a CE. The merited FT's were awarded. A rule was kicked, but none of the criteria for a CE are met.
|
Agree..........How could they have let it go so far wrong wrong? Too arragant to even ask a partner just to be certain that a coach just might have had something.
|
Quote:
|
Did this actually occur or is it just a "what if" scenario?
Officials' error is not one of the five correctables. |
The only error here is on the officials....
Not a CE by rule |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I didn't realize it would incite such emotions towards a fictional crew.:o |
Quote:
Nothing like a little righteous indignation to artificially inflate self esteem. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47pm. |