The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   False Multiple Foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97057-false-multiple-foul.html)

loners4me Sat Jan 18, 2014 09:36am

False Multiple Foul
 
A1 drives to basket and is fouled by B1 during the act of shooting. While airborn B2 slides over to take a charge but is late and commits a blocking foul. Shot does not go in. Does A1 get 4 throws? Am I reading 4.19.12 correctly?

johnny d Sat Jan 18, 2014 09:38am

If you call both fouls, you might be the first person in history to have done so. Good luck in your future officiating endeavors.

JRutledge Sat Jan 18, 2014 09:48am

You are reading it correctly. Do not call this. I do not care what the interpretation says, do not call this. Not unless you want to have to explain to a coach why you called one foul that likely caused the other. You probably would have to T a coach too. Good luck with that. ;)

Peace

so cal lurker Sat Jan 18, 2014 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by loners4me (Post 918948)
A1 drives to basket and is fouled by B1 during the act of shooting. While airborn B2 slides over to take a charge but is late and commits a blocking foul. Shot does not go in. Does A1 get 4 throws? Am I reading 4.19.12 correctly?

I'm *guessing* you're a new ref. A couple of vets have given you the strongly worded version -- this dad will give you the kinder and gentler version. Have you ever seen that call made at any level of ball? Right - and the reason you've never seen it is that it just isn't called that way. It's unnecessary 99.99999% of the time it technically happens. I suspect if we worked at it we could construct that unique event where the technically correct call would be valuable to a game (which would probably involve a sufficiently deliberate foul that there could be other ways to address,too), but don't even think of going there until you're a seasoned veteran who is consciously making the call for a specific reason.

JetMetFan Sat Jan 18, 2014 10:14am

The rule exists but as a mentor of mine reminded us when we were new 20+ years ago a little knowledge is a dangerous thing.

The day I read that case play in the rule book way back when I had that exact situation come up in a game later the same day. I thought of calling it by the book for maybe a millisecond. After realizing I might end up being the first person on the planet to ever call it that way - and determining where all the exits were in the gym - I reported the initial shooting foul. ;)

Burtis449 Sat Jan 18, 2014 10:55am

Sometimes it's not good to be the smartest man in the room. This would be one of those times!

loners4me Sat Jan 18, 2014 10:56am

I have never called it or seen it called. In fact, I didnt know the rule existed. I like to read case plays on the john and this was my am topic :)

Rob1968 Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Burtis449 (Post 918960)
Sometimes it's not good to be the smartest man in the room. This would be one of those times!

This is really funny!

Raymond Sat Jan 18, 2014 01:12pm

Other night, A1 gets hacked on the arm by B1 while elevating, then in attempt to block shot, B2 also hacks A1. When I came out from endline with my call I simply verbalized 'A1 hit him first'. Game kept on moving.

Camron Rust Sat Jan 18, 2014 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Burtis449 (Post 918960)
Sometimes it's not good to be the smartest man in the room. This would be one of those times!

The smartest person in the room would know this rule but ALSO know it is a bad idea to call it.

BillyMac Sat Jan 18, 2014 03:21pm

Also The Most Interesting Man In The World ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Burtis449 (Post 918960)
Sometimes it's not good to be the smartest man in the room.

I run into this problem (above) all the time. It's a curse that I have learned to to live with.

http://ts1.mm.bing.net/th?id=H.49575...62464&pid=15.1

deecee Sat Jan 18, 2014 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 918990)
I run into this problem (above) all the time.

http://ts1.mm.bing.net/th?id=H.49575...62464&pid=15.1

Is he wearing a belt :D?

just another ref Sat Jan 18, 2014 06:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by loners4me (Post 918948)
A1 drives to basket and is fouled by B1 during the act of shooting. While airborn B2 slides over to take a charge but is late and commits a blocking foul. Shot does not go in. Does A1 get 4 throws? Am I reading 4.19.12 correctly?


People don't like this case play, so ignore it, even though it is quite clearly written.

People, however, do like 4.19.8c, and while the language is considerably more vague, it must be followed every time.

I have never heard a satisfactory explanation of the difference.

JRutledge Sat Jan 18, 2014 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 919010)
People don't like this case play, so ignore it, even though it is quite clearly written.

People, however, do like 4.19.8c, and while the language is considerably more vague, it must be followed every time.

I have never heard a satisfactory explanation of the difference.

People do not think it is logical. It is not so much that it is clear, but someone if fouled to many does not make since you would have to charge them with a separate foul. And I cannot think of a situation where a fouled player is not altered in such a way that they would be responsible for another foul either. Yes the play is clear, but it does not make real world sense IMO.

Peace

Nevadaref Sun Jan 19, 2014 05:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 919010)
People don't like this case play, so ignore it, even though it is quite clearly written.

People, however, do like 4.19.8c, and while the language is considerably more vague, it must be followed every time.

I have never heard a satisfactory explanation of the difference.

Nope, I advocate following them both.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 19, 2014 05:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 918950)
You are reading it correctly. Do not call this. I do not care what the interpretation says, do not call this. Not unless you want to have to explain to a coach why you called one foul that likely caused the other. You probably would have to T a coach too. Good luck with that. ;)

Peace

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 919012)
People do not think it is logical. It is not so much that it is clear, but someone if fouled to many does not make since you would have to charge them with a separate foul. And I cannot think of a situation where a fouled player is not altered in such a way that they would be responsible for another foul either. Yes the play is clear, but it does not make real world sense IMO.

Peace

Did you read the OP or the title to this thread?
This is not a double foul involving a hit on the arm followed by a charge, rather it is followed by a blocking foul. Thus it is a multiple. How could the first foul logically cause the second foul. You immediately defaulted to the double foul argument when it doesn't apply.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 19, 2014 12:12pm

I am jumping into the thread late but I would like to comment on NFHS CB Play 4.19.12 which is the exact play in the OP.

1) This play does happen from time to time (and in 43 years for officiating I have seen this type of contact happen; and it is not as uncommon as some people would like to believe. But is it called as in the CB Play? The answer no. I cannot ever (for the J. Dallas Shirley fans, did you notice how I avoided using the word "never", :p) seeing a FMF called in this situation.

2) BUT!! There is one time that it could be called as in the CB Play but the contact is extremely rare. If the second PF is an "undercut" then both fouls have to be charged and penalized.

I cannot remember the last time I have heard anybody on this Forum talk about an "undercut" foul. For those to do not know what such a foul is, I will describe it. It is when a defender slides into the path of an airborne player but is not facing him in an attempt to take a charge (which would be a Common Foul) but has his back to the airborne player such that when the airborne players legs hits the defender's back the defender bend forward and causes the airborne play to rotate forward about his center of mass and land more or less on his hands and knees. The resulting landing can cause broken wrists and more. It is at the least an Intentional PF and can very easily be a Flagrant PF.

If were were revise CB Play 4.19.12 to change B2's foul to be an undercut, that I would have no problem with both fouls being charged and penalized because B2's foul is at the least an IPF and very easily a FPF.

Fortunately for the game of basketball I have not seen "undercut" foul in close to 30 years and the last time I saw one I ruled it FPF.

MTD, Sr.

Raymond Sun Jan 19, 2014 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 919109)
I am jumping into the thread late but I would like to comment on NFHS CB Play 4.19.12 which is the exact play in the OP.

...

I could see calling an FMF is the 2nd foul were excessive contact. But it's never happened to me yet.

Rich Sun Jan 19, 2014 12:19pm

I had something like this earlier this week:

A1 drives, B1 whacks him on the arm as he starts his shooting motion, I call the foul, and then A1 and B2 have a block/charge collision.

I don't think anyone in the gym expected me to come out with two fouls on the play. And I didn't.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 19, 2014 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 919112)
I could see calling an FMF is the 2nd foul were excessive contact. But it's never happened to me yet.

Just to be clear, the plays being talked about above are NOT False Multiple Fouls but Multiple Fouls.

The calling of False Multiple Fouls is actually rather common (relative to real multiple fouls or double fouls).

Neither "false" foul is a single call with two fouls involved.

A false multiple, like a false double, usually occurs when there is one foul called and then, before the clock starts again after the first foul (on the subsequent throwin or rebound of a FT for the original foul), a second foul called. Depending on who fouls who, that is a false multiple or false double because they will have occurred with the same time on the clock.

We don't actually call false multiple/double fouls, ever. We call two independent fouls that happen to be false multiple/double fouls due to the nature of the timing.

Raymond Sun Jan 19, 2014 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 919131)
Just to be clear, the plays being talked about above are NOT False Multiple Fouls but Multiple Fouls.

The calling of False Multiple Fouls is actually rather common (relative to real multiple fouls or double fouls).

Neither "false" foul is a single call with two fouls involved.

....

Yep, my bad. I was following Jets acronym. I was even thinking about the fact that my situation wasn't a "false" while typing it.

JugglingReferee Sun Jan 19, 2014 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 919112)
I could see calling an FMF is the 2nd foul were excessive contact. But it's never happened to me yet.

Very good point. I hate to say it, but if the 2nd foul is excessive, I think we're obliged to call a FMF. Having said that, I've never seen this in my career.

But then wouldn't this be 3 foul shots? 1 for the 1st foul, and 2 for the 2nd? Plus possession.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 19, 2014 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 919133)
Very good point. I hate to say it, but if the 2nd foul is excessive, I think we're obliged to call a FMF. Having said that, I've never seen this in my career.

But then wouldn't this be 3 foul shots? 1 for the 1st foul, and 2 for the 2nd? Plus possession.

If the 2nd foul it excessive, I'm probably only calling that one. Having a patient whistle (even whistles across the crew) allows that to occur.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1