The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   End of UA/ASU Game (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97279-end-ua-asu-game-video.html)

Adam Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 922940)
You would have needed an ax to split the hair in this case. I understand not calling it in this situation, but this chin-up had nothing to do with anyone's safety.

I agree. This was not a safety issue. I'm calling that T in my games without any question.

Although, in a high school game, by the time I would have recognized it, the clock would have expired and the game would have been over.

twocentsworth Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 922979)

I agree with not calling a T for the fans storming the court. If the players left the bench area though, prior to the fans storming the court we have a potential issue. If the players left the bench after the fans stormed the court you have an easy argument for not issuing a T for the safety of the players.

Watch the play again, ASU players were on the court PRIOR to the player finishing his dribble PRIOR to leaving the floor to dunk the ball.

I understand why the NCAA-M rule states that no T should be issued unless the players entering the floor prevent the opponent from making the ball live after a score. What I don't understand is that if, earlier in the game, a single player runs onto the floor during play (live ball/dead ball) a T would be issued. Why then, is the same T NOT issued at/near end of the gameIf you want to simply adjus the rules in the last 2:00 of the game (ala the NBA), just say so.

Remington Sat Feb 15, 2014 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 923006)
Watch the play again, ASU players were on the court PRIOR to the player finishing his dribble PRIOR to leaving the floor to dunk the ball.

I understand why the NCAA-M rule states that no T should be issued unless the players entering the floor prevent the opponent from making the ball live after a score. What I don't understand is that if, earlier in the game, a single player runs onto the floor during play (live ball/dead ball) a T would be issued. Why then, is the same T NOT issued at/near end of the gameIf you want to simply adjus the rules in the last 2:00 of the game (ala the NBA), just say so.

A.R. 263:

Team B leads, 67-66. A1's two-point try for goal is successful, but there is no indication that time has expired. Assuming that the successful try was a game-ending and winning goal:

(1) Bench personnel from Team A; or

(2) Fans from Team A go onto the playing court to celebrate.

RULING: When the celebration causes a delay by preventing the ball from being promptly made live or by preventing continuous play including, but not limited to the following: a) when the thrower-in is in the process of carrying the ball out of bounds for a throw-in; b) attempting the throw-in; or c) has completed the throw-in.

(1) A CLASS B technical foul shall be assessed to the head coach. The coach's technical foul does not count toward the team foul total but does count toward the coach's ejection.

(Rule 10-4.2.h and Penalty and Ejection)

(2) An administrative technical foul shall be assessed to the offending team. This technical foul does not apply to the team foul total. Any player from Team B shall attempt the two free throws and play shall resume at the point of interruption. When the celebration does not delay or interfere with play, the celebration shall be ignored.

When there is no delay in putting the ball in play or any interruption in the continuity of the game, officials should allow play to continue without penalty. When play can be stopped before the ball is at the disposal of Team B and without delaying the ball from being put in to play or interrupting the continuity of play, the official shall sound the whistle, clear the floor and resume the game without assessing any penalty.

(Rule 10-2.8.d and Penalty, and Section 10-2 Penalty)

HawkeyeCubP Sat Feb 15, 2014 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 922968)
I don't disagree with you. In general why is the T for hanging on the rim not called very much anymore? I've only seen it called once this year and that was an easy call in th Minnesota/Wisconsin game on Thursday night.

Some things are priorities and emphasized a certain way at that level, and some things are not. Consider how many T's you see called for players dunking a dead ball after a whistle, for example, compared to how many times (per game) it happens.

Adam Sat Feb 15, 2014 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 923011)
Some things are priorities and emphasized a certain way at that level, and some things are not. Consider how many T's you see called for players dunking a dead ball after a whistle, for example, compared to how many times (per game) it happens.

Given the Ts I've seen called at the D-1 level that have paled in comparison to this chin-up....

Bill Walton was right, though (some of the hardest words I've ever put together). If he just dribbles into the corner, that game is over.

BillyMac Sat Feb 15, 2014 03:01pm

It Happens ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 923011)
Consider how many T's you see called for players dunking a dead ball after a whistle.

This cost Southern Connecticut State College a win about thirty years ago. A celebratory dunk after the final horn in an apparent win led to a technical foul. I'm a little fuzzy on the rest but either the free throws for the technical gave the other team a victory, or the free throws for the technical foul led to an overtime, that eventually gave the other team a victory.

JetMetFan Mon Feb 17, 2014 01:20am

Looks like the Pac-12 agrees with those who wanted a T on the play...

Pac-12 officials acknowledge missed call late in Arizona Wildcats-Arizona State Sun Devils game - ESPN

Nevadaref Mon Feb 17, 2014 02:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 923206)
Looks like the Pac-12 agrees with those who wanted a T on the play...

Pac-12 officials acknowledge missed call late in Arizona Wildcats-Arizona State Sun Devils game - ESPN

JetMetFan beat me to posting this.

I was really pleased to see the majority of the posters in this thread stated that the action warranted a T. I would have thought that most of the usual posters would say they aren't making that call despite it clearly meeting the rule. Thanks for restoring my faith in this group!

maroonx Mon Feb 17, 2014 08:02am

So you can pull yourself up for safety as oppose to just hanging on it? Seems excuses are being made for not calling a T in a heated contest that could determine the outcome of a game.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1