The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Backcourt (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97124-ncaa-backcourt.html)

BryanV21 Tue Jan 28, 2014 09:50pm

Since I'm bundled up nicely in a blanket, while the polar vortex takes its toll on me, instead of going to the rule book I'm just going to ask.

I suppose my laziness is also part of the reason I'm not looking it up myself, but I digress.

Is it correct to say that the player may have FC status, since he/she jumped from the FC, but the ball didn't? For that reason you can't have a BC violation?

So in order for a BC violation to occur, the player that catches the ball would first have to pivot and put both feet on the floor in the FC. Then he/she would have to touch the division line or put a foot into the BC.

Unless he/she started dribbling while straddling the division line, in which case all three points (both feet and the ball) would have to touch the FC. Then, any of the three points would have to touch the division line or BC to violate.

Did I get it, while at the same time staying warm?

Rob1968 Wed Jan 29, 2014 03:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 920167)
Since I'm bundled up nicely in a blanket, while the polar vortex takes its toll on me, instead of going to the rule book I'm just going to ask.

I suppose my laziness is also part of the reason I'm not looking it up myself, but I digress.

Is it correct to say that the player may have FC status, since he/she jumped from the FC, but the ball didn't? For that reason you can't have a BC violation?

So in order for a BC violation to occur, the player that catches the ball would first have to pivot and put both feet on the floor in the FC. Then he/she would have to touch the division line or put a foot into the BC.

Unless he/she started dribbling while straddling the division line, in which case all three points (both feet and the ball) would have to touch the FC. Then, any of the three points would have to touch the division line or BC to violate.

Did I get it, while at the same time staying warm?

Take a look at NF Case Book 4.4.1 : If a player catches the ball with both feet on the floor, one in the frontcourt and one in the bacvkcourt, and then lifts the foot that is in the backcourt, and then puts it back on the floor in the backcourt, it is a backcourt violation.
The would apply in any case in which the ball is legally held by the player, and his/her feet are straddling the division line.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 29, 2014 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 920167)
Is it correct to say that the player may have FC status, since he/she jumped from the FC, but the ball didn't? For that reason you can't have a BC violation?

So in order for a BC violation to occur, the player that catches the ball would first have to pivot and put both feet on the floor in the FC. Then he/she would have to touch the division line or put a foot into the BC.

Those two paragraphs are incorrect.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:39am

Bob is right.
The reasons which the two statements are incorrect are:
1. By rule, the airborne player has frontcourt status since that is where he last contacted the court. When this player touches the ball, it now also has frontcourt status. If this player catches the ball and then touches the backcourt when landing, the ONLY reason that this action isn't a violation is because 9-3-3 specifically makes an exception for it.

2. A player HOLDING the ball doesn't have to put both feet into the frontcourt to have FC status and make the ball also have FC status. The player need merely be touching the frontcourt and NOT touching the backcourt. Thus one foot in the FC and the other in the air is sufficient. See the rules on player location and ball location. As you note elsewhere in your post, it is different for a dribbler.

BryanV21 Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 920223)
Bob is right.
The reasons which the two statements are incorrect are:
1. By rule, the airborne player has frontcourt status since that is where he last contacted the court. When this player touches the ball, it now also has frontcourt status. If this player catches the ball and then touches the backcourt when landing, the ONLY reason that this action isn't a violation is because 9-3-3 specifically makes an exception for it.

2. A player HOLDING the ball doesn't have to put both feet into the frontcourt to have FC status and make the ball also have FC status. The player need merely be touching the frontcourt and NOT touching the backcourt. Thus one foot in the FC and the other in the air is sufficient. See the rules on player location and ball location. As you note elsewhere in your post, it is different for a dribbler.

Gotcha. Thanks, guys.

When it comes to some rules it's better if I talk to other officials. The rule book can sometimes be tough for me to understand, so getting it "in English" is better.

Hey... I almost got it. ;)

Nevadaref Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 920154)
NevadaRef:

The throw-in play I am thinking of is: A2 catches A1's throw-in pass while airborne jumping from Team A's Front Court. A2, before returning to the playing surface, passes the ball to A3 who is standing in Team A's Backcourt.

I do believe that the NFHS ruling is different from the NCAA ruling.

MTD, Sr.

If I recall previous discussions on this forum, you are correct. For that particular situation: NFHS = violation, NCAA = no violation.

Adam Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 920154)
NevadaRef:

The throw-in play I am thinking of is: A2 catches A1's throw-in pass while airborne jumping from Team A's Front Court. A2, before returning to the playing surface, passes the ball to A3 who is standing in Team A's Backcourt.

I do believe that the NFHS ruling is different from the NCAA ruling.

MTD, Sr.

BC in NFHS, is it legal in NCAA?

SNIPERBBB Wed Jan 29, 2014 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 920227)
If I recall previous discussions on this forum, you are correct. For that particular situation: NFHS = violation, NCAA = no violation.

On the nfhs side the case play is 9.9.1 E

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 29, 2014 05:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 920227)
If I recall previous discussions on this forum, you are correct. For that particular situation: NFHS = violation, NCAA = no violation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 920229)
BC in NFHS, is it legal in NCAA?


Adam and NevadaRef:

See what happens when you get "old"? You have too much information to process. LOL

Thanks for confirmation. That was the play I was thinking of when I originally posted about a NFHS/NCAA difference in the OP of this thread.

MTD, Sr.

Toren Wed Jan 29, 2014 06:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 920229)
BC in NFHS, is it legal in NCAA?

Illegal on NCAA Men's side.

HawkeyeCubP Wed Jan 29, 2014 06:08pm

How is this legal in NCAA-W, then? The BC rules are exactly the same between M and W, to my knowledge.

Toren Wed Jan 29, 2014 06:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 920394)
Illegal on NCAA Men's side.

Maybe I lost track of this post.

It is illegal for airborne front court player A1 to catch the throw in and pass it to his teammate A2 who is standing in the back court.

That is a violation.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 30, 2014 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 920395)
How is this legal in NCAA-W, then? The BC rules are exactly the same between M and W, to my knowledge.

There used to be (iirc) an AR to that effect in NCAA.

I don't see it in the current book.

UK51 Sat Feb 14, 2015 03:57pm

Back court
 
What is the purpose of the back court violation/rule?

Adam Sat Feb 14, 2015 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UK51 (Post 954987)
What is the purpose of the back court violation/rule?

To keep the game in the front court.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1