The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Perplexed Travel (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97309-perplexed-travel.html)

Refsmitty Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:44am

Perplexed Travel
 
The move - player dribbling into paint... picks up (catch) the dribble - jumps between defenders, lands left foot - steps with right foot - makes layup - travel?

Indianaref Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:22pm

When the ball handler picks up their dribble, is he/she in the air and then lands left foot?

bob jenkins Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 923455)
When the ball handler picks up their dribble, is he/she in the air and then lands left foot?

IF so, it's legal.

But, if the player was on the ground when s/he "picks up (catch) the dribble", it's a violation.

So, no wonder you're perplexed -- you didn't describe the most important piece of information.

OKREF Tue Feb 18, 2014 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refsmitty (Post 923451)
The move - player dribbling into paint... picks up (catch) the dribble - jumps between defenders, lands left foot - steps with right foot - makes layup - travel?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 923455)
When the ball handler picks up their dribble, is he/she in the air and then lands left foot?

He does say. "Picks up the dribble, then jumps". The way I read it, he is on the floor when the dribble ends.

Indianaref Tue Feb 18, 2014 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 923472)
He does say. "Picks up the dribble, then jumps". The way I read it, he is on the floor when the dribble ends.

That's how I visualized it, just double checking. Bob came through with correct answers either way.

Welpe Tue Feb 18, 2014 01:31pm

I know what the right answer is but riddle me this...is there actually a rule that prevents a player without an established pivot foot from jumping from both feet and landing on one?

bob jenkins Tue Feb 18, 2014 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 923475)
I know what the right answer is but riddle me this...is there actually a rule that prevents a player without an established pivot foot from jumping from both feet and landing on one?

There's a case. ;)

Camron Rust Tue Feb 18, 2014 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 923475)
I know what the right answer is but riddle me this...is there actually a rule that prevents a player without an established pivot foot from jumping from both feet and landing on one?

Yes. When they jump, one of the two feet is the pivot, take your pick as to which left the floor first (it doesn't really matter which you pick).

Quote:

ART. 1 . . . A player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor, may pivot, using either foot. When one foot is lifted, the other is the pivot foot.

Then, having jumped, neither foot can return to the floor without releasing the ball for a shot/pass.

Quote:

ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

Refsmitty Tue Feb 18, 2014 02:09pm

Yes
 
Dribbles - picks it - jumps defenders in paint - left - right - layup

Welpe Tue Feb 18, 2014 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 923479)
Yes. When they jump, one of the two feet is the pivot, take your pick as to which left the floor first (it doesn't really matter which you pick).

And in all practical purposes, this is how I would rule.

Let's say theoretically though he jumps so that both feet leave the floor simultaneously without any difference between the two. The rules do not discern in this case which foot is the pivot.

If there's no pivot established then Article 3 wouldn't apply. I don't think the rule was meant to be interpreted that way but it's an interesting little hole.

Please be assured I know what the right call is here and I'd make it without hesitation, I'm just having a little fun playing rulebook lawyer.

Bob, do you happen to have which case that is?

tjones1 Tue Feb 18, 2014 02:59pm

Welpe

Don't have my case with me, but I assume it's somewhere in the 4.44 area.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 18, 2014 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 923485)
And in all practical purposes, this is how I would rule.

Let's say theoretically though he jumps so that both feet leave the floor simultaneously without any difference between the two. The rules do not discern in this case which foot is the pivot.

If there's no pivot established then Article 3 wouldn't apply. I don't think the rule was meant to be interpreted that way but it's an interesting little hole.

Please be assured I know what the right call is here and I'd make it without hesitation, I'm just having a little fun playing rulebook lawyer.

Bob, do you happen to have which case that is?

4.44.3B in 2012-13 book

Welpe Tue Feb 18, 2014 03:30pm

OK that works. I saw that the first time and must have skimmed over it since it was relating to a dribble but I definitely see how it fits.

I'll put my copy of Black's away now.

Thanks!

JMUplayer Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:11pm

Sounds like he's trying to describe that "euro step"

Dexter555 Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:57pm

And the crowd yells..
 
And the whole crowd and at least one opponent's coach will scream "Up and Down!" Usually the same coach who barks at you for continually missing "Over the Back.":D

pfan1981 Wed Feb 19, 2014 01:03pm

Here is how I envision it....

If a players gathers the ball in mid-air and simultaneously jump stops, he can pivot on either foot.

If a players gathers the ball with one foot on the ground (his pivot foot), jumps off of said foot, simultaneously jump stops......the players is frozen in concrete.

right?!?!?!!?

bob jenkins Wed Feb 19, 2014 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pfan1981 (Post 923600)
Here is how I envision it....

If a players gathers the ball in mid-air and simultaneously jump stops, he can pivot on either foot.

If a players gathers the ball with one foot on the ground (his pivot foot), jumps off of said foot, simultaneously jump stops......the players is frozen in concrete.

right?!?!?!!?

"frozen" is too strong, but otherwise seems correct

BillyMac Wed Feb 19, 2014 05:12pm

Inquiring Minds Want to Know ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 923612)
"Frozen" is too strong, but otherwise seems correct

Why is "frozen in concrete" too strong of a description?

Rob1968 Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 923643)
Why is "frozen in concrete" too strong of a description?

Bob can answer for himself, so the following is my own understanding:

Having performed a jumpstop as described, the player can lift either foot, or both, but cannot legally return the one or both to the floor, before either shooting, passing, being granted a timeout, or having the period time run out. Thus, "frozen in concrete" seems a bit too restrictive.

pfan1981 Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 923703)
Bob can answer for himself, so the following is my own understanding:

Having performed a jumpstop as described, the player can lift either foot, or both, but cannot legally return the one or both to the floor, before either shooting, passing, being granted a timeout, or having the period time run out. Thus, "frozen in concrete" seems a bit too restrictive.

True, the player may jump to pass or shoot.

Adam Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by pfan1981 (Post 923706)
True, the player may jump to pass or shoot.

Or he may "step through" as long as he relinquishes control before putting that step foot down. One way to think of it is to consider both feet the pivot with all the restrictions of a pivot foot.

Johnny Ringo Thu Feb 20, 2014 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refsmitty (Post 923480)
Dribbles - picks it - jumps defenders in paint - left - right - layup

Refsmitty, just stand up and do this play now - what do you think?

Refsmitty Thu Feb 20, 2014 04:11pm

Ouch
 
I think I would hurt myself!:eek:

I got a travel with the move I was discussing.

BillyMac Thu Feb 20, 2014 04:38pm

Thanks For The Confirmation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 923703)
Having performed a jumpstop as described, the player can lift either foot, or both, but cannot legally return the one or both to the floor, before either shooting, passing, being granted a timeout, or having the period time run out.

That's what I thought.

pfan1981 Fri Feb 21, 2014 07:40am

Had a girl gather, jump off her right foot (pivot foot), and then do a obvious non simultaneous jump stop, more like a "one, two". We called it all night and finally the coach wanted an explanation. Gave him one, didn't like it, to which we replied....."Well that's the rule."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1