![]() |
NC State at Syracuse ending
A. PC foul on Syracuse guard.
B. Foul by Syracuse after long pass. 1. In the act of shooting? 2. Flagrant 1 (NFHS intentional personal)? C. Lead calling BI on final hoop. |
Video request
BI by Lead was the right official calling it since the hand came up through the basket.
I'm more interest in the play at 41.4 seconds of the 2nd half when the Trail comes very late with foul call after Lead had already signaled OOBs. |
Video added (all 4 plays requested)
Quote:
Quote:
<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/sER-wkQiNSE?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
I think a patient whistle on #3 would have been withheld in the end. Other than that, I agree with the other three calls.
|
The OOB/foul play bothers me. One it looks bad and two the contact was well after the shot was blocked. The Hightowerish theatrics after the foul call and BI could be toned down as well.
|
On the Syracuse PC foul, right before that even at game speed guard committed a dribbling violation. Ball rested in his hands. Anyone see that?
|
As far as Nevada's play C (#3 on video), Art Hyland will be coming out with a new NCAA-Men's interpretation of "shooting/continuous motion". Upward motion is going to be defined as the beginning of the habitual shooting motion.
|
Quote:
|
In the pre-game , do officials discuss what they will call and not call let's say in the last 4 minutes of the game ? That dribbling was so obvious. The C and L could if easily picked that up.
|
Play 1: Block, defender got hand level to the ball.
Play 2: PC Play 3: Count it. Play 4: Good call. I'm fine with Lead helping in transition. |
#1. Even if there was a foul, the right team got the ball back and there was no need to come in like that after the OOB call.
#2. Great PC (preceeded by a carry). #3. Basket should have been counted. NO WAY I'm taking away those points. #4. Good call....even by lead given the fact that the C and T were probably still way behind the play. |
Quote:
|
On #4 the C wasn't behind the play at all. He was below the FTLE when the violation took place.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
1. I have no problem coming in with a foul. If he saw something up top, that is a good call to make.
2. PC Foul all the way. 3. Basket should have counted. The ball handler gathers and never puts the ball back on the floor after being fouled. 4. In transition usually is a time the L can make that call. But he was also already on the end line, so I am not sure why he made that call. But it appeared to be the right call. Peace |
I'm fine with the call, I would not have made it.
PC foul, the C made me laugh, cause he didn't hold up a fist, but he does a funny kind of dance that seems to agree with his partner's call. From his angle, it would be hard to see if the habitual motion had begun. The C has the play, his hand is up and I'm sure he's wondering why the Lead has this. Stevie Wonder can see this one. |
My thoughts:
1. Leave it alone and the Lead handle this play. 2. Clear PC for the push-off. Nice call and would like to see this made more often. 3. Absolutely in the act of shooting. At the NFHS level, I'm calling this an intentional personal foul. The foul negates an obvious advantageous position by the offensive player. 4. Let the C have this call, which he did. As the Lead, come get it if no call is made by a partner. This is an absolute must have as it is game critical. I don't like the showboating mechanic by the Lead, but I understand why he jumped on this play. The situation in the game (score and time remaining) may have warranted a faster whistle here than any other help situation during a contest. |
Quote:
Now if the defender wraps up the guy from behind so he can neither shoot nor move, then we can talk INT/Flagrant. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I wouldn't have an intentional here either. It's not excessive contact and I think he is making a clumsy, off balance play on the ball.
|
Quote:
Let me ask you these questions: Is this a breakaway? Does the offensive player have an obvious advantageous position? Do you believe that the defender purposely fouls in an attempt to prevent an easy basket? Now go check the rule. |
I'm usually pretty quick to count a basket, and at first look, I would have counted it. However, from the endline camera, it doesn't look to me like he had controlled the ball when he got bumped. Maybe I'm just giving deference to the official on the spot, though. Frankly, I would like to think I'd have passed on that one altogether.
As for Nevada's 3rd question: No |
Quote:
Quote:
Same...it doesn't even enter my mind as a possibility on this one. He swiped at the ball. He got arm instead of ball. Now if he had held onto that arm so the shooter couldn't get his arms up at all, then I'd go IF, but he has to do something more than just foul from a poor position. |
3. Not intentional.
Didn't watch the others. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I'll be the Lead was glad that Trail came and got that one right. |
btw, can we stop with the criticism of the "showboating/theatrics" by the officials in this game?
This is a high-level game being played in a football stadium in front of 30,000+ people at the most intense part of the game. In each of the calls made in the video, the officials "matched the moment" with their mechanics/strength of calls..... What you or I do in a high-school/small college gym in front of 100 people "ain't gonna work" here. |
Quote:
I also think we're trained to be a little too subdued in HS but that's an argument for another day. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
On the BI he came off the endline almost to the 28 foot mark, again repeatedly dropping the it counts signal. In no way was it rising to the moment, it was all about look at me make this call. |
Quote:
Play #4 stops and he hasn't even crossed the FTLE. I would say you are the one trying to sell something. ;) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
take another look....it's on the video! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Regardless of whether it was the FLTE or the 28' mark, he went overboard on the theatrics. |
I agree with all the calls with one caveat. #3 I could go either way on it. From the end line camera I am not sure the offensive player had gathered the ball even though he clearly does after the foul and does not dribble again. I would probably have counted it at game speed but I am ok with the "no shot" ruling by the official after watching the video.
On #1, that is a good cadence whistle and he sells it appropriately. After seeing the leads calling the OOB he immediately hits the whistle, just behind leads call. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
He wouldn't have had to sell it so hard had he put a whistle on it earlier... |
Quote:
If I blew the whistle, I'd regret it. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now, if the layup was made more difficult by the bump, call it and give him the 1 & 1. We hold our whistles all the time on a defender who bumps a player who is driving right past him. How is this different? |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27pm. |