The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   James Harden traveled last night. Not called. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97045-james-harden-traveled-last-night-not-called.html)

maroonx Thu Jan 16, 2014 07:21pm

James Harden traveled last night. Not called.
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/UckG_yd0_IA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Dribble ended with left foot as pivot foot. Lifts pivot foot while stepping back. While ball is still in hand, his left pivot foot hits the floor. Travel.

4-44-3a

APG Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:01pm

No...just no. You're wrong. It wasn't called because this isn't a travel under NBA rules.

First off, you're trying to claim a travel...by quoting the NFHS rule book in an NBA game.. Rule 10, Section XIII is what you should be referring to if you want to discuss a traveling violation in an NBA game.

Second, Harden did not travel...at all. In this play, Harden gathered the ball with his left foot on the floor then jumped off that foot. Now the next part will be a judgement call and will determine what Harden can do next:

1.) If you judged that to be close enough to simultaneous, then Harden would be able to pivot with either foot as this would be a player coming to a stop on step 1.

2.) If you you want to say the right foot landed first after the gather, then the left, then the right foot landing would be step 1, and the left foot coming back down would be step 2. The right foot would be the pivot foot if you judge the play this way.

Either way, this is not a travel under NBA rules. Now if you want to judge this play applying NFHS rules, then go ahead, but you should probably make mention of that.

twocentsworth Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:28pm

APG could not be more correct....this is NOT a travel per the appropriate rule set.

maroonx Fri Jan 17, 2014 08:27am

Sorry for not making my question clear and concise. I should of started, "Under NFHS rules, would this move be a traveling violation".....

bob jenkins Fri Jan 17, 2014 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by maroonx (Post 918781)
Sorry for not making my question clear and concise. I should of started, "Under NFHS rules, would this move be a traveling violation".....

Probably -- but I think it would be hard to get in real life. Did he push off to cause the defense to fly back like that? Did he gather on the floor or in the air? If he gathered on the floor, was this a successful / legal jump stop?

By the time you process all that, even if you hadn't thought he was going to drive (as did the defense), you'd be hard-pressed to get the travel.

JRutledge Fri Jan 17, 2014 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 918785)
Probably -- but I think it would be hard to get in real life. Did he push off to cause the defense to fly back like that? Did he gather on the floor or in the air? If he gathered on the floor, was this a successful / legal jump stop?

By the time you process all that, even if you hadn't thought he was going to drive (as did the defense), you'd be hard-pressed to get the travel.

I agree. And it is not a very obvious action that looks like a travel.

Peace

ballgame99 Fri Jan 17, 2014 09:12am

Even under NFHS rules I don't see that as a travel. The dribble doesn't clearly end until his step back foot is on the floor, so that becomes his pivot. The final angle at :55 or so shows it best. The dribble may end a hair shy of the back foot being down, but full speed, its good. That's how I see it anyway.

The only thing close to a travel is when he first jab steps his back foot (pivot foot) might move slightly, but its nothing I'm calling.

Raymond Fri Jan 17, 2014 09:23am

If this were a high school game, Harden would have been called for travelling after receiving the pass and changing his pivot a couple times, so the rest is moot. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1