The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   End of UA/ASU Game (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97279-end-ua-asu-game-video.html)

paulsonj72 Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:50pm

End of UA/ASU Game (Video)
 
With .7 seconds left in the 2nd OT and ASU player slam dunks the ball do you call the T for hanging on the rim? ASU up by 3 after the dunk. Someone can embend the play later. Thanks

youngump Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:05am

If someone is grabbing clips, there's was a block called at about 4:40 remaining in the 2nd half that might generate discussion.

twocentsworth Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:27am

RE: hanging on the rim with .7 left....I can tell you that John Adams, NCAA National Coordinator of Men's Basketball Officials, is on record as saying "don't split hairs" when it comes to hanging on the rim - if a player (opponent OR teammate) is anywhere close to to said player hanging on the rim, do not call a T. Let the player hang for his safety (or even the safety of the players under the rim).

As for the ENTIRE Arizona St. bench (players, coaches, staff, etc.) running onto the floor with 0.7 left in the game.....AS WELL AS SEVERAL HUNDRED STUDENTS FROM THE STANDS....John Adams has also said that no techs should be issued in this situation. I strongly beg to differ on this one - but then again, John Adams never has nor never will ask for my opinion on this one.......:)

paulsonj72 Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 922925)
RE: hanging on the rim with .7 left....I can tell you that John Adams, NCAA National Coordinator of Men's Basketball Officials, is on record as saying "don't split hairs" when it comes to hanging on the rim - if a player (opponent OR teammate) is anywhere close to to said player hanging on the rim, do not call a T. Let the player hang for his safety (or even the safety of the players under the rim).

As for the ENTIRE Arizona St. bench (players, coaches, staff, etc.) running onto the floor with 0.7 left in the game.....AS WELL AS SEVERAL HUNDRED STUDENTS FROM THE STANDS....John Adams has also said that no techs should be issued in this situation. I strongly beg to differ on this one - but then again, John Adams never has nor never will ask for my opinion on this one.......:)

On the game broadcast the game officials gave the explination to the on air talent as to why no T was issued for the fans storming the court. This explination was also picked up by microphones and heard on the actual broadcast. So in this case you actually heard directly from an official why no T was given for the crowd storming the court

Raymond Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 922925)
.... I strongly beg to differ on this one - but then again, John Adams never has nor never will ask for my opinion on this one.......:)

He actually personally answered an email of mine once concerning a play he posted.

HawkeyeCubP Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:40am

MCall explained basically what the relevant AR's state - that no technical fouls should be assessed for the fans storming the court if they don't prevent the ball from becoming live - since they had stopped the game after the dunk to review the time, there you go.

just another ref Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 922925)
RE: hanging on the rim with .7 left....I can tell you that John Adams, NCAA National Coordinator of Men's Basketball Officials, is on record as saying "don't split hairs" when it comes to hanging on the rim - if a player (opponent OR teammate) is anywhere close to to said player hanging on the rim, do not call a T. Let the player hang for his safety (or even the safety of the players under the rim).

You would have needed an ax to split the hair in this case. I understand not calling it in this situation, but this chin-up had nothing to do with anyone's safety.

AremRed Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:54am

Some of you may be able to browse to the play here: ESPN3 -- Arizona vs. Arizona State

Raymond Sat Feb 15, 2014 01:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 922920)
With .7 seconds left in the 2nd OT and ASU player slam dunks the ball do you call the T for hanging on the rim? ASU up by 3 after the dunk. Someone can embend the play later. Thanks

That was more than hanging on the rim, he pulled damn near his entire body up. To me he was doing that in celebration, any other time in the game I believe that's an easy T.

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 922922)
If someone is grabbing clips, there's was a block called at about 4:40 remaining in the 2nd half that might generate discussion.

Incorrect call, IMO; defender was there for an eternity and did absolutely nothing wrong.

Toren Sat Feb 15, 2014 02:20am

Great crew...first and foremost.

That's a technical.

Great explanation by McCall. Great job by the game administrators, it didn't take too long to get all those people off the court.

APG Sat Feb 15, 2014 02:36am

<iframe width="480" height="360" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/-qHRwd0fGwQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

paulsonj72 Sat Feb 15, 2014 03:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 922957)
That was more than hanging on the rim, he pulled damn near his entire body up. To me he was doing that in celebration, any other time in the game I believe that's an easy T.

I don't disagree with you. In general why is the T for hanging on the rim not called very much anymore? I've only seen it called once this year and that was an easy call in th Minnesota/Wisconsin game on Thursday night.

chapmaja Sat Feb 15, 2014 08:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 922968)
I don't disagree with you. In general why is the T for hanging on the rim not called very much anymore? I've only seen it called once this year and that was an easy call in th Minnesota/Wisconsin game on Thursday night.

This one is hard for me to say it should or should not be a T for hanging on the rim. There are two players under him when he initially hangs on the rim, which rules out the T. My issue is that the area where he can safely come down has cleared out and he is still hanging on the rim. At what point does the safety aspect of the rule (which is a good rule IMO), end and when does the showing off portion of the rule begin?

I agree with not calling a T for the fans storming the court. If the players left the bench area though, prior to the fans storming the court we have a potential issue. If the players left the bench after the fans stormed the court you have an easy argument for not issuing a T for the safety of the players.

I would add this. The Pac 12 should sanction ASU for the fans storming the court. This shouldn't be a game official action, but it should be a post-game situation.

deecee Sat Feb 15, 2014 09:07am

A pull up IS NOT hanging on the rim for safety. It's a PULL UP. That's a T.

twocentsworth Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 922940)
You would have needed an ax to split the hair in this case. I understand not calling it in this situation, but this chin-up had nothing to do with anyone's safety.

Watch the play again (while holding your axe) to see his own teammate directly underneath him. In the NCAA's view, once a player is remotely near the area where a dunking player would land, let him hang for safety.

Adam Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 922940)
You would have needed an ax to split the hair in this case. I understand not calling it in this situation, but this chin-up had nothing to do with anyone's safety.

I agree. This was not a safety issue. I'm calling that T in my games without any question.

Although, in a high school game, by the time I would have recognized it, the clock would have expired and the game would have been over.

twocentsworth Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 922979)

I agree with not calling a T for the fans storming the court. If the players left the bench area though, prior to the fans storming the court we have a potential issue. If the players left the bench after the fans stormed the court you have an easy argument for not issuing a T for the safety of the players.

Watch the play again, ASU players were on the court PRIOR to the player finishing his dribble PRIOR to leaving the floor to dunk the ball.

I understand why the NCAA-M rule states that no T should be issued unless the players entering the floor prevent the opponent from making the ball live after a score. What I don't understand is that if, earlier in the game, a single player runs onto the floor during play (live ball/dead ball) a T would be issued. Why then, is the same T NOT issued at/near end of the gameIf you want to simply adjus the rules in the last 2:00 of the game (ala the NBA), just say so.

Remington Sat Feb 15, 2014 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 923006)
Watch the play again, ASU players were on the court PRIOR to the player finishing his dribble PRIOR to leaving the floor to dunk the ball.

I understand why the NCAA-M rule states that no T should be issued unless the players entering the floor prevent the opponent from making the ball live after a score. What I don't understand is that if, earlier in the game, a single player runs onto the floor during play (live ball/dead ball) a T would be issued. Why then, is the same T NOT issued at/near end of the gameIf you want to simply adjus the rules in the last 2:00 of the game (ala the NBA), just say so.

A.R. 263:

Team B leads, 67-66. A1's two-point try for goal is successful, but there is no indication that time has expired. Assuming that the successful try was a game-ending and winning goal:

(1) Bench personnel from Team A; or

(2) Fans from Team A go onto the playing court to celebrate.

RULING: When the celebration causes a delay by preventing the ball from being promptly made live or by preventing continuous play including, but not limited to the following: a) when the thrower-in is in the process of carrying the ball out of bounds for a throw-in; b) attempting the throw-in; or c) has completed the throw-in.

(1) A CLASS B technical foul shall be assessed to the head coach. The coach's technical foul does not count toward the team foul total but does count toward the coach's ejection.

(Rule 10-4.2.h and Penalty and Ejection)

(2) An administrative technical foul shall be assessed to the offending team. This technical foul does not apply to the team foul total. Any player from Team B shall attempt the two free throws and play shall resume at the point of interruption. When the celebration does not delay or interfere with play, the celebration shall be ignored.

When there is no delay in putting the ball in play or any interruption in the continuity of the game, officials should allow play to continue without penalty. When play can be stopped before the ball is at the disposal of Team B and without delaying the ball from being put in to play or interrupting the continuity of play, the official shall sound the whistle, clear the floor and resume the game without assessing any penalty.

(Rule 10-2.8.d and Penalty, and Section 10-2 Penalty)

HawkeyeCubP Sat Feb 15, 2014 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by paulsonj72 (Post 922968)
I don't disagree with you. In general why is the T for hanging on the rim not called very much anymore? I've only seen it called once this year and that was an easy call in th Minnesota/Wisconsin game on Thursday night.

Some things are priorities and emphasized a certain way at that level, and some things are not. Consider how many T's you see called for players dunking a dead ball after a whistle, for example, compared to how many times (per game) it happens.

Adam Sat Feb 15, 2014 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 923011)
Some things are priorities and emphasized a certain way at that level, and some things are not. Consider how many T's you see called for players dunking a dead ball after a whistle, for example, compared to how many times (per game) it happens.

Given the Ts I've seen called at the D-1 level that have paled in comparison to this chin-up....

Bill Walton was right, though (some of the hardest words I've ever put together). If he just dribbles into the corner, that game is over.

BillyMac Sat Feb 15, 2014 03:01pm

It Happens ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 923011)
Consider how many T's you see called for players dunking a dead ball after a whistle.

This cost Southern Connecticut State College a win about thirty years ago. A celebratory dunk after the final horn in an apparent win led to a technical foul. I'm a little fuzzy on the rest but either the free throws for the technical gave the other team a victory, or the free throws for the technical foul led to an overtime, that eventually gave the other team a victory.

JetMetFan Mon Feb 17, 2014 01:20am

Looks like the Pac-12 agrees with those who wanted a T on the play...

Pac-12 officials acknowledge missed call late in Arizona Wildcats-Arizona State Sun Devils game - ESPN

Nevadaref Mon Feb 17, 2014 02:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 923206)
Looks like the Pac-12 agrees with those who wanted a T on the play...

Pac-12 officials acknowledge missed call late in Arizona Wildcats-Arizona State Sun Devils game - ESPN

JetMetFan beat me to posting this.

I was really pleased to see the majority of the posters in this thread stated that the action warranted a T. I would have thought that most of the usual posters would say they aren't making that call despite it clearly meeting the rule. Thanks for restoring my faith in this group!

maroonx Mon Feb 17, 2014 08:02am

So you can pull yourself up for safety as oppose to just hanging on it? Seems excuses are being made for not calling a T in a heated contest that could determine the outcome of a game.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1