The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Block / Charge (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97005-block-charge.html)

Jumpshooter40 Mon Jan 13, 2014 09:27am

Block / Charge
 
A1 is driving the ball to the basket. He has beaten his defender (B1) and has his shoulders by him. Secondary defender B2 moves to a legal guarding position in the path of A1. B2, fearing the significant contact, turn his body as to not accept the full force of the contact. Does this negate his legal guarding position and it should now be called a block?

HokiePaul Mon Jan 13, 2014 09:33am

still a charge in NFHS at least (not sure about NCAA cause I see references to new rules on block/charge and I'm not sure what that entails)

justacoach Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jumpshooter40 (Post 918016)
A1 is driving the ball to the basket. He has beaten his defender (B1) and has his shoulders by him. Secondary defender B2 moves to a legal guarding position in the path of A1. B2, fearing the significant contact, turn his body as to not accept the full force of the contact. Does this negate his legal guarding position and it should now be called a block?

Please look up Rule 4 Section 23 Article 3-E which declares:

"The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact"

Scrapper1 Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:09am

If the defender has both feet on the floor and is facing the dribbler at some point before the contact, he can turn, duck, brace, move backwards, jump straight up and still maintain a legal guarding position. Once that initial position is established, the defender can move in almost any manner -- as long as he's not moving TOWARD the opponent and the time of contact -- and still have a legal position.

So the short answer to your question is, no, it should not be called a block.

Camron Rust Mon Jan 13, 2014 12:30pm

By rule, still a charge. Unfortunately, I see a number of officials turn it into the block with the unsupported assertion that they must stand there and take it in the chest before they'll call it a charge.

Rich1 Mon Jan 13, 2014 09:20pm

Its a charge all the way unless the defender moves to the side while turning/ducking as the dribber also moves to the side to avoid contact. But if he maintains his position then any contact is the responsibility of the offense.

just another ref Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 918160)
Its a charge all the way unless the defender moves to the side while turning/ducking as the dribber also moves to the side to avoid contact. But if he maintains his position then any contact is the responsibility of the offense.

This is broad language, but it is definitely possible for a defender to maintain LGP while "moving to the side."

justacoach Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich1 (Post 918160)
Its a charge all the way unless the defender moves to the side while turning/ducking as the dribber also moves to the side to avoid contact.

Rules reference, please...

AremRed Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 918167)
Rules reference, please...

I believe he is implying the defender lost LGP by no longer being in the path.

just another ref Mon Jan 13, 2014 10:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jumpshooter40 (Post 918016)
B2, fearing the significant contact, turn his body as to not accept the full force of the contact.

If B2 had LGP, then turns his body in such a way as to minimize contact, this means he is moving away from the dribbler. If this is the case, no way can it be a block, so long as the defender is inbounds.

Rich1 Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 918174)
If B2 had LGP, then turns his body in such a way as to minimize contact, this means he is moving away from the dribbler. If this is the case, no way can it be a block, so long as the defender is inbounds.

Yes, I was implying that the shooter tries to avoid contact and that in the act of turning away the defender initiates. It would not be a charge if the defender simply turns away. But, I think its different if the shooter steps sideways, goes up for a lay up, and while in the air is contacted by the defender because the defender looked away and moved into the shooter.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1